More insider information on the Tata Hexa

Thank you to BHPian RavenAvi for sharing this information with other enthusiasts!

Tata Motors is all set to launch the Hexa SUV in India. Recent media reports have revealed that the Hexa will be launched in January 2017. But before its official launch, various details about the upcoming SUV have come to light.

We had earlier reported that the Hexa will be powered by the same VARICOR 400 diesel engine that does duty under the Safari Storme. This engine will be capable of generating 154 BHP @ 4,000 rpm and a peak torque of 400 Nm @ 1,700-2,700 rpm. The Hexa will also get four driving modes - Auto, Comfort, Dynamic and Rough Road.

Recent insider information about the upcoming Tata SUV reveals many details about its placement and feature list. Please note that these aren't official revelations, and thus there is scope for some changes in the final feature list.

• Tata Hexa will come in 5 manual (XE 4x2, XM 4x2, XM 4x4, XT 4x2, XT 4x4) and 4 automatic variants (XMA 4x2, XMA 4x4, XTA 4x2, XTA 4x4)
• All variants will have the 154 BHP power output figure
• Entry-level XE trim will have a 5-speed transmission, while all other variants get 6-speed transmissions (manual and automatic)
• The automatic gearbox is codenamed "G6450"; G=Gear box, 6=number of gears, and 450=maximum handling torque in Nm
• The automatic transmission is a torque converter unit, and follows the P-R-N-D-(+)M/S(-) shift pattern. It weighs 90 kgs and costs Rs. 7 lakhs
• If the AT is damaged, it cannot be repaired. Replacing it is the only option
• XT and XTA variants will come with 6 airbags, while the lower XM & XE variants will have 2 airbags
• ABS is standard across the range
• XT trim will also get electronic stability programme (ESP)
• Added safety equipment on offer includes EBD (Electronic Brake-Force Distribution), VDC (Vehicle Dynamic Control), ROM (Roll-Over Mitigation, with ESP), HBA (Hydraulic Brake Assistance), HHC/HDC (Hill Hold Control/Hill Descent Control) & TCS (Traction Control System)
• Hill Hold Control (HHC) stays activated for 3 seconds, after which you need to apply the brakes/handbrake
• XM and XT variants will get a 10-speaker (6 normal speakers and 4 tweeters) sound system
• The instrument cluster and infotainment system on the XM and XT trim levels will support voice-activated commands
• Instrument cluster will have different coloured zone display for fuel level - Green, Orange & Red. It will also showcase the Distance to Empty (DTE) reading
• The Hexa will get flippy, foldable keys
• Higher variants will get 19-inch alloy wheels
• 1st Free Service at 3 months/5,000 kms, whichever is earlier
   2nd Free Service at 6 months/10,000 kms, whichever is earlier
   3rd Free Service at 12 months/20,000 kms, whichever is earlier
• Subsequent paid service intervals - 12 months/20,000 kms, whichever comes earlier
• Tata will be offering a 3 years/1,50,000 km standard warranty for the Hexa

The Hexa will be marketed under the tagline 'Confident Luxury'. Though pricing still isn't finalized, speculations suggest a placement in the range of Rs. 11 lakh - Rs. 18 lakh.

Power to the people