News

TS plates to be replaced with TG plates on new vehicles in Telangana

Eventually, when the state of Telangana was formed, as against everyone's expectation the government issued the registration numbers starting with TS which expanded to Telangana State.

BHPian sushil_n79 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hope you all are fine. This is my third or fourth thread in teambhp. Request Moderators to approve the same and move this from the assembly line.

I came across a recent gazetted notification that mentioned that all new vehicles that are sold in the state of Telangana will bear a registration number of TG going forward instead of TS, which used to be used by the earlier government.

From my memories of staying in the state for almost 20+ years, initially, when the Vehicles used to be registered as AP and the agitation started for a separate state, Many people started using TG in their vehicles even when it was not approved as a way to depict the support for a separate state.

Eventually, when the state of Telangana was formed, as against everyone's expectation the government issued the registration numbers starting with TS which expanded to Telangana State.

While I do not intend to make this a political discussion as it's against the rules of the forum. My intention in creating this thread is just a friendly discussion on the impacts of the same on all of us, especially in terms of action that we will be required to take to register and re-register. while it is voluntary at the moment if it becomes mandatory what will be the impact?

Let us discuss the same in terms of pros and cons for:

1. The government authorities.
  2. The vehicle owners with AP registration
  3. The vehicle owners with TS Registration
  4. The new vehicle owners and its impact on them.
  5. The old vehicle owners who are planning to get their registration extended.
  6. The tax structure which will be borne by the consumer.

Last but not least a request for people who have already changed the registration of their vehicles once from AP to TS and their experience regarding the same and if you would want to get your vehicle re- registered to TG.

Here's what BHPian GForceEnjoyer had to say on the matter:

Voted "depends on if it's made mandatory."

Both our cars currently have TS plates. One's registration is valid until 2036 which is when it will turn 15. The other's is valid until 2026, since the car in question is 17 years old (we got it re-registered in Telangana). Unless the new TG plate is explicitly mandated for existing vehicles, I see no reason to switch. I guess we'll find out if we decide to extend the registration in 2026.

However, as of now, the TG abbreviation is only going to be implemented for new vehicles sold from today (March 15, 2024) onwards. So, just like you can use a valid AP registration without issue in Telangana today, owners who already have TS plates should not face any issues.

Here's what BHPian Scarlet_Rider had to say on the matter:

I am fine with anything as long as it is part of a new purchase or renewal of fitness certificate. If they plan to change all AP and TS registered vehicles to TG, then it doesn't make any sense. Never heard of any other states in the country asking for a new series. (I could be wrong here.) Hyderabad alone has 5 RTO offices. So doesn't look like we will run out of numbers soon. Instead of TG they should have explored more options in expanding the existing TS series.

Here's what BHPian Shreyans_Jain had to say on the matter:

As an outsider, I must say that it will be extremely unfair if people are forced to change existing number plates and get new ones.

It is one thing that all newly registered vehicles will get TG number. Nothing wrong with that. But you can’t, or shouldn’t compel people to go through the trouble and expense of getting new number plates simply because some babus had a change of heart.

Here's what BHPian RunGaDa had to say on the matter:

Nothing more than a political stunt. When they cannot get any useful policy, correct long term wrongs and want people to distract from what they are doing they will get this stupid, burden to exchequer schemes.

I liken it to the fancy colorful currency notes the central govt got - rather the RBI got after demonetization.

Every RBI Governer wants to see his signature on every note.

When one particular party came to power in new state of Telangana in 2013 or 2014 they painted the state pink.

What is the use of it?

Just spending public money.

Despite all this and the lakhs of cameras to trace vehicles still big shot politicians kids will be missed in case they are on look out for hit and run.

Here's what BHPian DicKy had to say on the matter:

So there are now three registration running in Telangana.

AP, TS and TG?  Add the pre-1989 AXX-XXXX number series?

So as members have already mentioned, the then unofficial TG series was not selected eventhough it was popular and they went for the TS series. Always amused with the TS series as why would they allot a letter to 'S'tate instead of the state name.

The sheer waste in this whole exercise just because of some political/bureaucratic decisions.

Read BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Live To Drive