VW Ameo Cup series gets National Championship recognition

The Volkswagen Ameo Cup series (Ameo Class) has received National Championship recognition from the Federation of Motorsport Clubs of India (FMSCI). The winner of the Pro and Junior category will now be officially recognized as the Indian National Champions in the Ameo Class.

The format of the one-make Ameo Class will remain unchanged, which includes 10 races held over four race weekends. The first round will be held at Kari Motor Speedway near Coimbatore, the second and third rounds at Madras Motor Race Track near Chennai and the last round will be held at the Buddh International Circuit near Greater Noida. 

The VW Ameo Cup is part of the MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship. A total of 20 cars take part in the event. The cars are built by Volkswagen Motorsport India and are powered by a 1.8-litre turbocharged petrol engine mated to a racing gearbox.

Redlining the Indian Automotive Scene