Old 26th January 2008, 08:15   #781

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
That was quite detailed,Viddy.
How is the Hitachi's service support?
Hitachi, no idea Nitrous. I have a few friends with Hitachi but no one has experienced the service yet.

I have gone through the entire thread and still dont which one to buy.I'm looking at a 40" lcd preferably a sony/samsung.Which model at this date is best.I wont be using the hd feature so it doesnt make any difference.The LCD will be connected to Dishtv.My budget is 1lac...nothing above it.GUYS please help.
For 1L teh best option is the Sony 40D300A. This has motion blur removal processor and with a dealer discount you will get it for little bit over 1L.

The Samsung M81 is full HD and is over the budget. I would prefer a non-full HD model with all the bells and whistles compared to a full HD without picture processing.

Samsung also has the 40R81 which will come for around Rs.89K. This is similar to the Sony bravia V300A available for 95K. Both are similar.
Old 26th January 2008, 09:36   #782

Originally Posted by hellspawn View Post
My budget is 1lac...nothing above it.GUYS please help.

Hellspawn,

Come to Bangalore this weekend. 25-27th Jan there is an exclusive Audio Video exhibition at Kanteerva Stadium. You can see all the top brands showcased under one roof with discounts.
Old 26th January 2008, 10:10   #783

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
For 1L teh best option is the Sony 40D300A. This has motion blur removal processor and with a dealer discount you will get it for little bit over 1L.

The Samsung M81 is full HD and is over the budget. I would prefer a non-full HD model with all the bells and whistles compared to a full HD without picture processing.

Samsung also has the 40R81 which will come for around Rs.89K. This is similar to the Sony bravia V300A available for 95K. Both are similar.
The M81 is 102K (discounted; Adhishwar); the R81 is 80K.

Is the 40N7 (Neo Mosel) worth the 2K over R81? N81 is 82K.

And how does the 40S8 stack up against these (73K)?

Last edited by DerAlte : 26th January 2008 at 10:12.
Old 26th January 2008, 13:51   #784

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The M81 is 102K (discounted; Adhishwar); the R81 is 80K.

Is the 40N7 (Neo Mosel) worth the 2K over R81? N81 is 82K.

And how does the 40S8 stack up against these (73K)?
IMO, 40R81B is the most VFM and if negotiated hard, it should come way below 80K as well.
Old 27th January 2008, 02:23   #785

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Hellspawn,

Come to Bangalore this weekend. 25-27th Jan there is an exclusive Audio Video exhibition at Kanteerva Stadium. You can see all the top brands showcased under one roof with discounts.
And how do you propose i take the LCD back to delhi..

Thanks guys,im looking at the samsung(damn...forgot the model No.)
Old 27th January 2008, 09:22   #786

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Hellspawn,

Was there at the expo. The show stealers were the Pioneer Kuro range and the Sony OLED TVs. I never knew the difference in clarity b/w OLED TVs and LCD was so much. They were just unbelievable.
Old 27th January 2008, 10:46   #787

out of the countless no of lcd panels I have dismantled , 5 out of 10 have always been a lg-philips lcd .

People who have a high regard for sony , let me clear this , I was dumbfounded the first time when I saw that sony had a hannstar lcd panel on a viao laptop .

Also , lg service is the best ,and I would rate samsung the worst ,I have waited at a max of 2 days for a replacements to happen at lg wheras samsung people take even a month .
Old 27th January 2008, 10:54   #788

Thanks for the info buddy. How are Toshiba, Sharp LCDs?
Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
out of the countless no of lcd panels I have dismantled , 5 out of 10 have always been a lg-philips lcd .

People who have a high regard for sony , let me clear this , I was dumbfounded the first time when I saw that sony had a hannstar lcd panel on a viao laptop .

Also , lg service is the best ,and I would rate samsung the worst ,I have waited at a max of 2 days for a replacements to happen at lg wheras samsung people take even a month .
Old 27th January 2008, 11:39   #789

toshiba ,hitachi ,panasonic share the same tft panels . sharp outsources the panels as of now and they still have not finalised plans for a manufacturing plant . toshiba traditionally has a better contrast ration than the others . panasonic is soft and i guess the difference is due to the circuits and back lights .

If i was to choose a tv ,
the pic has to be natural , shouldnt be overtly coloured , good contrast ratio ,even lighting over the full screen . 1080 would be a good option , though the pic wouldnt be as good if you are going to watch cable or dd.

A better option than buying a lcd tv would be a projector , atleast i would consider it as money well spent .
Old 27th January 2008, 12:13   #790

Originally Posted by hellspawn View Post
Thanks guys,im looking at the samsung(damn...forgot the model No.)
Is it the samsung Bordeux R81B?
Old 28th January 2008, 11:53   #791

Was at Audio Video expo in BLR. And Sony OLED was a treat to see. Amazing clarity - 1080 full hD on an 11" monitor, amazing contrast and amazingly thin - about 2 mm. Cost about 2500 USD in US.
Sony's other LCD lineup was also great, they had displayed almost their entire range. And for the first time I could myself clearly see the Motionflow 100hz feature in action and the difference that it makes.

Besides the OLED display that the best of the show was Pioneer Kuro plasma panel, if I had enough money that would be set I would have bought. But guess what the 42" HD ready (not full HD) panel costs 1.4 lakhs!!!

Samsung and LG stalls were trash (not talking about the TVs). Samsung had wall of tubelights lit behind the TVs so you couldn;t see much detail in the picture. LG was even worse, they had floodlight fixed above the TV pointing at the audience. So it was like a torture area, you could hardly concentrate on the TVs and then also you would see your mirror image in the TV :(

Unfortunately Panasonic, Sharp, Hitachi were not present in the Expo...
Old 28th January 2008, 12:05   #792

Originally Posted by Hellspawn
I have gone through the entire thread and still dont which one to buy.I'm looking at a 40" lcd preferably a sony/samsung.Which model at this date is best.I wont be using the hd feature so it doesnt make any difference.The LCD will be connected to Dishtv.My budget is 1lac...nothing above it.GUYS please help.
Go for Sony 40" D series, the MRP is 98k. There was a 22 k price cut last week so it is an excellent buy at this point.

Though Sony and Samsung have the same panel, I would not recommend Samsung R18 for daily viewing due to the poor picture processing of Samsung. It's good only for movies & HD not for daily standard def signal. Try watching a cricket match on not so clean signal for about 10 mins and your head will start feeling heavy...

Originally Posted by greatmana2000

We are taking about LCD TVs here. Don;t know about earlier, but since last year or so, all Sony TVs use their own panel, from their partnership firm with Samsung.
Old 28th January 2008, 13:09   #793

Last week there was a price cut by Sony ranging from 3k to 30k, but they have also excluded quiet a few model from this price cut.

From what I remember seeing...
26S - 5k cut
32S - 5 k cut
32V - no cut
32D - no cut
40V - 5k cut
40D - 22 k cut
40W - 20 k cut
Pricey X series - no cut

So if you are in this race to procure an LCD, might just want to check out the latest prices before plunging...
Old 28th January 2008, 17:09   #794

ST7677 Is it true there was a price cut for sony KLV-40W300A is 20k .i asked my dealer he refused it and said there was price cut some other models only
Old 28th January 2008, 18:27   #795

I can check and confirm tomorrow...
Your dealer might be trying to squeeze out a little bit more, but then I may be wrong too...