Old 11th May 2009, 11:27   #1816

This is what all i am planning for the swift.

Pioneer 5050 / 6050
Illusion Electra 6.1 component
Illusion Electra 6x9 Speaker
A decent 4 channel amp.

What should be the approximate street price with the installation. Also how good does the setup look keeping in mind i need to keep the boot space free and i like crisp bass and not distorted.
Old 11th May 2009, 13:19   #1817

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
No query is dumb / idiotic!
Get a comparatively low cost 4-channel amp from Blaupunkt (GTA4 Mark II), JBL (GT5-A504 or A604), Kenwood (8401 or similar) or even Pioneer. It will make a world of difference in your setup (even with Sony speakers). The main difference would be the dynamic range you will hear.
Thanks for the advice and clarification.

Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post
An amplifier always help to produce good sound but it also depends what all hu,speaker you have or are using, which amplifier you are getting. if you install the amp on the existing setup you will sure like it as compared to what you are hearing know.

post the detail of your current setup like which head unit, front and rears speakers you have.
its been nearly two years and i guess i forgot what speakers i have

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
And lose those pioneer tweeters
any specific reason why? [dazed and confused]

also solicit your clarification on one more question; i find that the sound from the front speakers&tweeters are louder than the rear speakers. is it normal or am i missing something?

Last edited by deathwalkr : 11th May 2009 at 13:24.
Old 11th May 2009, 13:49   #1818

Originally Posted by deathwalkr View Post
... any specific reason why? [dazed and confused]

also solicit your clarification on one more question; i find that the sound from the front speakers&tweeters are louder than the rear speakers. is it normal or am i missing something?
The Pio tweeters are generally quite harsh on the ears, but quite popular with those who like shrill setups rather than listening to music as it should be. If you like them that way, don't be embarrassed - keep them, your system has to be to your choice.

Rear speakers are bound to sound muted - they are further away from your ears (if you are in the driver's seat) than the front speakers. They are meant for rear seat passengers, and if they are ovals (6x9) they are meant to add just that feeling of bass in the absence of a woofer. If they were any louder for you, they would be deafening for rear seat passengers. Try setting fader to rear, increase the volume till you hear normally in front, and ask a rear seat passenger how is it for them!

However if the system is set correctly and they sound muted in the rear seat - the speakers are not sensitive enough (need more power to produce same loudness than sensitive speakers).

If you are changing speakers, throw out the Sony (and the Pio tweeters), shift the Kenwood to the rear, and get a pair of good components (Blau, JBL, Illusion, Alpine, Pio, Polk, etc. <= 6K)
Old 11th May 2009, 15:24   #1819

whoa thanks for that amazing piece of info

regarding the pio tweeters it was the only option maybe because i was too lazy to hunt around for a good pair of tweeters. a dealer had blaupunkt velocity tweeters. are they any good?

so i guess its unanimous that Sony sucks?

shall chuck out the tweeters, change Sony speakers and get me a kenwood amp

and how good are the powered woofers like kenwood's kfc-sw10?
Old 12th May 2009, 00:08   #1820

Since I plan to replace my stock HU, I am looking out for the VXi/LXi Front Fascia plate. Any idea where I can get that in Chennai ? And approx price ?
Old 12th May 2009, 00:12   #1821

anil bhai you can get that at your local MASS for less than 200 bucks. its not at all expensive!
Old 12th May 2009, 00:12   #1822

Originally Posted by white_vdi View Post
anil bhai you can get that at your local MASS for less than 200 bucks. its not at all expensive!
Thanks Sumit. I'll check it up tomo.
Old 12th May 2009, 00:16   #1823

Originally Posted by Switch View Post
This is what all i am planning for the swift.

Pioneer 5050 / 6050
Illusion Electra 6.1 component
Illusion Electra 6x9 Speaker
A decent 4 channel amp.

What should be the approximate street price with the installation. Also how good does the setup look keeping in mind i need to keep the boot space free and i like crisp bass and not distorted.
Its a great choice.
6.1 will set you aback by 6990
6x9 is 5250 i guess.

4 channel , try JBL 1004.
Around 10000.
Really amazing.
You'll get really crisp bass.
The 6x9 will not let you miss the sub much.

Installation should be normall.
Around 2-2.5k for install + wiring.
Old 12th May 2009, 12:12   #1824

... a dealer had blaupunkt velocity tweeters. are they any good?
and how good are the powered woofers like kenwood's kfc-sw10?
Blau Velocity tweeters? They are normally not available separately. He must be referring to VPc components. VPc is good, but see if you can get a good deal on Blau THc components - should be cheaper ['Components' are always a pair of midbass speakers, a pair of separate tweeters and a cross-over network (either in-line or external in small boxes)]

The KFC-SW10 (or KSC-SW10) and it's sibling KFC-S1 will produce as much bass as 6x9 speakers mounted on the parcel shelf: anaemic / no punch but better than nothing. The advantage is that they are compact and self powered. You have to listen to them in a car to decide whether they worth the price for you or not. Not commonly available - even Blau has a model THb200 or something like that.
Old 12th May 2009, 20:19   #1825

Back to the Cliche question- What to buy, where to buy..so on

Yet again I will ask the same old- "cliche question by now". But, before I get to the question, I have been a member with T-BHP for a while now, though I have always been a passive member, in the sense that I have gone through tonnes of advice given here and tried to learn more and more about ICE. I can never claim to know it all, or for that matter consider myself half as good as many of you here. Which is precisely the reason why I have come to the gurus knowing very well that your advice will guarantee "bang for the buck". I remember the first rule of getting a good setup- to listen, listen and if convinced, listen even more before deciding.

Here goes my question:

I have the following setup in mind for my swift Vxi (I usually drive alone) and my budget is currently 40K (give or take 2K) I would like advice on the following 2 setup. I am also including the costs quoted to me by Sprocket in Koramangala, Bangalore. B&W is a must for me, knowing fully well that it means I will be shelling a little more.

Setup #1:

1) Pio 5190UB Head unit===> 13,000
2) JBL GT5 S644, 4 Ch Amp===> 8,990
or
JBL GT5 S422, 2 Ch Amp====> 5,490
3) JBL CS 300.1 Mono Block====> 9,990
4) JBL 600 C component (front)spkrs==> 5,000 ( I think its Alpine SPS- 600C and not JBL as quoted by vendor)
5) Polk/JBL Sub Woofer (1200 W/1100W)===> 7,000/8,790
6) E2 Amp wire kit===> 3,200
7) Fitting/labor charges==> 700

Total cost ~ 40,000 ( assuming I go for a 4Ch and forget about the mono)
============================================
Setup# 2

1) Alpine CDA-9884E Head unit===> approx 14,000 (not sure of price, any estimate from gurus is most welcome)
2)
JBL CS 300.1 Mono Block====> 9,990
3)
Polk/JBL Sub Woofer (1200 W/1100W)===> 7,000/8,790
4) Focal (front)Component Speakers===> ~11,000 (suggested by an audiophile friend but says might only be available w/o B& W)
5)
E2 Amp wire kit===> 3,200
6)
Fitting/labor charges==> 700

Total cost ~ 48,000 ( beyond my range clearly, but yeh dil maange more )
============================================
To help you understand my preferences of music, I mostly listen to Rock and Trance and at times hip-hop when I get the urge for some boom and thump. I would love to have everything: Clarity, "I have arrived" kind of Loudness and crisp sound, but I have been around T-BHP forum enough to know that I will probably have to let go of some of the features to stick to my budget. I also very well know that people have stretched their budget for the sake of SQ. This is not the final setup and I am willing to give due consideration to any suggestions you guys may have regarding the setup or Brand of Hardware . But plz plz plz, don't encourage me to exceed the 40-45K limit I have set for myself. I also have plans to buy alloys and tires for my car in the next 2 -3 months.

What I already have in terms of hardware?

1) A pair of 4 way Co-Ax (pio) approx 420 W, don't have the model # at hand, but I am happy with the output so I don't plan to change it. Maybe sometime later. I also need to save up for the Alloys and Tyres :((
2) I have an old sony HU but that is being bricked for sure.
3) Pio Co-Ax front speakers which are on its way out as well.

So there you go gurus, I have not decided on getting it fixed up in Sprocket as I am still scouting around for the best possible place to get these done, so if you can or want to suggest any other place in Bangalore please feel free to advice on that as well. Please work the magic for me !!!
Old 13th May 2009, 04:43   #1826

I would suggest Setup 2. Focals are better than the JBL for me. Crisp sound with loads of midbass.
Old 13th May 2009, 12:19   #1827

ok i know pioneer tweeters are bad but could you kindly compare TS-S20 and TS-S250 and tell me which is the better one? have a chance of getting some pioneer merchs. it for free so i guess beggars cant be choosers

also kenwood's amp 6403 is available at Rs.7490. is that a good rate?
Old 13th May 2009, 12:49   #1828

@ super..Thanks ! I heard a pair of focals last night, pretty impressive indeed ! I wonder if there is scope for changing any other thing in the setup...guys any ideas/suggestions? I have been putting this off for a long time and want to have it installed by this weekend, come what may. I'd really be grateful for any suggestions.
Old 13th May 2009, 20:35   #1829

... have a chance of getting some pioneer merchs. it for free so i guess beggars cant be choosers
If you really want something for free, ask for a Pio sub. Not tweeters which are going to make your system sound like someone wearing sports socks with stilletos!

also kenwood's amp 6403 is available at Rs.7490. is that a good rate?
No! 8401 used to be around 6K, and that (and its replacement 8403; not sure whether with b&w or without) are more powerful than this one. That way, JBL A604 or Blau GT4 Mk 2 make more sense at around 6K.

Originally Posted by clonedintellige View Post
... I heard a pair of focals last night, pretty impressive indeed ! I wonder if there is scope for changing any other thing in the setup ...
Don't commit in a hurry - listen to more brands & models. At that price point there are JBL 660, Infinity, Rainbow, Hertz, Boston, Polk etc. models WITH b&w. And no, don't be afraid of your budget being compromized - you have decent budget to achieve what you want. Weigh your options carefully. Right now your selection is HU-heavy.
Old 13th May 2009, 20:57   #1830

Don't commit in a hurry - listen to more brands & models. At that price point there are JBL 660, Infinity, Rainbow, Hertz, Boston, Polk etc. models WITH b&w. And no, don't be afraid of your budget being compromized - you have decent budget to achieve what you want. Weigh your options carefully. Right now your selection is HU-heavy.[/quote]

Thank You DerAlte ! So far, I have only got an opportunity to listen to brands that are installed in some of my friends car (JBL, Pio, Infinity,I think I heard an MTX too). Can I ask for audition for speakers as well when I am getting it installed? I was of the opinion that these vendors at most will allow you to audition for subwoofers. I must admit, I have not asked specifically to listen to various options I have at the price point I m looking at. When you say my options is currently HU heavy, do you mean to say that I am probably looking to buy something expensive for the features I might get for lesser if I went with a different brand of HU? If you, what other brands can you suggest? At the moment, I m looking to get it done from Sproket, but I have been told Pitstop is also good (but maybe a little expensive). Can you suggest any other outlets I should consider? Thanks again !

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com