Old 9th October 2007, 17:41   #1066

Originally Posted by testing2000 View Post
H
please suggest me how to improve my sound ( with amp , sub etc ).

my current setup is:

Pioneer 7950UB.
Front Door : 6.5" Philips 2way coaxial. (180 watts)
On the Back (Tray) : 6x9 - Philipes 3 way coaxial (350 watts)
Hi rk,

I would suggest you get rid of the Philips front door coax speakers and get a set of decent 6" component speakers.
Then get a 4 channel amplifier and a subwoofer (Tube or box)

Have you set yourself a budget for this improvement?
Old 9th October 2007, 18:14   #1067

Swift Zxi Audio

Yes Sam,

I am having an budget of 10k right now.

Replacing the new speakers(front doors), its very new i am wondering my installer will take it back. what amp is good ? please suggest.

thank you.

rk
Old 10th October 2007, 09:57   #1068

Hi friends,

I am new to ICE setups.
Pioneer 7950UB.
Front Door : 6.5" Philips 2way coaxial. (180 watts)
On the Back (Tray) : 6x9 - Philipes 3 way coaxial (350 watts)
please help me to improve my sound.
this is a repeat post. please refrain from such posting as it confuses senile old men. It is bad enough I live in a perpectual state of Deja-Vu.
Old 10th October 2007, 16:26   #1069

sorry for the repetive post, as i am confused where to post whether in Swift forum or in Main Thread itself, sorry once again.

thanks.

rk

Mod's Note: When in doubt decide on the best possible fit as per your understanding and post there. If required mods will inform you and move the post. Cross-posting, multi-posting etc are considered as spamming.
Old 11th October 2007, 14:32   #1070

One question i am having?

If i install component they will cut the door panel for tweeters!

is that ok? it wont be spoiling any warrenty from maruti!?

please help me.

i am planning to buy a Sony 554ZR(sony) amp. is that ok to buy.
as i am having budget constraints.

thank you.
Old 11th October 2007, 14:53   #1071

i am planning to buy a Sony 554ZR(sony) amp. is that ok to buy.as i am having budget constraints
Sony amps ain't that good. Instead of that go for a Pio 4-channel or JBL 4-channel ( 60.4) which should cost you about 1.5K more than a sony, results will be way lot better.
Old 11th October 2007, 15:47   #1072

If you can find the 60.4, that is. You can otherwise buy the new GT-5 series amplifier.
Old 14th October 2007, 05:33   #1073

Pls suggest ICE setup for my taste

You guys ROCK!!! knowledge and exp that is being exchanged for the sake of music/sound is awesome...keep up the good work... i really like it...

Now, here is my situation.. I had a Swift when I was in India and had these:

Blaupunkt BAHAMAS MP46 Head Unit
JBL GTO 607Component speakers in the front
Blaupunkt GTx 693 6” X 9” 3 way speakers mounted on a MDF plank in the rear

I would add that eventhough I had no amp's, the HU was driving the compos pretty well and the sound was crisp...

Now is the part where I need help:

I will be buying another Swift and I am looking out for an ICE. My budget is 30-35K and I can source equipment from the US.

I am looking at Alpine 9887, but heard it needs a seperate kit to be purchased for setting up Bass/Treble. It would be great if anyone can throw some light on this... I would like to ask, which is the BEST HU for playing MP3 in the market worldwide with Bluetooth/IPod integration?

Also was looking at Infinity Kappa Components for the front. Am I in the right direction to glory?
Let me know wats best to suit my taste for 30-35K on a Swift?

I would love to play Hip Hop, Rock(Soft, Classic and Heavy), Hindi Filmi Music kind of sounds. I like my bass tight NOT Boom-Boom ( salute u sam bhai )

If I am not asking for more, can someone please guide me to good sound technicians/installers in Bangalore?

Thanks and Peace!!!
Old 14th October 2007, 10:31   #1074

Originally Posted by Swift_ICE View Post
I am looking at Alpine 9887, but heard it needs a seperate kit to be purchased for setting up Bass/Treble. It would be great if anyone can throw some light on this
@Swift_ICE - The kit actually sets up the HU's crossovers & time alignment automatically. However, if you don't buy the kit, you can still set these parameters manually. Bass & treble controls are available only after kit set up. This should not be a big disadvantage as the gurus recommend bass & treble to be left at flat.
For more info, you could follow this link
Alpine Electronics of America, Inc. - KTX-100EQ

Last edited by nura : 14th October 2007 at 10:34.
Old 14th October 2007, 10:37   #1075

Also was looking at Infinity Kappa Components for the front. Am I in the right direction to glory?
You seem to be doing alright - yes.
If I am not asking for more, can someone please guide me to good sound technicians/installers in Bangalore?
There are many competent installers in Bangalore - Some of our Bangalore members would be happy to help - purely out of love for audio.
One member - blueraven - is a very competent installer. There are a few more in bangalore. Do not worry - when the time comes to install, we will help you find someone who can fit it in your car for you.
I like my bass tight NOT Boom-Boom ( salute u sam bhai )
A huge smile back at you.
Old 14th October 2007, 17:09   #1076

Alpine 9887

Originally Posted by nura View Post
@Swift_ICE - The kit actually sets up the HU's crossovers & time alignment automatically. However, if you don't buy the kit, you can still set these parameters manually. Bass & treble controls are available only after kit set up. This should not be a big disadvantage as the gurus recommend bass & treble to be left at flat.
For more info, you could follow this link
Alpine Electronics of America, Inc. - KTX-100EQ
Thanks for the Info Nura,

To be honest, I dont think tuning the system is my cuppa tea, so Is there any pro in Bangalore who has this Kit and can tune my new HU? Also I found out somewhere on the net that the radio frequency range is different from wat we have in India, meaning I would not be able to tune into Radio. Is there a fix for this? They have a different set for Europe which costs twice to the US model, its called the 9887R.

Does any one of us have a 9887 here?

Thanks again!!!
Old 14th October 2007, 17:16   #1077

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
You seem to be doing alright - yes.
Thanks Sam, Can you tell me if I should be looking at the 60.7CS or the PERFECT 6.1?

There are many competent installers in Bangalore - Some of our Bangalore members would be happy to help - purely out of love for audio.
One member - blueraven - is a very competent installer. There are a few more in bangalore. Do not worry - when the time comes to install, we will help you find someone who can fit it in your car for you.
Thanks a ton for this, you guys really ROCK!!

A huge smile back at you.
cheers:

Can you suggest what I do with the rear and should I have a amp/subwoofer at all? I dont listen to loud music so What I am ooking for is Hi-Fi SQ, crisp and clear, can you please help??

Old 14th October 2007, 18:35   #1078

Help needed FAST

Its been a long time (approx 4 months) since i was a active member on this thread. The difference though is that then i was just planning but now i am actually ready to buy (within 4 days). I need help and that too fast.

I do not want my warranty to lapse and so am considering installing my system from the dealer. A friend of mine ceebeezee has the following system installed from my dealer:

Head unit : Blaupunkt Hamburg MP57 - Rs.13,500 (MRP - Rs. 15,950)
Front : Blaupunkt GTx663 3 way - Rs. 2,500 (MRP - Rs. 2750)
Rear : Blaupunkt GTx 693 3-way ovals - Rs. 3,000 (MRP - Rs. 3450)

My question to the experts is... Is this worth the money spent on it?

Apparently the dealer has only Kenwood and Blaupunkt

Its my first car and i do not want any problems with regardto warranty...
Old 14th October 2007, 19:09   #1079

Thanks for the Info Nura,
Does any one of us have a 9887 here?

Thanks again!!!
I think Hydrashock has one!
Old 14th October 2007, 20:39   #1080

Thanks Sam, Can you tell me if I should be looking at the 60.7CS or the PERFECT 6.1?

Can you suggest what I do with the rear and should I have a amp/subwoofer at all? I dont listen to loud music so What I am ooking for is Hi-Fi SQ, crisp and clear, can you please help??
I believe the 60.7CS would be a sufficient choice. Connecting the perfect without an amplifier is something we would not let you do.
Even the 60.7CS will come into their own only with atleast 50W of clean power going to them (preferably more).
I recommend you buy a nice HU, a decent 4 channel amp, the Kappa front and coax rears. For the rears, you can save some money and go fr the new reference speakers, I think they are amazing VFM.
Then if you feel the need, buy a woofer from India, otherwise you're good to go.