Old 5th June 2009, 02:34   #61

MUhaah hahaah, man sorry for the laugh.

but isnt this the first time we are staking the team-bhp ice suggestion Reputation on stake.

we are actually saying the desired ICE setup can be achieved in way lesser budget, rather than pumping the budget.

well, since you are already decided on the Sub and Sub amp, here goes the rest.

a good 3-way component system from DLS ultimate, Dynaudio, and Rainbow top of the line 3-ways. sorry i am noob in the audiophile grade ICE so you are on your own for the model numbers.

Tru technology copper series or steg master stokes or may be even the DLS top of the line should do i guess.

these are just a few suggestions from the brands i know of the audiophile grade available in India with bill and warranty.

but i would definately suggest you to get a Dry cell battery,upgrade the BIG-3 wiring, use Isolators and a bigger alternator if necessary, the way i see it its gonna be one hell of a stonker set up with that kind of budget.

also please give some serious thought to a Good Line driver i think there is one for sale on T-bhp classifieds from Tru Technology.
and get a capacitor too.

Damping needs way too much attention in your case. the gurus can help better here too.

good fiber glass work for your door pads with nice neon rings and other blings would all just all the blings the car can get.

as per the HU the gurus can help you out way better than me.

these are the only things i know of.

as per the Installation man dont even think of any shops in Hyderabad, there are none i know of or some that has been mentioned or reputed here for this kind of AudioPhile setup.

Man installation is one big hell of a deal, just the installation for this grade can cost you around 40K+ if you are willing to get it done right, the aluminum baskets for the speakers, a metal box for the woofers with the interiors from MDF to all kinds of filling materials you can lay your hands on etc, this is just to give you an Idea as to how the installation can cost so much.

I say you get the car to Mumbai or Bangalore or order all the equipment and request one of these shops to send a person down to Hyderabad to carry out the Installaion.

it would be way better if you take the car and spend some time to audition various setup you can, so that you have first hand info and a clearer Idea of what you want to go into the car.

Happy icing please do have a Deadline and get this done, i wanna audition the car asap now already hehe.
Old 5th June 2009, 11:00   #62

Guys all of you are not getting the point, he doesnt want a extremely good sounding system, just a one that his friends havent seen or heard. He want brands that make JBL, PIONEER, SONY look like headphones, he wants such a great fibreglass work that it looks more blings than chrome itself. This is his requirement, he is not a SQ user who care about the quality, just clear and loud sound. So lets spend alot of the cash on making it look good and not sound good.
Old 5th June 2009, 11:25   #63

Originally Posted by BmwAddict View Post
I am done with Sub and Amp
Sub: DynAudio Esator 1200
Amp:Steg MasterStroke 3000

My main reason for modifying my civic is "TO SHOW OFF" that's it,nothing more than that.

My basic priority : BLING,SOUND QUALITY,SHOW OFF and "PROPER SERVICE" IN INDIA.
The amp - sub selection you have is very good but if you want to show off you wont get BOOM. The bass will be fast, tight, a touch dry and very accurate but not show off bass.

Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
WOW! With that kind of money here's what I would get.
Clarion HX D2.

Steg MasterStroke x 1
McIntosh MCC404M x 2

Morel Piccolo
Hybrid Audio Technologies Legatia L3 3"
ScanSpeak 22w

Morel Supremo / Elate Le 2 way for rear

Dynaudio E1200 x 2
A combination such as the one listed above (what has been listed is a just an example) would produce very good sound. But...
1. requires extensiive modfication of the car's cabin incl. the doors.
2. the sound will be clean, smooth, etc.. but will not be BLING (No BOOM or TIZZ).
3. the components above are all very revealing. the source (CD etc..) will have to of equal quality. The poor quality CDs (incl. most CDs pressed in India) will be ruthlessly revealed.

Originally Posted by rider60 View Post
well, since you are already decided on the Sub and Sub amp, here goes the rest.a good 3-way component system from DLS ultimate, Dynaudio, and Rainbow top of the line 3-ways.
Only BMW can decide if he wants a very good 3 way stock system or a custom system. The stock system requires less work and knowledge and is tried and tested (atleast by the designer/manufacturer) but the install can be copied by anyone. A custom system however requires far more work, knowledge and patience to extract it's best BUT will be a rare system (appreciated atleast in audiophile circles).

BMW if you want bling think of lots of using materials like plexiglass, neon, and carbon fiber. One other great BLING matieral is the reflector grade aluminum used in modern louvers used for office lighting. You get lamiates of this material at your local wood store.

No brainers:
Damping
Big 3 Wires
Custom fiberglass/Carbon Fiber door panels and subwoofer enclosures (the later with a plexiglass window esp if you get a woofer that is bligh like the Aura recommeded earlier)

Last edited by navin : 5th June 2009 at 11:30.
Old 5th June 2009, 12:05   #64

My ICE budget is 10L

melodies,oldies,telugu/tamil/hindi/pop remixes,metal/heavy metal/rock/hard rock,reggae,pop,techno,romance,sad songs etc etc those are my genres.

ICE should be in "tolerable" condition by the car and engine.
one of my friends has got a JBL system in his swift.I listened to this song in his system and it was so clear.I can clearly listen to each and every bit.The quality of the sound is so good and in one word it's addictive,addicted to the quality of sound it produced
felt JBL has given me more satisfaction than the audi a8's music system,I was unable to differentiate between BOSE system and JBL,but for techno BOSE SOUNDED THE MACHO !
Everyone here is a Guru now lol, because you have money to spend.

Most advice you’ve received revolves simply around the ticket value of the goods. Not that the suggested equipment is bad, (some of the suggestions are of the best equipment in the world of ice) but it has nothing to do with your car, style or music. You could have told everyone here you listen to Eminem or Brahms, the answer would be the same equipment, lol.

Here’s my advice. Don’t spend 10 lacs on your audio. I suspect you won’t like it, from what I’ve read of your posts.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s your car and your money, you're free to spend it. But what is talking is my years of experience in car audio. Not some person who knows the ticket value of products from big brands.

Originally Posted by abhayshanu View Post
For brands, go for steg, audiobahn, groundzero, etc, no need for JBL stuff.
I usually don’t react at all to brand related sweeping statements - but to see Audiobahn in that list is just something I cannot believe!
There may be no need for JBL stuff in your opinion, I respect that.
But just to enlighten you on ticket values, just 2 flagship amplifiers of JBL would cost more than 10lacs. Shrug.

I would not recommend it to BMW addict though. I don't think he should buy something simply because he can afford it.

that's what I want ! I want my friends to feel jealous
All the products mentioned are high quality, but I still suspect strongly that this is not the sound that you would like.

Like Navin mentioned, keep aside a fat amount for damping and cabling. That itself will be a little under a lac. And set yourself a lower equipment budget. Don't waste your money.

A Rolls Royce may be a great car especially if you can afford it. But a Ferrari may be what you're actually looking for.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 5th June 2009 at 12:10.
Old 5th June 2009, 12:14   #65

Very wise suggestion Sam. Kudos!!!
Old 5th June 2009, 12:51   #66

Very well put by SAM, Dyns may not be of your liking, Your Friends will not be jealous of the Dynaudio Subwoofer, because you want an SHOW-OFF kind of an install and the stuff being suggested to you is Pure SQ, Dont know about your Music Taste, but I can say about mine, That even I have a Decent ICE Setup, Rainbows Genesis and iD but still i am no where when compared to the musical knowledge or have the musical taste like that of sk456 for example. and sometimes find high end equipment do no magic. Because I audition songs which dont have such details which can be extracted by those speakers, Musical knowledge and experience involves with time, And If you plan to start with Dynaudio I am pretty much sure you will be dis-appointed.

I will give you an example, Some people who hear my install and then the pricing of the subwoofer laugh at me, an iDMAX 10" costs 30k Each, So my subwoofers alone cost 60k. And then you get to hear, "Bhaiya, Mera Pioneer 307 whatever, makes more bass, And in 60k i can buy 10 subwoofers". Similarly a Dyn Esotar Sub will cost you close to a Lakh and be ready for such comments, Because I dont think the Esotar sub will be loud.

I would rather suggest you a GZ Plutonium than a Dyn Esotar.

And the car in question is the civic, Which is not the best cars in the world to ICE. The Tweeter placement is always an issue, the imaging is effected hence. The cabin is completely sealed, So my subwoofers are displacing the BOOT, but I cannot feel the same amount of BASS inside my cabin, and the alternator. Though you have a big budget so upgrading that wont be an issue, but I am facing troubles with the same. It cant provide the current, I want for some very Heavy Bass Track songs. Also The distance between the Tweeter and the Midbass is huge, The dashboard is big, So there is a Delay and the perfect imaging is not achieved.

OT: I can call myself Lucky, To have Held and seen the Dynaudio Esotar Midbass/Tweeter and Subwoofer in my hands, and truly these drivers are something unique.

Last edited by m4ugr8 : 5th June 2009 at 12:56.
Old 5th June 2009, 13:01   #67

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post

I usually don’t react at all to brand related sweeping statements - but to see Audiobahn in that list is just something I cannot believe!
There may be no need for JBL stuff in your opinion, I respect that.
But just to enlighten you on ticket values, just 2 flagship amplifiers of JBL would cost more than 10lacs. Shrug.

[/b]
I dont mean to say that JBL and others dont have good products, i was just saying that he should get less known brands to most indian people, like steg, audiobahn, eclipse, etc, not that JBL stuff arent good, i my self am using them and im quite happy.
Old 5th June 2009, 13:13   #68

Originally Posted by abhayshanu View Post
I dont mean to say that JBL and others dont have good products, i was just saying that he should get less known brands to most indian people, like steg, audiobahn, eclipse, etc, not that JBL stuff arent good, i my self am using them and im quite happy.
No Sir, please understand my point. Audiobahn makes rubbish products and don't desrve to be in your list.

Anyways they are bankrupt and wrapped up.
Old 5th June 2009, 13:20   #69

A Rolls Royce may be a great car especially if you can afford it. But a Ferrari may be what you're actually looking for.
Great analogy Sam
Old 5th June 2009, 13:21   #70

Oh didnt know, have not heard them so cant say, just heard good things so included them in the list, sorry for the ignorance, i dont think BMWaddict will be posting, he is offended as he was called a troll, and says will post after all mods are done, so looks like all suggestions here on will be not useful to him.
Old 5th June 2009, 13:26   #71

Why is Video or whatever else possible not being discussed in the shortlists? If the primary aim is the "J" Factor , doesn't it make sense to have a "Do it all" system and not just on extreme Hi-Fidelity.

Wouldn't it make sense to spend a wee bit at this stage towards a Graphic Artist and Installation specialist to paint a visual picture of the install?Its the "wow" factor before putting on the system that matters to BMWAddict.No one would bother even asking who's is bigger and better once their mind is set on admiring what they see.

how about...
...Beast of a LCD screen that tilts downwards from the roof .....AND the icing on cake is that the screen can tilt towards outside too!.I'm sure a sunroof opening can be modified to achieve this.Have your own Car Park party for all you want.

Im just trying to broaden people's ideas, suggestions and opinions. Im not trying to criticize or negate anyone's knowledge.Give it a go and think different is all i say :-)

Last edited by absynthguzzler : 5th June 2009 at 13:29.
Old 5th June 2009, 14:01   #72

I agree with SAM. He wants Bling not SQ. He want to make head turned when his ride crosses the street.
Old 5th June 2009, 14:08   #73

Well two Subs installed inverted on the roof will give a lot of bling and will make good noise too.

by the way bmwaddict why don't you get a chrome paint job on your car.its very much possible.
Old 5th June 2009, 14:56   #74

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
I'm quite baffled at a lot of the suggestions on this thread.

Nowhere has BMWAddict mentioned that he is looking for a "textbook" SQ system. In fact, he has said that he likes the sound of JBL, and finds Bose to be 'macho for techno'. Let's face it, Bose and JBL while sounding very different from one another, are very far from the sound that a Dynaudio Esotar + Steg MSK combo can produce. Unless the JBLs he heard are the GTi series ones.

A budget of 10L does not necessarily point down the path of HX-D2s and Steg MSKs.
Just saw that B&T sad the same thing, more or less.

And I see no reason why a man should want BIG, fat, juicy sound for his high budget and it would cause even the slightest bit of amusement. If someone wants a monster truck for his money, I see cause for respect, not sarcasm.

BMWaddict, more power to you.
Old 5th June 2009, 15:02   #75

You could have told everyone here you listen to Eminem or Brahms, the answer would be the same equipment, lol.

All the products mentioned are high quality, but I still suspect strongly that this is not the sound that you would like.

Like Navin mentioned, keep aside a fat amount for damping and cabling. That itself will be a little under a lac. And set yourself a lower equipment budget. Don't waste your money.
A Dyn-Steg or any silimar combo would do Brahms and Eminem with equal aplomb.

Listen to any/all car and home audio you get a chance to. Let us know what brands and combos you prefer (home or car). It will give the Gurus some idea.

1 lac for Damping, Cabling and custom firberglass/CF/Plexiglass work
4 lacs for the system
----
5 lacs will cover everything. Use the rest to treat yourself and family to a nice holiday.

At the risk of repeating myself I have quoted myself below.

Originally Posted by navin View Post
The amp - sub selection you have is very good...but not show off bass....
3. the components above are all very revealing. the source (CD etc..) will have to of equal quality. The poor quality CDs (incl. most CDs pressed in India) will be ruthlessly revealed.

No brainers:
Damping
Big 3 Wires
Custom fiberglass/Carbon Fiber door panels and subwoofer enclosures