Old 29th July 2009, 00:28   #1

ICE frankmehta's Fiesta: All Equipment Finalized

The moment I have been waiting for, since years has now arrived. We are about to book our first new car in 4 years and BOY am I excited.
It looks like it's going to be the Ford Fiesta S or the Ford Fiesta ZXi, but some financial considerations, and some other ahem.. (this is the ICE section, I cannot talk about suspension and engine wengine) factoring in will be required while choosing the model.
Ok, so here's the thing.

FIRST things first. I will be dunking the stock ICE and putting in my equipment (you seem to be surprised... DUH.. LOL!)
A few tough ones:

1. Dash-kit for the Fiesta: For my Eclipse 7200MKii.
--I will need one, and I need your help procuring it. The cheapest place to get it would be the best suggestion you could give. The showroom people might have it. But please suggest a range as to how much I must pay for the kit.

2. Wiring Harness:
-- I don't seem to understand this funda. But yes, i am very particular about my warranty. So please tell me, how NOT to void it.

3. BIGGEST DILEMMA: The stock speaker locations in the front doors of the Fiesta allow 5.25 inch midbasses. Now this does'nt spell good news for me and my Luccents (who I love with ferocity and will not part with them!)
Please tell me that 6.5 inch midbasses can be mounted in the door without modifications to the door or the doorpad as such, and if they can't then what is the best way to mount them!?

Damping will be in HUGE supplies, and install will be Ajay Kamath.
No worries there. Any more tips about installing ICE in my to-be mistress?

PS: will need to install the 2 din stock HU and speakers in the zen. HOW to fit the 2 din HU in the one din slot (or below it, modifications allowed here), now you explain. But I dont want to waste it.

So there goes, the juggernaut rolls. We begin. One more story.

PS again: The other cars shorlisted are the All New Honda City and the Hyundai i20. Let's not get into HOW we can install ICE in those 2, since I don't see a possibility to even install my own HU. But let's cross that bridge when we come to it. For now, it's the Fiesta on my mind (and in my heart)

Last edited by frankmehta : 29th July 2009 at 00:31.
Old 29th July 2009, 00:34   #2

Congrats Frank Ji, I knew it would be hard for a person to drive a Hatchback after a Sedan, and for ICY person like you hatchback would be sound kill for the ICE you seem to have and planned.
Old 29th July 2009, 01:09   #3

thank you ghpk. Drop the ji Man... Makes me feel old :-)
Technically a hatch would have made a lot of sense acoustically, since I wouldn't have to account for the discrepancies that might arise due to the placement of subs in the substantial boot (highlights the old adage, where there is gain, there is pain. Cabin gain in this instance.)
A hatch wouldve been a better choice, but alas. Engine wengine did me in here.
Old 29th July 2009, 01:14   #4

Hmmm where did the Linea lose out??
Old 29th July 2009, 03:20   #5

Hey Frank, do let me know what you did with Fiesta's front door with those 8". I would love to see things going on this fiesta.
Old 29th July 2009, 07:30   #6

wow..now this is going to be a very intresting thread!!il be more than happy to see you get the fiesta!
btw,6.5' speakers can be put in the front stock location using MDF rings
Old 29th July 2009, 07:37   #7

How to get a dash kit :-
1) Ask dealership guys for any spare ones (they fit stereos-aftermarket)
2) Buy it from the dealership/service center
3) Get an aftermarket one (opera house) will give you the brand name soon.

Buy an eclipse wiring harness. Should cost you 150-500. Best to contact distributor/dealer for Eclipse-India.

Put 5.25 components and donate the luccents (i could work out a swap for you too, hoshang's car has 5.25 infinity fronts)
Old 29th July 2009, 09:46   #8

Yaar Harness is not an issue.
Hardly anyone would know. No one goes around checking the inside of the HU to check warranty.
Old 29th July 2009, 11:46   #9

Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
Put 5.25 components and donate the luccents
Frank, I will give you my polks and help you damp your car
Old 29th July 2009, 13:59   #10

You sure they are 5.25 inch? Fiesta has some funny spec IIRC.
Old 29th July 2009, 16:09   #11

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
May be you are right, JKD,

Fiesta has a 5x7 front speaker slot isn't it? Or is it just with some models of fiesta.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...4112008968.jpg

Copied image from
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...-dynamics.html

Last edited by shreyasma : 29th July 2009 at 16:10.
Old 29th July 2009, 21:23   #12

the fiesta sport certainly has 5x7 speaker locations in the front as well as rear.
Old 29th July 2009, 22:10   #13

Originally Posted by pranava999 View Post
Hmmm where did the Linea lose out??
hi pranava, i found the Linea diesel to be slightly sluggish for my liking. I personally am from this club that's called, 'rev her hard till she begs for more' and frankly, the linea just didnt cut it!

Originally Posted by nitinralli View Post
Hey Frank, do let me know what you did with Fiesta's front door with those 8". I would love to see things going on this fiesta.
hi Nitin. I have 6.5" drivers. 8" would DEFINITELY not fit!

Originally Posted by ariendj View Post
wow..now this is going to be a very intresting thread!!il be more than happy to see you get the fiesta!
btw,6.5' speakers can be put in the front stock location using MDF rings
thank you arien. can you support this with an example? or some pictures? am DYING To know whether they can fit in without any modifications for sure!

Originally Posted by arpandiv View Post
How to get a dash kit :-
1) Ask dealership guys for any spare ones (they fit stereos-aftermarket)
2) Buy it from the dealership/service center
3) Get an aftermarket one (opera house) will give you the brand name soon.

Buy an eclipse wiring harness. Should cost you 150-500. Best to contact distributor/dealer for Eclipse-India.

Put 5.25 components and donate the luccents (i could work out a swap for you too, hoshang's car has 5.25 infinity fronts)
thanks. but no thanks nagin.
on the serious side, Ajay will make sure he takes the warranty into account before starting the install.

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Yaar Harness is not an issue.
Hardly anyone would know. No one goes around checking the inside of the HU to check warranty.
no no. i shall have one installed, still!

Originally Posted by shreyasma View Post
Frank, I will give you my polks and help you damp your car
arey chuuuuuuuullllll.. lol. Exchange in cash AND kind. I like!!!

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
5*7 or 5.25 inch.

Originally Posted by shreyasma View Post
May be you are right, JKD,

Fiesta has a 5x7 front speaker slot isn't it? Or is it just with some models of fiesta.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...4112008968.jpg

Copied image from
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sound-...-dynamics.html
spot on.

Originally Posted by DjNik View Post
the fiesta sport certainly has 5x7 speaker locations in the front as well as rear.
true. But I just got off the phone with Ajay and he gave the go ahead. YES, we are getting the 1.6S and I don't even have to throw away the Luccents!!
Had the nth TD with dad today. And he loved it too..
Let the games BEGIN!!!

Any news about the dash kit?
Old 30th July 2009, 00:03   #14

Ha Ha thought as much! SO it's not a diesel anymore?? LoL glad you finally made up your minds! Was secretly hoping to see a petrol Linea with the ICE to match the beauty of the car

The 1.6 S+ ICE = 1 Deadly combo
Old 30th July 2009, 06:26   #15

Yes Pranava. Its quite a surprising decision on my part. I thought I'd fall in love with diesels on test driving them. But alas, I had to give in to the charms of the 1.6. The Dieselust is still present. But not for cars in my budget!

Last edited by frankmehta : 30th July 2009 at 06:27.