Old 8th August 2009, 09:19   #16

Frank if you just want SPL and can compromise little on SQ go with 2 x 12" idv3 you can get good numbers with 2 of them of 500 watts (if you are behind numbers). if i remember they hit 140 or so with one id amp.
Old 8th August 2009, 11:31   #17

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
This aint a marketing post but just to inform Frank that all the 15 inch Hydrogen subs are in NCR region. So you have to come to delhi to listen to them.

Frank-> LBM--> .
a 15 inch Hydrogen would be out of my budget. Even a 12 incher is. I'd love to listen to both, though.

Originally Posted by Invinsible View Post
Great one more upgrade.
Frank my friend what you need is one Sub, and if you can get 2 of these nothing like it. There's just one sub that comes to my mind for your need "Exodus Shiva-X". They have a price cut down on these. Great VFM and performer. Needs 1.25sq.ft for 500W.
this one has gotten me interested. But see, shipping such a heavy sub down will kill its edge over the others. 35 pounds. The sub will cost be about 17-18k. Which is MAD, considering it costs about 7.5 k without shipping.
I'd rather spend on the Hydrogen or IDQ series, since both are much more expensive subs. Let me still factor this calculation. Not read much reviews on the Shiva-X though.

Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post
Frank if you just want SPL and can compromise little on SQ go with 2 x 12" idv3 you can get good numbers with 2 of them of 500 watts (if you are behind numbers). if i remember they hit 140 or so with one id amp.
KK, SPL to chahiye HI NAHI. I want sq to the HILT. only for times when i want to pump it up, i want a sub that handles 550W with elan and is loud but still musical while doing that!
Old 8th August 2009, 11:58   #18

Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
I am now in the market for a set of speakers (read: SUBwoofers) that are musical. Highly musical. So musical, that they can conduct an opera all by themself. Something that shimmy's and shakes at the smallest of notes..
Option 1: 2 x 12" (less than 1 cu. ft each)
IDQ 12 D4/2 v2
GZUW 300SQ
Dayton RS S315-HO

Option 2: 4 x 10" (lots of options one can go isobarik of even 3 chambered isobarik/bandpass) but you need about 1000W for really pushing this system.
GZUW 250SQ
ID 10 D4/2 v3
RS S265-HO

Option 3: 2 x 15" (and a really big box or IB with a lot of damping and FG work)
RS S390-HO
JBL W15GTi MKII
JL 13W6v2 (the JL is a 13" woofer but still needs a reasonably large 2cu. ft. box).

Option 4: 1 x 15" Transmission line (the ultimate challenge - you need to port the woofer directly into the cabin to really get the full effect - a port like used on the KEF Reference 104/2 is what I have in mind).
IDQ 15 D4/2 V2
Focal 15" 38VX

Frank any good woofer system can be tuned to suit your taste and cabin.
Old 8th August 2009, 12:54   #19

Option 1: looks like i planned it.

Option 2: would need a lot of boot space. The idea this time is to maximise boot space and make it usable too.

Option 3: 2 15's would be overkill for my listening preference.

Option 4: Looks interesting, but how much would we be looking to spend????

thanks for the 4 options. There IS a lot one can do!
Old 8th August 2009, 13:07   #20

1 think the 1st and the last options are the one you can consider.

I would really like to see the last option somewhere. Navin ji, any directions ?

P.S for SQ with SPL whenever you want it, try to get the SI Mag D2.
I'm sure you'll fall in love with it. ( P.S expect my call for a basic review)

Last edited by abhinav.gupta88 : 8th August 2009 at 13:12.
Old 8th August 2009, 13:16   #21

FrankMehta@ this one has gotten me interested. But see, shipping such a heavy sub down will kill its edge over the others. 35 pounds. The sub will cost be about 17-18k. Which is MAD, considering it costs about 7.5 k without shipping.
I'd rather spend on the Hydrogen or IDQ series, since both are much more expensive subs. Let me still factor this calculation. Not read much reviews on the Shiva-X though.
Shiva-x is monster home audio sub which work beautifully in automobile. These can handle 400-1000RMS at 4 ohms. Very linear sub, also due to XBL^2 tech, Fs down to 19.6hz, both BL factor and Xmax(27mm) are great. I strongly suggest give it a thought. Shiva-X will be good for both SQ and SPL.

If you looking for single sub setup, than as Navinji Suggested JBL w10gti MKII or W15 / Dayton HO 10" x 2 (requires just .6 cu.ft Encl. size for each) / Dayton 12" or 15" Titanic MKIII / SSA ICON 12".

Daytons will also perform low in 20hz and stay linear only if given them their rated power even the 10" for that matter.

Last edited by Invinsible : 8th August 2009 at 13:34.
Old 8th August 2009, 13:36   #22

The IDQ has great musical capabilities, One IDQ is great SQ but 2 would be even better in SPL + SQL terms.

PS. Even i'm thinking of getting one more IDQ 12 D4V2, Any idea were I can get the V2 version.
Old 8th August 2009, 13:40   #23

Here's another monster, great specs, get 2 of these and they will dig much low than expected and suits your amps rated power perfectly.
[COLOR=#0000ff]http://www.madisound.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=45_338_340&products_id=8641[/COLOR]
Old 8th August 2009, 13:44   #24

@ invinsible: the shiva x is a dual 8 ohm version. Wont be useful here, since I will be giving only 350 W to it.

the 2 aci subs are good, but im looking at 2 twelves atleast!!!!!

@ sathee: i had the same plan in mind. now all is thrown into jeopardy with so many options.. lol
Old 8th August 2009, 14:10   #25

OT, its dilemma !

Mods please do the necessary.
Old 8th August 2009, 14:12   #26

Originally Posted by sathee46 View Post
The IDQ has great musical capabilities, One IDQ is great SQ but 2 would be even better in SPL + SQL terms.

PS. Even i'm thinking of getting one more IDQ 12 D4V2, Any idea were I can get the V2 version.
US is your best bet saathee.

I don't think it will be easy to find a v2 in india.

P.S. another d4 (=2) ohm sub would mean playing both at 1 ohm / 4 ohm.
Playing at 1 ohm is not what sam prefers for this amp. I had a talk with him regarding that.
And 4 ohms would mean 360watts. Not adequate considering you are giving 600 right now.
Planning to add another mono for the 2nd one?

Last edited by abhinav.gupta88 : 8th August 2009 at 14:14.
Old 8th August 2009, 14:19   #27

Originally Posted by ag
US is your best bet aathee.
Like he needs to be told this.
Old 8th August 2009, 14:21   #28

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Like he needs to be told this.
Lol.
I know but just in case
Old 8th August 2009, 14:55   #29

Infinity Kappa 122.7w (1227w) 12" Component Subwoofers Car Subwoofers Car Audio Car Audio, Video, & GPS Navigation - Sonic Electronix

2 of these. These are known for their light weight and sound like the luccents. They have neodymium magnets too. They look perfect candidates since their enclosure volume is less, and they can easily fit into fibre glass enclosures on 2 sides of the boot.
What say????
Old 8th August 2009, 15:21   #30

Look good.
2 of them will present a 2 ohm load on your genesis.
They seem quite good too.

Why not contact Sam to check availability in India also.