Old 9th May 2006, 09:51   #3391

Thanks a lot for the explanation autophile. No it was not techy at all I could understand most of it.

One more Q what does asl mean
Old 9th May 2006, 09:59   #3392

Auto Sound Leveler?
Old 9th May 2006, 11:58   #3393

Originally Posted by navin
Auto Sound Leveler?
Yeah, Auto Sound Leveliser or something. Basically a function to compensate volume based on the level of ambient noise. A feature found on most Pioneer head units, available in three different modes on some. I'm not very impressed with it's functioning.
Old 9th May 2006, 12:51   #3394

"And when you fire up the 9-amplifier, 15-speaker stereo, it feels as if you’d taken up residence inside the $675,000 Steinway Alma-Tadema." hehe, guess in which car?
Old 9th May 2006, 15:40   #3395

Originally Posted by navin
JB you forgot the APF which is an All Pass Filter! :-)
And TPF - Time Pass Filter
Old 9th May 2006, 16:45   #3396

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
And TPF - Time Pass Filter

Old 9th May 2006, 17:17   #3397

[quote=Bass&Trouble]Yeah, very sad. Also the 9851 and the 9853 when introduced in 2005 didn't have the hi-volt pre-outs like the 9831 and 9833.
quote]

But the 9855 model which is similar to 9833 has high volt pre-outs.

I have set TA acc. to instruction given in manual of 9853e.g. by measuring distance from driver seat to various spk locations .

Is there any other way to do it?
As of now i have set it acc to driver's seat and when i sit on some other seat,i really can feel the difference.
Old 9th May 2006, 17:22   #3398

RSJ,

Time / Domain / Phase alignment is one of the biggest subject related to speakers and sound reproduction.

I would suggest you should listen to music, instruments, vocalist carefully while adjusting the Time Alignment. Sometimes just adding the distances in the Head Unit don't help.
Old 9th May 2006, 18:00   #3399

Originally Posted by Autophile
RSJ,

Time / Domain / Phase alignment is one of the biggest subject related to speakers and sound reproduction.
I have been reading how lots of ppl feel their music sounds better with their tweeters out of phase...

In fact there was this one person who had ONE woofer out of phase... and the rest of the sytem in phase... Claims though he lost out on sheer output the sound stage lifted..

Sheer GOBBLE-DE-GOOk!! .. Can you help simplify this JB?
Old 10th May 2006, 09:25   #3400

Originally Posted by Autophile

I would suggest you should listen to music, instruments, vocalist carefully while adjusting the Time Alignment. Sometimes just adding the distances in the Head Unit don't help.
you mean you use distances in th car. geez. I use my ear. my argument is as follows.
a) I feel I have adequate experience listening to home audio and live performances to know what I want but i carry a few test songs on my ipod
b) I am using this system to make music that sounds pleasnt to me so what if other dont like it. My car, My music, My Money, Me Must Like!

Originally Posted by kb100
I have been reading how lots of ppl feel their music sounds better with their tweeters out of phase...In fact there was this one person who had ONE woofer out of phase...
I know a few who like the extra wide sound stage presented using tweeters out of phase esp in a car. It is Their car, Their Music, Their Money, They must like!

As far as woofer out of phase well usually this produces a sound that lacks bass. why someone would do this I dont know.
Old 10th May 2006, 11:36   #3401

Info regarding Preouts

hi
i have query here Guru logs.....
Most of the New HU's have 2 v Preouts ....How much diiff would a HU having 4V preouts would make to the overall audio performance ?

Also iam having an alpine 9843 HU with only 2 V one pre-amp ...and iam planning to go for an Alpine 9830 with three 4 v pre outs ... my concern is will an above mentioned HU would give me a Considerable overall improvement? ....Or should i use a distributer to split the feeble 2 v signal to power my front comps and sub.....Or i should use speaker level inputs to feed the Amp(an alpine 240)...as in fronts channel to run comps and rear with LP for the sub.
Old 10th May 2006, 12:14   #3402

Originally Posted by speedofreak
hi
Most of the New HU's have 2 v Preouts ....How much diiff would a HU having 4V preouts would make to the overall audio performance ?

Also iam having an alpine 9843 HU with only 2 V one pre-amp ...and iam planning to go for an Alpine 9830 with three 4 v pre outs ... my concern is will an above mentioned HU would give me a Considerable overall improvement? ....Or should i use a distributer to split the feeble 2 v signal to power my front comps and sub.....Or i should use speaker level inputs to feed the Amp(an alpine 240)...as in fronts channel to run comps and rear with LP for the sub.
Hi.

The difference between a 2V pre out & a 4V preout is the peak-to-peak Voltage at the pre (RCA) outs is higher. While in effect this will immediately make the output seems louder, the actual reason is to improve Signal to Noise ratio, especially in the case of long lengths of RCA cabling.

A distributor to split the feeble 2V signal? I am assuming you want to split the line-level output to 2 amplifiers. Please note that the inout impedance of most amplifiers in over 20K ohms and this will not really reduce or divide your 2V preout signal to any noticable value.

I would not advise using speaker level inputs to any amplifier, unless you have a situation with NO RCA pre outs at all.
Old 10th May 2006, 12:54   #3403

thanks sam ....so it seems to get A new Hu with 3 preouts would be sane since iam looking forward to add an alpine mono amp. in 3-4 weeks time....
Old 10th May 2006, 12:57   #3404

Most of the New HU's have 2 v Preouts ....How much diiff would a HU having 4V preouts would make to the overall audio performance ?....Also iam having an alpine 9843 HU with only 2 V one pre-amp ...and iam planning to go for an Alpine 9830 with three 4 v pre outs ... my concern is will an above mentioned HU would give me a Considerable overall improvement? ....Or should i use a distributer to split the feeble 2 v signal to power my front comps and sub.....Or i should use speaker level inputs to feed the Amp(an alpine 240)...as in fronts channel to run comps and rear with LP for the sub.

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
The difference between a 2V pre out & a 4V preout is the peak-to-peak Voltage at the pre (RCA) outs is higher. While in effect this will immediately make the output seems louder, the actual reason is to improve Signal to Noise ratio, especially in the case of long lengths of RCA cabling.

A distributor to split the feeble 2V signal? I am assuming you want to split the line-level output to 2 amplifiers. Please note that the inout impedance of most amplifiers in over 20K ohms and this will not really reduce or divide your 2V preout signal to any noticable value.

I would not advise using speaker level inputs to any amplifier, unless you have a situation with NO RCA pre outs at all.
simple things first.
If you got Pre out do not use Speaker level outs. Period! Capice!

2V is adequate for most installs as long as yuo got good cable and a clean install (there are many posts in the archives detailing clean installs).

4V can offer slightly better S/N ratios but 4V or 8V is not a end to itself. If you find you need better S/N ration try warping the cable in foil. I hae found using brass tubing also works in isloating cables from noise esp EMI. In fact on a boat (25 Ft Deep Keel Tanzer) we used teflon coating in brass tubes for the long runs.

Now lets consider splitting the signal
A) if your 9830 has 3 preouts why do you need to split the signal?
B) Like Guru Sam says the typical input impedance of an amp is about 20K. You can safely split the signal from the RCA out to 2 amps but I find practical limitions of this. (a) signal splitters are usually not the best quality of cable (b) you have one more joint to worry about. Beyond this the amps would be limited by a HU having either a 2V or 4V preout.

Remember the days where we have to keep noise down as the output we got was 300mV!
Old 10th May 2006, 13:10   #3405

thanks sam ....so it seems to get A new Hu with 3 preouts would be sane since iam looking forward to add an alpine mono amp. in 3-4 weeks time....
Bhai you dont really NEED to change your HU. Waise hi iss wale se bore ho gaye ho toh alag baat hai. I have heard your system and there is no noise as such cuz you have Audison cabling and its been installed properly.

Go for the mono amp, and change your front speakers, move your alpine coaxes to the rear. Dampen your boot. Enjoy. Thats about it.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com