Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 6th August 2008, 13:30   #1336

The samsung isn't bad for hi def content. I saw the 42 incher the other day and it was quite good. Infact in detail retrieval it was probably better than the panasonic PV70 though the colors were typical samsung - super oversaturated. However its image processing is horrible. The moment we switched to SD content, everything just fell apart. It looked *terrible*.
Old 6th August 2008, 13:36   #1337

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
The samsung isn't bad for hi def content. I saw the 42 incher the other day and it was quite good. Infact in detail retrieval it was probably better than the panasonic PV70 though the colors were typical samsung - super oversaturated. However its image processing is horrible. The moment we switched to SD content, everything just fell apart. It looked *terrible*.
If that be so, I must thank you for guiding me towards Pioneer 42. I did think about the Samsung 50 at its price of 1.1.
Old 6th August 2008, 13:37   #1338

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
Could you please elaborate on the image processing part? What is that?
And what do you mean by the term 'switching to SD content'?
Old 6th August 2008, 13:40   #1339

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Could you please elaborate on the image processing part? What is that?
And what do you mean by the term 'switching to SD content'?
In essence scaling to the resolution of the plasma panel and also processing of the analog signal to reduce noise. Most good TVs have 3D comb filters. This one seemingly did too but I couldn't see the results of it. There were horrid scaling artifacts everywhere and chroma noise. The image looked fit for LCDs not for a plasma panel. SD content is supposed to be the strong point of a plasma.
Old 6th August 2008, 15:41   #1340

Its decided that I would be going in for a 50" plasma.But the question is which one.My budget is around 1.5 lakh.I don't think I would get a Panasonic or Pioneer in this price range.Vasudeva sir if any Pioneer or Panasonic Tv is available could you please guide me.
Reignofchaos - The Tv would be used only to watch TataSky and once in a while VCD's not DVD's,so would the Samsung suffice my needs.Whats attracting me towards the samsung is its pricing.
Thanks to all for replying
Old 6th August 2008, 15:46   #1341

I think the 50" Panasonic Plasma is around 1.5 lacs.
Old 6th August 2008, 15:52   #1342

I have always felt that first (most important) comes the manufacturer from which I shall buy, and then the price. If it is plasma that you intend to buy, then only Pioneer and Panasonic should be considered for the present. I know for sure that in Delhi, Pioneer 42 is around 1.05, and Pioneer 50 is around 1.6. Samsung price is good but then it is not Pioneer or Panasonic in plasma. You want to spend 1.1 and take a product that has better alternates at around that price. At around 1.5, you can also get a Sony, but then you get a better product (plasma) at that price. In plasma, I see your choice as only Pioneer (as above), or Panasonic 50pV80H. Buy Pioneer 42/50 or Panasonic 50PV80H (price not known but should be below 1.2), without any fear. You should easily get Pio/Pana 50 at around 1.5, which would be far better than a Sony/Samsung/what else plasma/LCD/OLED/blah blah (X/W/V/7/6 series...).

Most important: you want to spend 1.5 on watching Tata Sky and VCD (forget Bluray, not even DVDs)!!!!
Old 6th August 2008, 17:19   #1343

Originally Posted by D.V.R View Post
I don't think I would get a Panasonic or Pioneer in this price range.Vasudeva sir if any Pioneer or Panasonic Tv is available could you please guide me.

think the 50pv70 is around 1.2l currently. wait for a while the 50pv80 is around the corner which will surely be below 1.5l & after which the price of 50pv70 will also go down, so you"ll have a option between two panels then.
Old 6th August 2008, 18:19   #1344

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
I just went there, and the pv8d is available for 62K after discount and the pv80 is for 66 K. The only difference is that the pv80 has a sd card reader, which I feel is not worth 4K.
What was the marked price? How much discount did they give? Did you exchange any old TV?
Old 6th August 2008, 20:39   #1345

@shuvc - market price is 70k for 42pv8 and 75 for 42pv80 - not sure if 8-9k discounts are the norm though - i managed 3k off on my pv80 purchase (71.9k) and the dealer was ready to go down by 3.5k on pv8 (66.5k) for my office friend.
8-9k discounts are possible at metro stores (to get in you need a member card which is only possible if you have a CST number). However Metro don't stock pv8 and 80 currently.
Originally Posted by shuvc View Post
What was the marked price? How much discount did they give? Did you exchange any old TV?

Last edited by jassi : 6th August 2008 at 20:41.
Old 6th August 2008, 21:39   #1346

the reason why the price is lower in the store which vnabhi bought the pansonic from is cos that store is the largest dealer of panasonic goods in hyd, they run most of the panasonic brand stores in hyd. so due to the better margins they have,the price is lower when compared to the other stores.
Old 7th August 2008, 09:48   #1347

Jassi -- i was also on the look out for a DLP projector. Liked BenqW100 -- however the BenQ guys in India said they do not sell it in India at all - -wonder what its doing on their website. The same sales guy suggested me this model from their data projector range since I already have a home theater system :MP730 WXGA 2200 lumens 49700 +taxes . Here is the link for this Benq product.

BenQ India - Consumer Electronics

Can you or some tech guru tell me if its worth investing in this product for home projecting usage ? Thanks in advance

KPB
Old 7th August 2008, 11:04   #1348

Vasudeva Sir,as per your advice I have decided to go in for Panasonic.
aadix anna where can we check out pioneer and panasonic panels in hyderabad.I am thinking of waiting for the 50PV80H.
Whats the difference b/w 50PV70H/700H/80H
Old 7th August 2008, 11:26   #1349

Originally Posted by D.V.R View Post
Whats the difference b/w 50PV70H/700H/80H
Thanks a lot for calling me `Sir' again but it is not required.
70/700 Panasonic belong to an older generation of Panasonic (2007). 70 is 720p and 700 is 1080p. 8/80/800 belong to the present generation (2007-08) and have deeper blacks (claimed) and better native resolution. 80/80/800 series should be a lot better than 7/70/700 (as will be the next gen. compared with 8 series). 7 series is also OK if you can get a very competitive (clearance sale) price. Go for Pana 50/Pioneer 50.
Old 7th August 2008, 11:33   #1350

That's the problem with most LCDs, they look very good with HD picture on them in the showroom, but bring them home and feed Standard definition, then the problem starts emerging.
First LCDs cannot handle SD properly and second they get too bright for night viewing (changing brightness has direct impact on the perceived contrast).

I am presently in Canada, and went to Futureshop today. They are very strongly recommending Pioneer Plasma. Good part is that Pioneer 5080 is available at $2000; 5020 at $3500 but can;t even think about importing a 50" TV :(

Saw Panasonic 50PZ800 (11th Gen) side by side with Pioneer 5080 (8th gen) and the black levels on Pioneer were definitely much better then the blacks of Panasonic. However at the same time I did not see too much difference between Pio 5080 and 5020 (9th gen).