Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


View Poll Results: Do you face any Problems with TATA Sky?
Yes 140 39.77%
No 212 60.23%
Voters: 352. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th November 2020, 08:23   #751
BHPian
 
JMaruru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bengaluru/NYC
Posts: 640
Thanked: 205 Times
Default Re: One Channel having issue in TSky.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
Facing a strange issue with TS connection. Only 'Sony TV' does NOT play and keeps saying that it might be raining in our area. But all other channels like 'Colors' comes out fine.

What might be the issue out here?
I booked a visit from TSky technician and he diagnosed the issue as weak signal. He replaced the receiver on the dish, saying it has gone bad. The change brought the channel back. The cost 250/- for receiver and 150/- for the visit.

But, he got a electrical shock touching the metal STB box and he blamed it on the faulty earthing at home.

My question is, we do NOT have any issues with any of our other electrical devices OR gadgets. So, what could be the issue here?
JMaruru is offline  
Old 4th November 2020, 09:26   #752
Distinguished - BHPian
 
hemanth.anand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,971
Thanked: 11,030 Times
Default Re: One Channel having issue in TSky.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
I booked a visit from TSky technician and he diagnosed the issue as weak signal. He replaced the receiver on the dish, saying it has gone bad. The change brought the channel back. The cost 250/- for receiver and 150/- for the visit.

But, he got a electrical shock touching the metal STB box and he blamed it on the faulty earthing at home.

My question is, we do NOT have any issues with any of our other electrical devices OR gadgets. So, what could be the issue here?
Even we faced this issue...Starting with Republic TV and later with many other channels. I could see that the signal strength was was in the settings menu. Scheduled a technician visit. He came wth some device to check signal strenght and diagnosed the cause to the splitter behind the STB (it's a HD+ Box with recording) he came the next day and changed that. The signal improved by a decent margin. Recently, we have got a MDU in our apartment (Multi-Dwelling-Unit) and not individual dishes. He told that after this change, signal strength has reduced in general
hemanth.anand is offline  
Old 4th November 2020, 09:33   #753
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,316
Thanked: 2,702 Times
Default Re: One Channel having issue in TSky.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post

But, he got a electrical shock touching the metal STB box and he blamed it on the faulty earthing at home.

My question is, we do NOT have any issues with any of our other electrical devices OR gadgets. So, what could be the issue here?
The blame is on the STB and not earthing. Because the power adapter of STB is 2 pins, phase and neutral. There is no third earth pin to carry any current leakage to ground. I face this issue in my Tata sky STB and the current Hathaway STB and my Home theater.
sagarpadaki is online now  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks