![]() | #2041 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
I will try the website soon and update the thread for expert consideration. Yeah I saw that lacs thingy too, but those are from call centre gals at the agent, they are not too well versed with english but an earnest effort from them. Quote:
| ||
![]() |
|
![]() | #2042 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2009 Location: Jam-luru
| ![]() Here is a renewal quote from Tata AIG for my 6 yrs old Honda City. Can the gurus comment on the offer. Coverage Package Vehicle Value 2,90,674 Third Party(including PD, if opted) 925 Own Damage 3,241 Personal Accident 250 PA Coverage for Owner-Driver 100 50% Bonus / 0 (Including Service Tax) Amount Payable (Rs.) 5074.00 What other decent places can I shop around for a better offer considering this will be my last yr with this vehicle and I am not interested to pay for any add-ons. |
![]() |
![]() | #2043 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
I'm just astonished by this. I really don't think that insurers in other countries would get away with it ![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #2044 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: Mumbai/USA
| ![]() Quote:
P.S - I like your signature ![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #2045 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Chennai
| ![]() My point is that this charging of "depreciation" is unfair to the extent that it amounts to a scam. How can there be depreciation on plastics that are made to last as long as the rest of the car? How can there be depreciation on the paint, which is made to last as long as the rest of the car? Depreciation can be fairly applied against the whole car, because of course it looses its value over time, as anybody who has ever sold one knows. Thus, it's insured value falls each year, and nobody expects an insurance company to replace a five-yr-old with a brand-new car. Applied to any part of the car, unless that part is known to be short-lived, it is a nonsense. Just an excuse to pay out less. We are small: Insurance companies are huge, multinational maybe. We can do nothing --- I am micturating into the wind (hope the mods allow that expression ![]() (that old Compaq keyboard is getting hot!) . Last edited by Thad E Ginathom : 23rd May 2012 at 19:41. |
![]() |
![]() | #2046 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: All over!
| ![]() My City's Insurance is up for renewal next month. The car will turn 3. Bajaj Allianz has mentioned a quote of ~10k for normal policy and ~13k for zero-dep. Are these quotes fine? Another thing : the agent mentioned that both their policies would cover 100% glass, bumpers, plastics. I knew about glass being covered by thought bumpers/plastics weren't covered. So, is there anything that I need to look out for? She said that nuts would be charged 50% though. Kindly advice. |
![]() |
![]() | #2047 | |||
For the records: * Car sale date: 24th May, 2012. * Insurance expiring on 26th May, 2012. * Insurance renewed on: 25th May, 2012 directly in my name. | |||
![]() |
![]() | #2048 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Mar 2004 Location: Mumbai/USA
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #2049 | |
| |
![]() |
![]() | #2050 |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: Delhi
| ![]() Is it possible? I want to sell my Innova now, but do not want to give away my Insurance as it has NCB along with it. So want to use it for my Next Car. Now the issue is, next car I want to buy in gap of 4-5 months. So the question is, can I hold my Innova insurance for that long and use it for new car after 4-5 months. Does it make sense or sell Innova with Insurance? Will I save some bucks like that or not? |
![]() |
![]() | #2051 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: Kolkata
| ![]() The NCB accrued on your old policy can be transferred to your old policy but I don't know about the time gap. Even you sell the car with insurance policy the buyer will not be able to claim NCB. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #2052 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Check with your insurance company. IIRC, the NCB certificate is valid for 1 year or remaining insurance period, whichever is lesser. | |
![]() |
![]() | #2053 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2010 Location: BLR / BOM
| ![]() My vehicle insurance is due next month. This is going to be my second year of ownership of a Vento TDI HL. In my previous year, I had taken the Pearl Add-on package of Tata AIG with 0% depreciation. I wish to continue the same and have been quoted 25k as the all inclusive amount for the renewal (including the NCB). Here is the breakup -- IDV: 812693.6 Base premium (vehicle+non-electrical accessories): Rs. 19585.92 Less 20.00% for NCB: -3917.18 Depreciation Reimbursement: 3169.51 Loss of personal belongings: 110 Emergency transport and hotel expenses: 110 Key Replacement: 265 TOTAL LIABILITY PREMIUM: 3003.0 TOTAL PREMIUM: 25086.0 Does this sound fair? |
![]() |
![]() | #2054 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2009 Location: Jam-luru
| ![]() Here is a renewal quote from Tata AIG for my 6 yrs old Honda City. Can the gurus comment on the offer. Coverage Package Vehicle Value 2,90,674 Third Party(including PD, if opted) 925 Own Damage 3,241 Personal Accident 250 PA Coverage for Owner-Driver 100 50% Bonus / 0 (Including Service Tax) Amount Payable (Rs.) 5074.00 What other decent places can I shop around for a better offer considering this will be my last yr with this vehicle and I am not interested to pay for any add-ons. |
![]() |
![]() | #2055 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: All over!
| ![]() I am about to finalize the policy renewal for my City (June '10, currently with Bajaj Allianz). Now I was checking the quotes on policybazaar (Considering a comprehensive policy); HDFC and Bharti AXA are within a few hundred rupees of each other (~Rs. 13800) followed by Iffco Tokio and Bajaj Allianz. 1) Now among the advantages of HDFC Ergo is Online Claim Tracking while the rest have 24X7 Claim Support. Does it mean, the others are more convenient? 2) The HDFC policy has a basic premium of ~Rs. 16k and no discount while the others have a basic premium of ~Rs. 19k and then a Rs. 3k discount. Any particular reason, advantage/disadvantage of this? 3) The executive from policybazaar suggested HDFC Ergo or Bharti AXA for a comprehensive policy and Bharti AXA or Tata AIG should I decide for a zero-dep. I know they have their own commissions to think about but is the preference a general opinion? I'd appreciate your views. |
![]() |
![]() |