Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Loans & Insurance

Old 21st June 2024, 23:39   #5671

Re: Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me

Originally Posted by govigov View Post
I can just get a new policy and get done with it, as I am not much interested in Oriental. Can I do that? My contact says, as the details of the existing policy is updated in vaahan, they wont entertain a different policy.

I am at the mercy of this god forsaken office and its branch employees now. What do I do?

PS: The branch is about 25 kms from my place.
If all the formalities of name transfer has been completed at the RTO, then oriental should transfer the policy to your name after charging you for your NCB that the previous owner enjoyed, if any. If they aren’t doing so, then you’ve 2 options. Either involve the ombudsman or get a brand new policy from another insurer.
If the transfer in your name is not completed at the RTO, then please wait till it is done.
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2024, 09:57   #5672

Originally Posted by govigov View Post
I recently bought a used car and it has a policy from oriental insurance company ltd expiring in Nov'24. I am finding it difficult to transfer the name on the policy from the previous holder to my name,
You might like to try :
  • writing to their CS and/or grievance redressal email ids or raising a grievance online. OICL Contact Us page
  • writing on X (twitter) and tagging their handle.
adisan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2024, 17:59   #5673

I intend to lease a vehicle through my company and sell my current car upon receiving the new vehicle. The old car is registered under my name, and I've already paid its insurance premium for the period from July 24 to June 25.

I would like to know how I can utilize the No Claim Bonus (NCB) from my current car's insurance. While the leasing company will handle the insurance for the new vehicle, can I use the NCB to reduce the fleet management charges from the leasing company? These charges cover expenses associated with the lease like insurance, repairs etc.

Thank you.
Old 22nd June 2024, 19:13   #5674

Originally Posted by in_car_nation View Post

I intend to lease a vehicle through my company and sell my current car upon receiving the new vehicle. The old car is registered under my name, and I've already paid its insurance premium for the period from July 24 to June 25.

I would like to know how I can utilize the No Claim Bonus (NCB) from my current car's insurance. While the leasing company will handle the insurance for the new vehicle, can I use the NCB to reduce the fleet management charges from the leasing company? These charges cover expenses associated with the lease like insurance, repairs etc.

Thank you.
First : NCB is for the driver (owner) so new car has to be registered in your name to be able to use the NCB from old car to new car. Is that the case in your lease ?

Secondly : if you pass first criteria, then ideally you can request NCB letter from current insurance company by paying a nominal NCB recovery fee and use that letter to apply NCB while purchasing new car policy. Reality is very different though. You need to run behind the current insurance provider to give you NCB letter. They would keep insisting on proof of sale of car (copy of updated RC with new buyer name) and may frustrate you to the limit that you'll give up. Since you are not going to sell car before new purchase, it will be difficult task. If you are willing to put efforts or can find some agent to do leg work for you, then give it a shot.

Thirdly : Check with leasing company whether they will accept and coordinate with insurance company to apply NCB if you can arrange for NCB letter.

Lastly : Usually it helps if old and new car insurance company is same, that way you have more chances of success. See if its possible in your case.

Wish you good luck and let us know how it goes.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 22nd June 2024 at 19:36.
Old 26th June 2024, 20:17   #5675

My 2022 Kia Carens Prestige insurance is due this July and the dealer also shared some proposals for the insurance which I shared below. Can anyone please help me choose the right one? I appreciate any quick response.

Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me-kiacarensinsurance1.png

Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me-kiacarensinsurance2.png
frez_fr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2024, 11:02   #5676

Originally Posted by frez_fr View Post

My 2022 Kia Carens Prestige insurance is due this July and the dealer also shared some proposals for the insurance which I shared below. Can anyone please help me choose the right one? I appreciate any quick response.
No right or wrong here. First policy has the basics covered. It's up to you to decide if you want the extra add-ons of the other one.

As per my understanding, RTI is a useful addition. Others such as engine, tyre, key protect, etc. can be skipped depending on the roads you drive on and places where you park the car. RSA is standard from Kia for first 3 years, so not really required again.

Last edited by self_driven : 27th June 2024 at 11:04.
self_driven is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th June 2024, 12:19   #5677

Originally Posted by self_driven View Post
No right or wrong here. First policy has the basics covered. It's up to you to decide if you want the extra add-ons of the other one.

As per my understanding, RTI is a useful addition. Others such as engine, tyre, key protect, etc. can be skipped depending on the roads you drive on and places where you park the car. RSA is standard from Kia for first 3 years, so not really required again.
Engine protect cover is a must since it covers sequential damage to engine due to an accident and also water related damage. Now a days water logging is pretty common due to heavy downpour and water ingress can cause severe damage to engine which won't be covered in regular insurance.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 27th June 2024 at 12:21.
Aviator_guy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th June 2024, 12:54   #5678

If a part replaced in an accident, say the bumper, is again damaged in a subsequent accident within the same policy year, will depreciation factor in during the 2nd insurance claim? Shouldn't the bumper, in this case, be treated as a new part < 1 year old?
Old 28th June 2024, 13:29   #5679

Originally Posted by hemant.kamat View Post
If a part replaced in an accident, say the bumper, is again damaged in a subsequent accident within the same policy year, will depreciation factor in during the 2nd insurance claim? Shouldn't the bumper, in this case, be treated as a new part < 1 year old?
Depreciation is considered as per car's age- not part age.

saket77 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2024, 07:17   #5680

My frustrations with accident investigations

I was recently in an accident in my 10 year old Ertiga. No injuries thankfully, but a badly damaged front side of the car. I was crossing a signal on a green light when a lorry with cement rubbish hit me on the side after it jumped a red light

Took the driver to the police station with the owner and got a CSR filed. The police man gives me grief about having to check the CCTV camera which he never did and then sent me on my way with the CSR

The lorry driver and the owner left the station early on. No damage to his lorry but now I have to pay almost 30K for damages to my car. Insurance covers 50% of the total 60K bill because its an old car (10 years) and I am left holding the bill for an accident I didnt cause with no accountability for the other party.

This is extremely frustrating and not the way insurance works else where in the world. Shouldnt the other party be paying for my repairs? What is the procedure to follow in cases like this?
Old 3rd July 2024, 09:03   #5681

My Honda Brio is currently undergoing accident repair. I have a Nil Depreciation Policy with Universal Sompo. My wheels were upgraded from 14 inches to 15 inches, but this was not notified to the insurance company. The insurance claim is in process, and according to the insurance company, the suspension parts cannot be covered under insurance due to the upgraded tyres. Since the damage is predominantly to the suspension components because of the impact, this will likely reduce the claim amount significantly.

What should be the way forward?

Old 3rd July 2024, 21:19   #5682

If my car has a scratch/dent now on a metal panel and I get it fixed + painted in a local shop without involving the insurance provider now, can they deny a future claim for a different case (say an accident) involving that panel for any reason?
Old 5th July 2024, 14:36   #5683

Originally Posted by shrinath_m2 View Post
1. Cashless, direct to service centre.
2. Authorised shop, they do have cashless with HDFC ERGO.
3. HDFC ERGO.
4. Surveyor is saying there will be 5-8% salvage charges.

I have never seen the surveyor, only talked to him once, when he called for document enquiry. So now, I have no copy of bill in my hand yet, however ASS is suggesting I've some payment to make due to this salvage charges.
Also, given that it is a 3 year old vehicle, tyre will be given at only 50%!
Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
AFAIK, salvage comes into picture only for total loss claim when the cost of repair far exceeds the residual value of the car. Please check with the insurance company if any doubt.
Originally Posted by shrinath_m2 View Post
I called them after I heard this from service centre. Insurance folks from sales to surveyor everyone is singing same tune. "It is common to claim salvage of 5% to 8% on deprecated parts depending on age of vehicle."

Somehow this is the first time I am hearing about this.

If you all know this is not the case, let me know

Hello everyone,
I am also in same situation because of this accident https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/road-...ml#post5795146 (Accidents in India | Pics & Videos)

My insurance company is Royal Sundram, I bought it from dealership for ease of claim.

Everything was taken care of without much of the issue but I am being informed that there will be some salvage charges added to total bil along with claim charges.

This was never mentioned before and I had not heard it too.
First time today I talked to surveyor and he said the same thing as above, that parts will have some value and it is given to customer and charged accordingly.

Logically, customer can deny the handover of the parts.
Body shop and everyone at service is in same tune that it is standard procedure.

When asked about document, surveyor said, talk to my manager and he will explain.
Waiting for his contact details.

Meanwhile, could you please help in this situation, no matter what's the price, it seems illegal.

Like forcefully selling some goods to customer and charging them even when they do not need it

Last edited by KumarS : 5th July 2024 at 14:39.
Old 5th July 2024, 17:27   #5684

It's time to renew my 2017 Honda Jazz, IDV 3.9 lakhs, last NCB 20% (bought as a second hand car). Last policy was zero dep from MS Chola.

Comprehensive insurance ICICI Lombard Rs.6800
Zero dep, engine protect plus comprehensive:
Rs. 16000 from ICICI Lombard, 17000 from MS Chola.

Being a 6 year old car, zero dep is so costly.

What should I go with given the steep difference in prices? Kindly help.
Old 5th July 2024, 18:50   #5685

Originally Posted by KumarS View Post
Everything was taken care of without much of the issue but I am being informed that there will be some salvage charges added to total bil along with claim charges.

This was never mentioned before and I had not heard it too.
First time today I talked to surveyor and he said the same thing as above, that parts will have some value and it is given to customer and charged accordingly.

Logically, customer can deny the handover of the parts.
Body shop and everyone at service is in same tune that it is standard procedure.

When asked about document, surveyor said, talk to my manager and he will explain.
Waiting for his contact details.

Meanwhile, could you please help in this situation, no matter what's the price, it seems illegal.

Like forcefully selling some goods to customer and charging them even when they do not need it
Yup. It’s a shocker and caught me blindsided. I was getting 3k change for a lot of metal, which felt like cheating. This whole thing left a bad taste and I wanted to just be done with it. I paid the charges and took my vehicle.

It is daylight robbery. Can something be done about it? I don’t know.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com