Old 29th August 2013, 13:35   #166

re: BMW to launch the 1 Series later in 2013*UPDATE: Now launched*

Great to see the 1 series coming to our shores.
I have a question -
I'm seeing the 1-series commercial doing rounds in a famous Digital TV channel where our master blaster and other participants taking rounds in the 1 series.
I noticed that the exhaust (with an excellent sound) of the car was a sports one. Is that the M-1 they are showcasing ? or, the the regular 1-series?
Old 30th August 2013, 01:55   #167

Originally Posted by VernaCular View Post

With the plunging dollar set to maintain its position in the near foreseeable future, we could expect some American beasts like Dodge entering the market maybe? This could be one of the strategy to control the dollar and open up the Auto industry in India.
Won't the plunging Rupee have an adverse affect of higher manufacturing costs, higher importing costs and all this would lead to the increase in Ex-Showroom price which would increase the OTR price causing lower sales of cars/bikes?

I am waiting when all the manufactures will increase the Car/Bike/CV segemnt prices. Diesel and petrol will anyway keep sky-rocketing.

Anurag.
Old 30th August 2013, 21:42   #168
vij

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Won't the plunging Rupee have an adverse affect of higher manufacturing costs, higher importing costs and all this would lead to the increase in Ex-Showroom price which would increase the OTR price causing lower sales of cars/bikes?
Yes, this could push the base petrol closer to 22lac - or perhaps the launch price will be unaffected but they could later revise it.

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
I am waiting when all the manufactures will increase the Car/Bike/CV segemnt prices. Diesel and petrol will anyway keep sky-rocketing.
Anurag.
eh? Why are you "waiting" for this?
Old 30th August 2013, 22:06   #169

Originally Posted by vij View Post
eh? Why are you "waiting" for this?
I'm in the market for new car so I don't want the prices to increase. Simple.

In waiting to see when it is announced.

Anurag.
Old 3rd September 2013, 13:32   #170

BMW 1 Series launched from INR 20.9 lakhs.

The petrol 1 Series which goes by 116i will come with a 1.6-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine producing 136bhp and 220Nm of torque. An 8-speed automatic transmission sends power to the rear wheels and an ARAI certified fuel economy of 16.28km/l is being claimed. 0-100k/h takes 8.7 seconds and the top-speed is 210km/h.

The diesel 1 Series, 118d, gets a 2.0-liter four-cylinder motor that we’re accustomed to seeing in the X1, 3 Series and the base 5 Series. With a tuning optimized for economy, the 118d produces 143bhp and 320Nm. The 8-speed auto and rear wheel drive arrangement is maintained while the ARAI rates it at 20.58km/l. 0-100km/h takes 8.6 seconds and the top-speed is 212km/h.
  • BMW 1 Series Petrol 116i – INR 20.9 lakhs
  • BMW 1 Series Diesel 118d – INR 22.9 lakhs
  • BMW 1 Series Diesel 118d Sportline – INR 25.9 lakhs
  • BMW 1 Series Diesel 118d Sportline Plus – INR 29.9 lakhs
All prices are ex-Showroom
While the Sportline gets 17-inch alloys, the Plus gets 18-inch and the other editions do with 16-inches.

Last edited by volkman10 : 3rd September 2013 at 13:35.
volkman10 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2013, 13:45   #171

Originally Posted by mikon View Post
I'm seeing the 1-series commercial doing rounds in a famous Digital TV channel where our master blaster and other participants taking rounds in the 1 series.
I noticed that the exhaust (with an excellent sound) of the car was a sports one. Is that the M-1 they are showcasing ? or, the the regular 1-series?
The M1 is a supercar.

The blue car in the commercial is a M135i. The exhaust sounds great because it's a proper BMW in-line-6 hard at work.

Note from Mod: Please continue the discussion in our launch report thread

Last edited by Rehaan : 3rd September 2013 at 19:48. Reason: Adding closing note. ;)
suhaas307 is offline   (3) Thanks