Old 8th July 2015, 13:29   #1621

Re: The 2015 Honda Jazz (3rd-gen)

Price comparison of Jazz Vs. Elite i20. Price premium over i20 is not what I expected that too 36k to 54k for top variant. Other variants thankfully is on par with Elite i20.

The 2015 Honda Jazz (3rd-gen)-jazz-i20.png

Ex-showroom Delhi price

Last edited by damager21 : 8th July 2015 at 13:57.
damager21 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:29   #1622

@ CrAzY dRiVeR: Difference is much slimmer in all other variants (other than the top). Some of them are nearly on par with each other.
Old 8th July 2015, 13:29   #1623

Originally Posted by ashwin.terminat View Post
Honda Jazz Prices:

Petrol i-VTEC CVT

S Grade: 6,99,000
V Grade: 7,85,000
The CVT V would end up being 9.2L to 9.5L OTR Pune. That's pretty steep.
Old 8th July 2015, 13:30   #1624

Looks like Honda's strategy was to get ONLY the starting price very close to i20's and then variant to variant increase the price much higher.

I feel the diesel V and VX are over priced by at least 30k. Elite i20 retails at 8.05 L for Asta variant and I do not think Jazz has enough to claim a premium of 50k over i20 Asta. Disappointed with the pricing especially the diesel variants. In fact i20 Active SX is priced at 8.89 L which makes it much more VFM IMO. Why Honda, Why? Why another pricing fiasco.

Even the CVT looks like over-priced by 20k. Premium of over 1 lakh is not a great strategy IMO. Have to see how many booking actually gets converted to sales after the price reveals.

What is this new nonsense of charging 1.2 - 1.3 lakhs more for the diesel? It was exactly a lakh when the Amaze was launched (same engines).
20-30k for the extra gear ratio??

Last edited by Vigkey : 8th July 2015 at 13:34.
Vigkey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:32   #1625

I just got off the phone with a couple of Honda dealers in Bangalore. Both didnt know the price details. I logged in here and got the ex-showroom prices, I should ask them to log onto TBHP and take the details

Given these prices, I am mighty tempted to swing away from the Polo GT TSI that I was leaning towards for the convenience of the automatic.
Old 8th July 2015, 13:32   #1626

Price comparison with Elite i20 :

Petrol MT
Jazz Elite i20
E 5,30,900 Era *530,476
S 5,94,000 Magna *584,486
SV 6,44,900, Sportz *635,266
V 6,79,900 Sportz(O) *670,696
VX* 7,29,000* Asta *693,547
Diesel MT
Jazz Elite i20
E 6,49,900 Era *641,644
S 7,14,000 Magna *695,916
SV 7,64,900 Sportz *750,184
V 8,09,900 Sportz(O) *782,535
VX* 8,59,000 Asta *805,495

All prices EX showroom Delhi.

Mods please delete as comparison posted above

Last edited by ckranjan : 8th July 2015 at 13:34.
ckranjan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:34   #1627

Hmm seeing the pricing it looks like Honda are clearly not aiming at big numbers for the Jazz. Maybe they have production constraints and would rather sell lower numbers with good margins.

Also its clear they did not want to price Jazz close to Amaze and lower it sales (further!). Amaze must be bringing them more profit than Jazz will. City will still sell in great numbers in our boot crazy country.
heavenlybull is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:35   #1628

Well Honda has given me some relief and peace of mind. I was thinking of exchanging my manual 3rd gen Honda City (Dec 2011) with a VX CVT Jazz. Now that that option doesn't exist and none of the CVT variants get Magic Seats, I can rest easy and keep my car for a few more years! Now that I think of it, I love the way the sweet 1.5 Ltr iVTEC engine purrs!

Last edited by prafulasher : 8th July 2015 at 13:38.
prafulasher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:36   #1629

this is disastrous pricing BIG LOL. They have made the same mistake which they have made earlier. Top end version its overpriced by 50k.

Thanks got i booked elite i20 asta which costed me 8.44 with 5 years warranty , same thing if i had done for Honda Jazz then it would have costed me 9L Plus.

Good i saved around 60-70k. All i can say is BIG FLOP Show by them again.
anks22402 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:39   #1630

Looking at the pricing, Jazz will surely cannibalize Amaze to quite an extent. And the top end Jazz models might also sway some buyers away from the Honda City IMO.
With a staggering 95% localization, I am pretty sure the pricing could have been lower? But that would've proved more disastrous for the Amaze than what it already will be.

Why no Automatic in a fully loaded variant?
Old 8th July 2015, 13:39   #1631

That seems to be the exact strategy. Customer walks in the showroom for Jazz. Sees Amaze with a boot(which is clearly still a fascination in our nation) is actually cheaper than Jazz. Books Amaze instead, crappy interiors be damned. Jazz sales may not fly as i20 is a better option imo considering the price but will surely help Amaze regain some volumes.

I am sure most City owners must be fuming as spending 4 lac extra for just a boot looks so ridiculous now.

Last edited by harry10 : 8th July 2015 at 13:42.
harry10 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:42   #1632

@ CrAzY dRiVeR: Difference is much slimmer in all other variants (other than the top). Some of them are nearly on par with each other.
Here's a quick comparo of the diesel variant prices. i20 being the direct premium hatch competition, Honda City being the booted version and the Suzuki Ertiga being the competion for people aiming squarely at the practical side.

The 2015 Honda Jazz (3rd-gen)-jazz.jpg

Jazz Diesel top end is 859000/-. Forgot to leave space for the Tbhp logo.

Of course, this doesn't take into account the features present across various cars. From a quick look, I think i20 base variants are better loaded than Jazz, while Jazz top variant gets some more goodies.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 8th July 2015 at 13:46.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:43   #1633

The Jazz is way too overpriced for what it offers. VX diesel should have been 8.00 L Ex Showroom.
No Honda, I am not paying that kind of money for your jazz.
Crazy_Bean is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th July 2015, 13:43   #1634

Let us see with the bookings now how many of them translate to sales.

Jazz fate could be sealed with the upcoming 2 launches from competition and how closely they will be priced especially in the diesel variant.

Now Amaze looks to be VFM.
Old 8th July 2015, 13:46   #1635
gpa

I was eagerly waiting for this launch and am disappointed on two aspects. First, no auto in the diesel segment and second, the absurd pricing with over a lakh premium for the diesel. Looks like you have not learnt from your past mistakes Honda.
gpa is offline   (1) Thanks