Old 4th June 2015, 13:40   #241

re: Maruti Celerio to get 800 cc diesel engine. EDIT: Now launched!

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
People here are complaining about the 2 cylinders and comparing it to a what a auto rickshaw.

This is the engine which has been targeted towards the mass market. Suddenly the common man could have a diesel engine which is the flavour of the market. If the price is sensitive then Maruti could take corrections. But writing it off just because it's a 2 cylinder and ridiculing it by comparing it to a autorickshaw is not fare to MS.
Sumeeth, it is not just people comparing the engine to an auto engine, it is actually an engine designed with an Auto in mind - Maruthi themselves have stated that this same engine will do duty in their upcoming load carrier.

When people can and people do compare Nano engine to an Auto engine just because of the sound, even though it is much refined to an auto engine and the engine do not do duty on any auto, I fail to see how it becomes unfair to compare the twin cylinder engine of Celerio to an auto (especially since this will be doing duty in an atuo and was developed with that in mind).

But I do agree with you - this will set the sales chart on fire and Maruthi's cash registers will be ringing. Now all they need is to mate this with an AMT and people will queue up outside the Maruthi Showroom to buy it.

Originally Posted by SchumiFan View Post
For those saying, it will sell well because its a Maruti; I can only say that the name has to be earned. If people buy it just because its a Maruti, it shows the work done by the company in winning over the customers. Nothing is stopping other manufacturers from doing the same. Until then, Maruti will reign supreme.
+1000 to this. It is one thing to have a car which ticks many of the boxes, but it is entirely another game is to make the customer trust the brand. Maruthi (and to an extent, Hyundai) are the pioneers in this and the trust the mass market have on them is well earned.
--Anoop

Last edited by theexperthand : 4th June 2015 at 13:45.
Old 4th June 2015, 13:51   #242

Originally Posted by SchumiFan View Post
This is low cost alternative to those who want a Diesel powered car with reasonable amount of sophistication. It is cheaper than the Beat by 40-50K and when buying a car for 5-6L, 10% of the total value is a big number.

Those who have money to spare wouldn't even be looking at this car in the first place.
With all due respect , a car which costs 10 % cheaper does not mean you plonk a 2 cylinder engine to the car .

But I have to agree with you on one part here .The common man does not care about what engine configuration it is or how much loud the engine is as long as its a maruti. Everyone starts complaining when a brand like TATA comes out with a 2 cylinder saying that its an auto but the same norm is fine if it comes in a maruti.
I am not saying celerio diesel is bad .. but its not worth for the price that you pay.
Old 4th June 2015, 16:40   #243

All these efforts to make personal travel affordable and reliable by companies like TML and MSIL is giving sleepless nights to many insurance companies.
We talk about economy of scale which has a positive impact in almost all tangents (IT / communication etc) being few examples with which everyone can relate, whereas automotive insurance has taken a U-turn with induction of new vehicles

- The road infrastructure (both within and outside of city limits) has not improved in comparison to mass induction.
- These so called affordable cars are more vulnerable to even small accidents and require major repairs as they are made to cost with cheapest possible material and workmanship resulting in increased number of claims for major repairs and total loss of vehicles.

The ministry of transport and automotive industry body like SIAM are not looking at these aspects and letting these "tin cans" to run on roads with minimum shell / body strength; there are no guiding principles in India on the tensile strength of materials used in automotive sector along with allied material used for construction.

Cheaper cars (M-800) even resorted to the usage of cardboard for the inner lining of door panels. MSIL has given targets to its vendors on reduction of material consumption in every component that is being supplied for manufacturing cars (and this specific material consumed targets are set at the start of every new year).

We are heading to possible new choices for personal mobility, how safe that is seems to be least of our concerns !
i74js is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th June 2015, 16:58   #244

Originally Posted by Vigkey View Post
No ways Dr. Suraj. Polo engine was always criticized for being noisy and overall for its poor NVH. It was a generation old engine and that was a widely accepted fact. Again, as a neutral forum, we hear both positives and negatives about the 2 cylinder DDiS here. I am pretty sure no one has gone real WOW here.
Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
I thought quite the opposite. Come to think of it, it was not as bad. Yes; it is noisy and won't be nominated as one of the refined diesels around. Drive one or observe the car move and it is far from bad. Provided you don't wring it, it will get the job done quite easily. Much like what the Celerio will surely achieve with its new diesel engine. What I can't digest is the price and that is the same thing I felt when VW were selling a 3 pot diesel in their little hatch.
Originally Posted by Nick_Wanderlust View Post
Doc. This sentence really had spill my stomach with laugh.
This has brought my memories back when my cousin had bought VW polo. I had told him that it is bit noisy engine being 3 cylinder engine. He had shrug it off and said "It is VW!!"

Unity in diversity!

Which is why I love TeamBHP.

If there is any automobile manufacturing company out there today, that is still passionate about making good automobiles - and not just doling out 'assembly line' products that sell - all they have to do is come over to TeamBHP and read the different, contrasting - yet evolving opinions poured out here.

Sadly, this will always be a dream.
It is India after all. Volumes. Masses. Herd mentality rule the roost.
Despite the strong onslaught of information available at hand, the Indian consumer seems to be more content buying the same piece of tin & 4 wheels that is either owned by his neighbour / relative or atleast respected by the same neighbour / relative. Without thinking even once - whether he really likes and 'enjoys' that car, or was it the best 'car' for him and his family needs.

@ Vigkey - my comment - Wow it s a VW - was definitely NOT for the engine - but for the way people received & perceived the product (as compared to the Beat - especially given the gross price difference)

@ sandeepmohan - even the Nano does the 'job' as long as you don't wring it. The Beat & the Spark did it too. The Celerio - for the 'diesel' factor - same 'job' is done by the Indica eV2 too - albeit cheaper, more space, bluetooth & all 4 power windows.
It's not about doing a job, it's about bringing in a new product. Something new, something superior, something revolutionary or at least evolutonary. It it's none of the above, then it should at least be priced right.

@ Nick_Wanderlust - that is precisely what I was referring. You, my friend, got the point right on the dot! Thank you!
Dr.Suraj is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th June 2015, 16:59   #245

Originally Posted by i74js View Post
All these efforts to make personal travel affordable and reliable by companies like TML and MSIL is giving sleepless nights to many insurance companies.
We talk about economy of scale which has a positive impact in almost all tangents (IT / communication etc) being few examples with which everyone can relate, whereas automotive insurance has taken a U-turn with induction of new vehicles
I did not find any news item which says automotive insurance is taking a beating due to introduction of the new vehicles. Would you please share the link for better understanding?

On a side note, I think using one of these 'tin cans' is much safer option than travelling with family on a bike.
Old 4th June 2015, 17:38   #246

I think Maruti is trying to take an effort to boost the sales of the Chevy Beat . In all honesty why would anyone pay over 7 lakh rupees (OTR BLR) for a 2 cylinder motor which at best sounds like a gruffer version of the Tata Ace and gives maybe 1-2 KMPL more than the Beat does?? Considering the Beat almost always has decent deals and the LT(opt) would land very close to the celerio diesel in terms of final price.

Plonking a 2 cylinder diesel in a car was a big blunder in the first place and to price it like they have is absolute stupidity.

Having said what I have, I do believe in the saying "To each his own"
Old 5th June 2015, 05:53   #247

Re: Maruti Celerio to get 800 cc diesel engine. EDIT: Now launched!

The value factor of this car is fuel efficiency not vehicle efficiency, you have a Figo in the same price range (Karnataka only) then the Bolt, Zest and Grand i10. The pricing is really bad as Celerio diesel is just a grown up bike with 4 wheels. People may still buy it but Maruti will bring out a 3 cylinder version of this in near future.
Old 5th June 2015, 22:03   #248
RSR

It has been over two days since the diesel Celerio went on sale officially, but there are hardly any reviews by car magazines and automotive websites. Normally, every other news website tends to feature a review (either their own or a borrowed one) of a newly launched car.

I believe Maruti Suzuki have gone for a soft launch this time without conducting a company sponsored media drive event. Even the Autocarindia first drive featured a Celerio VDi, as they may have driven a car provided by the local dealership.

@ Mods - I guess you guys may somehow find a way to review the diesel Celerio, and add it to the official Celerio test drive thread (just like with the petrol Ciaz).

My request - please include a video recording of the two-pot diesel engine's acoustic characteristics, just like the one for Beat TCDi in the following post. Thank you!

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...ml#post2429641

Last edited by RSR : 5th June 2015 at 22:22.
RSR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th June 2015, 19:14   #249

Short test drive of the smallest diesel engined car.

I was itching to drive this car since i wanted to feel how a twin cylinder diesel would be in a car.
I was expecting to hear the car before seeing it, but the showroom person reversed the car towards me! I was also telling a friend accompanying me to keep a ear for the sound . I have never driven the Celerio petrol, so this was a first.

Drove around 100 meters with the windows down . The diesel clatter and the whine was very audible and the vibrations were quite a bit, especially in idle.
Rolled up the windows, and the sound reduced quite a bit, especially the whine and the vibrations reduced as well as the engine warmed up.
With the AC on, which is a chiller, and the windows up, the twin cylinder firing was very audible and my friend who was in the front passenger seat was looking at me like why is a car sounding like this. But, all this is in low rpm. As soon as the turbo kicks in, all the noise becomes hurried and actually reduces a bit. It is actually not an annoying type of noise , but yes, the idle and pre-turbo clatter can be annoying and surprising to some.

The fun starts when the turbo kicks in and I feel that is exactly what Maruti intended in naming this car Celerio '125'.
The turbo actually helps in propelling this car to a decent speed but immediately flattens out thanks to the twin cylinder. Clutch travel is long and first gear slotting is rough. From there on with rpms up a bit , gear shift is smooth and has a good feel to it.
Although I got to drive the car around 3-4 kms, I couldn't go above third gear. I was in second most of the time and didn't need to move to first until i had to stop. Turbo lag is at the minimal and the torque from the diesel will not make you feel like waiting for the turbo as much as some other bigger diesels and like I said the turbo actually is reason anyone will actually go for this car since it won't make the driver feel like he is driving a tiny engined car.

I really wanted to take it on a flyover close by and floor it to see how far the boost will take me, but couldn't since the car wasn't registered. But from a short gas pedal mash I did, it picked up quite fast with minimal turbo lag which actually makes it a fun city car.
I can see lot of cabbies for this car like Ola, Uber etc. It has enough and more speed to drive around in city and of course the super gas mileage which Maruti is betting on with this car.

The downer is the pricing. I don't understand a common man going for this car which is priced at Rs5.83 lac Ldi. And there is no mention of two cylinder anywhere. Even the showroom person who I was talking to, didn't tell me until I told him that and he acknowledged. They have no mention of the engine size or power output in their ads or brochure, only torque is mentioned.
There is nothing wrong with the powerplant per se. Even looking at the engine bay, it is difficult for a lay man to note it is twin cylinder.
It is a good second car for city use.
You will not feel at loss in city , but that twin cylinder clatter can put off many.

I also feel this engine is rightly slotted into the Celerio. I don't think it would feel right in an Alto or for that matter even a Wagon R.
Maruti Celerio to get 800 cc diesel engine. EDIT: Now launched!-img_20150606_184710.jpg  

Last edited by tharian : 6th June 2015 at 19:18.
tharian is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 7th June 2015, 12:36   #250

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Considering my current trouble with Grand i10, was very eager to have a look at Celerio diesel. Earlier also, I had a look at it, but it was in basement.
Today I visited a dealer and took a few shots which are attached herewith.

The car was parked in dealership drive-way and the dealership is located on busy Gorwa Road. No basement noise feel this time.
A salesperson was showing Celerio diesel to a customer and I poked in the conversation, straight away asking the salesperson to start the motor.
At idle and with AC at blower speed 2, the noise was 59 dB, measured by my phone app.
At around sustained full throttle, it was 73 dB. Screen shots attached.
Windows were rolled up and no music system.

I tried to feel the noise, but atleast at idle it was reasonably refined. Not bad at all. It wont feel that bad IMO. On the road it might be a different feeling. Ac + music + noise of outside horns + road noise and diesel motor noise could be less of a bother, just my estimate.

Note that during my earlier basement visit of celerio diesel, engine was cold. This car that I could sample out today was with a warm engine and had 40 kms. on odo already. Yes, its noisy, but not unbearable. Was way too hungry after office for a nice test drive.

Could be a volume grabber I can say from my today's feel. Ofcourse, we need to wait for a TBHP review, and have test drive ourselves too for final evaluation.

My phone is Nov 2014 Xiomi Redmi 1s, the application is sound meter lite. If I get opportunity, shall update with my Grand i10 reading also with same phone and app. Outside temperature could in range of 38 when I took the two screen shots attached.
Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Attached herewith are the reading of my Grand i10 diesel.
Road : Less traffic
Ambient temperature : 32 Deg. C
Phone and app are the same.

My Grand i10 has done 685X kms. Celerio is not a bad performer when it comes to noise given the price which is lower than Grand i10.
Sorry to quote long post. Sound levels (Db) are always logarithmic in function, which means raise of every 3db sound is doubled. After seeing the difference between grand i10 and celerio diesel decibel meter the difference is very huge to ignore
vijaycool is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2015, 13:27   #251

Originally Posted by RSR;372411
My request - please include a video recording of the two-pot diesel engine's acoustic characteristics, just like the one for Beat TCDi in the following post. Thank you!

[url
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/104484-chevrolet-beat-tcdi-diesel-test-drive-review.html#post2429641[/url]
shows a comparison with Swift 4 cylinder. For me, it sounds much better than my expectations from a 2 cylinder engine.
amalji is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2015, 13:49   #252

Originally Posted by amalji View Post
For me, it sounds much better than my expectations from a 2 cylinder engine.
Sorry, but a Mahindra Maxximo sounds better.
Old 7th June 2015, 14:03   #253

Originally Posted by vijaycool View Post
Sorry to quote long post. Sound levels (Db) are always logarithmic in function, which means raise of every 3db sound is doubled. After seeing the difference between grand i10 and celerio diesel decibel meter the difference is very huge to ignore
That is not totally true. Sound levels are measured in logarithmic dB when calculating sound transmission loss (STL) as per 1/3 octave scale. For the common mobile phones app, it is purely dB. But yes, the engine is noisy.
Carophilic is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2015, 05:32   #254

GOSH, I just could not resist posting a reply here !

Y 2015 - 2 Cylinder 800 CC, 47 DEAD horses, 60% of a million bucks !!

Someone who has been bankrupt since 2012 in the Mecca of automobiles !!!

Made of sheet that would be thinner than the ones used for Coke Cans !!!!

What on earth is happening, if someone loves diesel that much, please go DRINK it, but please do not splurge hard earned money on what is being thrown at us by these guys.

It is one word that has always killed the Indian Automobile Market - "Mileage". RD would be the best example.

This thing needs to go!

Suzuki you guys are milking the cow man by these absurd launches.

PS: Thoughts are mine, no offense to any potential buyer or owner.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 8th June 2015 at 08:39. Reason: Please refrain from using profanity indirectly or otherwise. Thanks!
Torquedo is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th June 2015, 05:57   #255

The engine noise outside is simply maddening- it has the potential to blow off your ear drums. The Engine noise will be the sole deal breaker for this car, and a major one at that. I can't see any potential family buyers for this car. However I must add that the interior noise insulation is superb and it sounds much refined from behind the wheel.
Here are two videos which I received on a Whatsapp group- do have a look

Shashi

Last edited by Leoshashi : 8th June 2015 at 06:00.
Leoshashi is offline   (19) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com