Re: Scoop! Skoda Kodiaq Facelift prices leaked. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 34.99 lakh This is my first post, thanks to Team-BHP to have accepted my registration
On Thursday, I got an opportunity to test drive Kodiaq and Tiguan back to back. Going against the wave, I know many fans here have been waiting on Kodiaq since 2 years, like me. Must say that I was underwhelmed by Kodiaq after the long wait, and by no means was I overwhelmed by Tiguan.
For attributes that matters to me, my comparison below; My reasons for Kodiaq over Tiguan Styling – Love the way Kodiaq looks. It’s a head turner period! Tiguan doesn’t stand a chance on the looks compared to its big and handsome cousin. Comfort – Ventilated seats (I can live without it), power nap package (comes really handy in those long drives), Wireless Apple Car play and Android Auto (I really want this feature in my next car), Wireless charger (no body likes wired charging in cars), electric front passenger seat adjustment (not important for me). All these features exists in Kodiaq and not in Tiguan which makes Kodiaq easier to live with. I’m really upset with VW to not have offered the same (at least wireless charger and wireless Apple car play). Also to note, under thigh support is better in Kodiaq. Dashboard Layout – Found the one of Kodiaq better. It looks luxurious compared to Tiguan’s very bland styling. My reasons for Tiguan over Kodiaq Driving experience– Same in Tiguan for Rupees 9lacs less. I test drove for approx. 20 kms on the same stretch of road with the mix of city traffic and clear highway, I could not tell the difference. I have seen many posts describing the suspension of Tiguan to be bone jarring, I would not agree to that. Though in city, Kodiaq felt a tad softer, but the Tiguan’s is just fine. Missus and I couldn’t tell the difference with 3 settings of adaptive suspension. They were at the back seat. Mileage – Same driving style, same stretch of road, similar traffic. At the end, Kodiaq was at 5.8 and Tiguan 9.5. Wonder why. Infotainment – I found Kodiaq infotainment to be very slow to respond. Tiguan’s infotainment was faster to the touch and felt slick. I felt the infotainment of Kodiaq is one generation before (cannot validate). I agree with others who have pointed out that the 8 inch screen looks really tiny in Kodiaq, it really does. Still tiny for Tiguan, but because of the dashboard layout, doesn’t bother me. Digital instrument cluster – Even though size of the cluster between the two cousins are same, Tiguan’s cluster looked sophisticated while Kodiaq’s looked funky, like the one in Taigun with the bigger screen. I also found Tiguan one’s to be more user friendly. Rear seat comfort – I will never use the last row of Kodiaq. I feel Kodiaq’s rear seat is compromised slightly to accommodate 6th & 7th seat. Tiguan’s rear seat felt more spacious for both legroom and headroom. Also, I really liked to be able to fold the front passenger seat backrest. My usual long distance drive set up with my wife and kid at the back, this feature will make it very airy for them, though not sure if it will compromise the safety. Will look for it. Headlights – One is Tiguan looks better. Also since Tiguan’s matrix lights is more advanced than the adaptive LEDs of Kodiaq, should work better. Could not test it as my drive was in the afternoon. Interior Color – Living in a sea of beige for last decade, anything but beige will do. Kodiaq could have scored here if they offered brown OR black in the L&K variant. I’m not up for the sport seats at my age. Kodiaq and Tiguan on par Speakers - I am a music fanatic, though not audiophile, I like it bass heavy. I really thought the 8 speakers of Tiguan will not stand a chance, but both did really well. I mean it. Canton fans – please excuse my ignorance. I tested speakers for at least 10 min in both cars playing various genres. My take
I really wanted to love the Kodiaq, and I think I do, but my mind cannot get over the fact that, I will have to pay 9lacs more than Tiguan. In Bombay, Tiguan on-road is 38.3, Kodiaq with its price hike will be around 47. With that said, I’m leaning towards Tiguan, but the decision is still not final. I can see why Kodiaq is a hit, when the exterior styling is so handsome, you overlook everything else, but for me, it does not justify the premium.
Talking about the price hike, I think it was very shameful for Skoda to have hiked the prices effective Day 3. C’mon Skoda – this is unethical. Skoda could have opened pre-booking for a week at least and called it an “introductory price” only during that week. Nor Skoda is coming out in the media to announce the same. Ad to top it up, their sales force are equally embarrassed about it and don’t agree with this move. |