Old 23rd February 2011, 19:37   #706

Re: SX4 Diesel - Is it on the cards? Update: Now launched

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
I understand that you will disclose the fact of test drive at the right time, but, I feel this time it is the Gen2 Swift (could match t he interiors of the car with the Autocar review of the same.
That's Kizashi. Compare the pics.

Suzuki Kizashi Test drive, review | Autocar India
Old 23rd February 2011, 20:09   #707

Originally Posted by mukeshgoel View Post
That's Kizashi. Compare the pics.

Suzuki Kizashi Test drive, review | Autocar India
Yes you are right, but there are following factors that guided my post:
1. I am yet to read the Autocar review of Kizashi. Probaly because I find TBHP reviews more reliable.

2. Shape of the OVRM.

3. Swift Glam edition had beige interiors.
Old 23rd February 2011, 20:13   #708

Originally Posted by fuel_addict View Post
I'm sure this diesel variant will have a long delivery time. Looking at the pricing, it looks a tad overpriced IMO. Especially when you can buy a Vento TDi for around the same price. Leaving aside VW's A-S-S and supposedly higher ownership cost, the Vento has a better engine, is a newer car and has a better brand image. And it looks much better too. I wish Maruti had looked at a 1.6L or a 1.9L diesel engine for the SX4. Then the current pricing would have looked a lot more attractive.

One thing that the SX4 diesel will do is increase SX4 sales overall which have been dismal so far. The Linea, Manza, Vento and City will have stiffer competition.
Fuel Addict,
SX4 sales can by no means classified as Dismal. It sells betwwen 1500-2000 units /month which is second only to the City. With the Diesel variant now available it will definitely sell close to 3500-4000 mark.

the Vento may be a good and a better car. MSIL offers an overall package with service and the trust the brand commands in the market.

VW also will lose sales as it has not been able to ramp up production of the car. These are exciting times and all Car Makers will be on their toes. With the new Fiesta and Verna slated to be launched the customer will be spoilt for choice.

I just hope that the Finance Minister does not play the party pooper by increasing the taxes on Diesel powered cars.
Old 24th February 2011, 09:18   #709

Correct me if am wrong ..

If the same 1248 cc engine that is used in Swift / Dzire DDIS is being used in SX4 Diesel, wont it make the car underpowered (even if the Power and torque are in a higher range) ??

IVB
Old 24th February 2011, 10:07   #710

Originally Posted by INDIAN_VAGABOND View Post

If the same 1248 cc engine that is used in Swift / Dzire DDIS is being used in SX4 Diesel, wont it make the car underpowered (even if the Power and torque are in a higher range) ??

IVB
This is one of the biggest concerns we have been discussing. Since the power alone directly will not make a car underpowered or a stonker. Rather its the power to weight ratio, gear ratios etc that would make a car fun to drive. But whoever has driven this car has commented that the car is not a stonker, but have rated the driveability quite decent. We will have to wait for a fully fledged TD report though. Did I read the 0-100 time to be 14.xx seconds for SX4 D ?
Old 24th February 2011, 10:38   #711

This is one of the biggest concerns we have been discussing. Since the power alone directly will not make a car underpowered or a stonker. Rather its the power to weight ratio, gear ratios etc that would make a car fun to drive. But whoever has driven this car has commented that the car is not a stonker, but have rated the driveability quite decent. We will have to wait for a fully fledged TD report though. Did I read the 0-100 time to be 14.xx seconds for SX4 D ?
I think the driveability in the city traffic will be better or equals to the Linea MJD, having driven Linea MJD for quite a few Kilometers in the City traffic i can say that driving the Linea is a breeze in the city.

I would reserve my comment on the SX4 DDiS driveability in the city untill i TD the car this weekend.

Petrol SX4 owners, kindly comment on the Highway manners & High speed stability of the Car, how is it ? as the Diesel cousin should also behave in the similar manner, does the increased weight of the diesel engine has a role to play in the high speed stability ?
Old 24th February 2011, 10:44   #712

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Sorry to disappoint you guys..SX4 diesel TD car not arrived on time but had this car for the past two days and just returned, so Suzuki fans can expect this soon, by later tonight

Litrelly had a blast driving this.
Cant wait for the Sidindica review of the Kizashi! hurry please!
Old 24th February 2011, 10:46   #713

Originally Posted by Mafia View Post
Cant wait for the Sidindica review of the Kizashi! hurry please!
This won't happen as Sid is off to Pune now. BTW, we better get a detailed official TD report from GTO instead.
Old 24th February 2011, 12:15   #714

sidindica has already put up the Kizashi test drive & review
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ve-review.html
Old 24th February 2011, 15:59   #715

Yes its a 1.3 L DDiS engine with VGT, power is 90 PS @ 4000 rpm, Torque is 200 Nm @ 1750 rpm. Heard it also has 16 inches alloy. Dont know if they are providing it for base models. I will however wait for the HOT looking 1.6 L engine Verna
Old 24th February 2011, 22:32   #716

Originally Posted by INDIAN_VAGABOND View Post

IVB
Did you ask the same when the Linea/Manza were launched? They are no slouch, and so is the SX4 D!
Old 25th February 2011, 10:59   #717

So here goes the SX4 Diesel TD report from ODMAG.

Old 25th February 2011, 11:07   #718

Is it me or?

Except for the engine the car looks fantastic atleast from the pictures in the website and has enough features that makes me wonder if SX4 Diesel is the real competetion for the Kizashi now

The Engine is a joke.

6L on a desire vs 10L on a SX4 for the features???
Old 25th February 2011, 12:03   #719

There is a half page advertisement in TOI Bangalore edition today. Also saw a TV advertisement in NDTV today morning.
However I am still not finding the TD car in Bimal airport road, been checking it while passing on road. Will enquire over weekend.
Old 25th February 2011, 12:14   #720

Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
The Engine is a joke.

6L on a desire vs 10L on a SX4 for the features???
I agree totally. For 15 more horses and slightly better looks, 4 lacs is too much to ask for.