Old 21st April 2009, 21:09   #211

Originally Posted by Joe-Ker View Post
I Think throttler is right here.
This just may be the W201 model that is being developed as Mahindra's World Car.Its primary aim is to crack the US market i hear.

Nice to see an indian car company having global aspirations.
Throttler has been giving credible information about Mahindra so I guess he has his sources and I'll go by his information.
Old 23rd April 2009, 21:00   #212

I can confirm that this is in fact a Mahindra project. The project code name is W201.
I am an ex Mahindra Product Dev Engineer and still keep in touch with my colleagues who work there. Will update when I get more info..
Old 24th April 2009, 00:58   #213
Max

Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
rofl mighty muscular scorpio!!
Corny Add IMO.I dont know why mahinda's make crappy adds. First the xylo before that the old scorpio add where a girl goes on a chopper and cleans the snow away from the car.
dude, ads are so amazing, chicks are hot and vehicle just rules the ad., very impressive ad in my opinion. I am so impressed by advertisement I just feel like buying one for the sake of it. lol
Old 3rd June 2009, 11:15   #214

Originally Posted by unimog View Post
Check out Mahindra's US website and click on the Future Vehicle.

Mahindra
DIV P { MARGIN: 0px
How audacious..... check out ESP and airbags on all versions, and In india it is not even available as an Option!!!
Old 8th June 2009, 11:43   #215

If you click on the future car on the Mahindra US site , its clear to see that the headlights will be shared with the Xylo.
Mahindra Clean Diesel Pickup Trucks and SUVs

I also read elsewhere that the cost is to be between 14 and 16 lakhs. NOT on the road.
Old 8th June 2009, 13:22   #216

Originally Posted by Takumi-san View Post
If you click on the future car on the Mahindra US site , its clear to see that the headlights will be shared with the Xylo.
Mahindra Clean Diesel Pickup Trucks and SUVs

I also read elsewhere that the cost is to be between 14 and 16 lakhs. NOT on the road.
the future car for US markey is actually Xylo. not a brand new car.
Old 13th June 2009, 00:04   #217

why is nobody payin any attention.I just read the whole thread in one sitting and find that many people have stated , and i say stated not speculated, that it is the future mahindra SUV positioned above the scorp.

and almost all of them look like they have insider info and were revealing this much to end speculation and could not reveal any more info cos of obvious reasons.

Still people are coming out with fantasies of everything from fortuner to XYLO pikup..its hilarious.

Yet i glad to know that there are so many insiders on T-Bhp
Old 22nd June 2009, 05:38   #218

Apologies if you have already seen this report.

This is the May 09 Mahindra report made to the analysts and on slide 23 it talks about new product platforms and mentions the "New SUV" to be on Schedule. Not sure if we know what the schedule is.
File Type: pdf 02 AS Analyst ppt 280509-1.pdf (2.42 MB, 2023 views)
Old 22nd June 2009, 13:10   #219

What caught my attention in the document was -
- New SUV - on schedule
- Aggressive cost reduction

I think the new Scorpio was priced down to make room for their new SUV, which will sit on top of the Scorpio. Eventually, it means Scorpio will compete in the sub 9-10Lac range while the newer one will take the fight to the likes of Endeavour, Captiva, CRV etc. Safari(8-14 Lacs) will feel the heat even more with 2 M&M SUVs competing with it.

BUT, Only if they manage to get it out in time and PLEASE without that ugly grill.
Old 17th July 2009, 16:48   #220

guys according to autocar india's july issue this is the new scorpio check out the last page. "you snap them we print them" column.
Old 17th July 2009, 18:07   #221

Originally Posted by brakehorsepower View Post
guys according to autocar india's july issue this is the new scorpio check out the last page. "you snap them we print them" column.
not likely. I dont think mahindra spent tons of money on the revamp of the scorpio and just kill it??.
its a new platform /more expensive than the scorpio
Old 17th July 2009, 18:25   #222

the scorp is too popular to be killed and brought in at an entirely newer price level. In fact the introduction of Xylo, continuation of Scorpio and finally this luxury SUV is exactly what Mahindra wants so as to cater to each segment. It would be foolishness to kill a popular established product. Remember the Zen?
Old 15th August 2009, 11:43   #223

This looks like a mix of Fortuner in the front & CRV at the back!
Old 15th August 2009, 11:50   #224

the slantback profile hints at Lexus Rx from the rear side.
Old 17th August 2009, 09:16   #225

Is there a chance for discontinuing Scorpio? Something like Toyota did with Qualis to launch Innova?

M&M currently does not provide Airbags, means they are yet to make the plant and platform ready for that. Need to wait and see if the new SUV will have Airbags.

Sources said to me that Xylo might get a revamp, so what we see under the covers could be the new Xylo.