Old 29th September 2011, 20:59   #2086

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

Hope I can put down my cash on one in another 6 months time ! Feel bad that Kerala [neither Trivandrum nor Cochin ] is not a part of Tier 1 launch as of now ! And I hope they retain the price for some time after the launch in Tier II cities.
By when will this be launched in Tier 2 cities? Any idea? Assuming that It takes 2 months or so, will the introductory prices still be valid?
Been wanting to buy the Scorpio since long. Only thing stopping me then was the quality and safety for the price. Feel for XUV the minute i saw it. I just pray that, the price stay as it is for sometime longer.
Old 29th September 2011, 21:02   #2087

Re: New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 112 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakh

With few negatives/dislikes that may be ignored (but I think the last row issue will still remain, crampiness visible from the pics), what mainly remains to be seen is if it can boast of confidence like this (same will go for Merlin IMO)

Old 29th September 2011, 21:07   #2088

1. "Follow me home" lamps,
2. "lead me to the car lights" and
3. "puddle lamps"?

1= Lights that stay on after you remove the keys from the ignition and the Headlights stay on for a pre-determined time. Your guess was right.
2= Lights that flicker/flash/do something when you press'unlock' on the key fob, that allow you to pin your car in a large parking lot, like while @Disneyland.
3+ lights usually under the door, refer to Scorpio- just above the footboard, that light up and show you the puddles (supposed to)before you put your foot down.

KD
Old 29th September 2011, 21:07   #2089

Absolutely - most eagerly waiting for our own Team BHP review..

There will be a lot of takers for this no doubt. Goal of 2K per month seems very realistic.. Also, they seem to have kept some space to bring in cheaper variants as well as the W6 is supremely equipped.

And Yes, me too - Most of us have forgiven the looks already!!
Old 29th September 2011, 21:21   #2090

Just a small thought - Will the XUV have off-roading capabilities like the Safari and the Scorpio?

I have very limited knowledge of an AWD, but what I could figure out is that a part time 4WD is much more versatile off-roader than an AWD, or for that matter a full time 4WD (seems there is a difference between fulltime 4WD and AWD too).

To me, the XUV seems more like an urban SUV meant for city driving and not for rough terrain.

I think I will still stick to my plans of buying the Safari 4WD.
Old 29th September 2011, 21:26   #2091

Went to Automotive showroom anticipating to check XUV in person , got to know from SA that XUV would be sold thru exclusive showrooms , here in hyd XUV will be available at AML motors,nagarjuna circle. Hope to catch the car tomorrow.
Old 29th September 2011, 21:28   #2092

I would be equally shocked if the prices of scorpio are dropped. BUT with the kind of volumes scorpio and bolero do i believe the cost of creating that vehicle(research , technology , dies etc) has long been recovered .

If XUV can be priced 10.80L , scorpio sle can be priced 7.80L and bolero top end 6.80L .

Wondering if Mahindra would like to do JAZZ to the other brands.
I wish they initiate the price war in the products which have long recovered their development costs
Old 29th September 2011, 21:29   #2093

The Malad West showroom in Mumbai, didn't have the XUV today. They are hoping for it to be their tomorrow. Hoping to see it up close.
Old 29th September 2011, 21:30   #2094

Originally Posted by Ragul View Post
Does anyone know if M&M has job positions for arts students in its design team?

If you notice all cars that their senior management drive are Esteems an Hyundais and a few Citys'

Where will they learn from?

I am sure the design head is someone who's first car was a Maruti 800 while a Asst Engineer at M&M, making whatever they made first. now he has become senior and rules the Design team... else they wouldnt have had the silly bar under the drivers seat in the Scorpio, a 12Hr only clock, a thimble 45L tank and on and on.

They need to spend about 5 Crores and buy all the worlds mid-priced SUVs for their staff and let them -force them- to drive across India 5 days a week and keep changing cars eery three weeks for 3 months.... AND THEN DESIGN CARS_SUVs-WHATEVER.

I do not mean to decry old people, their experiences are invaluable, and much needed. But the exposure these days is so much necessary, and when you can afford it, why NOT. YOU MUST. You want to see clean cars, go to Sri Lanka, you want good roads- Kuala Lumpur- where it rains every day- No need to go to an Italian showroom or the Autobahn.

KD

Last edited by Hammer & Anvil : 29th September 2011 at 21:32. Reason: Irate spellings needed corrections.
Hammer & Anvil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 21:33   #2095

Originally Posted by rm_arjuna View Post
Went to Automotive showroom anticipating to check XUV in person , got to know from SA that XUV would be sold thru exclusive showrooms , here in hyd XUV will be available at AML motors,nagarjuna circle. Hope to catch the car tomorrow.
Just checked the website again. Dealer loactor in Bangalore shows all the current dealers here. No mention of any exclusive showrooms.

People, By when can we know the prices at other locations. Any idea?

Last edited by zteg : 29th September 2011 at 21:39.
Old 29th September 2011, 21:37   #2096

I've been like this since morning.Great pricing,lots and lots of goodies,i think this could be our vehicle sometime next year depending on its availability in Patna.I feel XUV has outright butchered many SUVs.I dont have many words to say.Waiting for a detailed TeamBHP review.

My Yahoo homepage showed me something,just sharing.(Can be deleted if not appropriate).
Ford makes life-size SUV out of Legos Photos | Ford makes life-size SUV out of Legos Pictures - Yahoo!
Old 29th September 2011, 21:38   #2097

XUV 500 pix in real street life.

OK, the day went by hounding the showrooms and godowns and petrol pumps around the Mumbai area trying to locate the new XUVs. The much announced date was yesterday and there is as much as you can hold a hobbyist back.

Finally we got a peek at 2, pic only 1... and here are the images.

Pricing, in Mumbai quoted in a separate reply earlier.

KD
New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-1.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-2.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-3.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-4.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-5.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-6.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-7.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-8.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-6b.jpg  

New Mahindra SUV for 2011 - Pics on Pg. 109 *UPDATE* XUV500 launched at 10.8 lakhs-xuv-images-9.jpg  

Hammer & Anvil is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 29th September 2011, 21:39   #2098

Originally Posted by zteg View Post
Just checked the website again. Dealer loactor in Bangalore shows all the current dealers here. No mention of any exclusive showrooms.
Hope this help... India Garage
Old 29th September 2011, 22:06   #2099

Originally Posted by Tushargohil

Hope this help... India Garage
I actually meant that website shows regular dealers and not any exclusive showroom as mentioned by rm_arjuna
Old 29th September 2011, 22:09   #2100

Somehow I have a gut feeling that this vehicle will look great in black colour because it will not only hide the hideous grill but all the odd shapes.

Anyhow, kudos for Mahindra for provide such a VFM preposition.
ashthedivx is offline   (1) Thanks