Old 24th June 2010, 02:17   #91

The Autocar spyshot suggests that there isn't any quarter glass. Some photoshop impressions on how the mini xylo could look like:

Pic 1 - The spyshot from Autocar.
Pic 2 - If Mahindra decides to retain the current hood and grille.
Pic 3 - If Mahindra goes in for a new hood and grille.
Pic 4 - Compact Soft-roader look.
Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-mahindraxylohatch5seat_0.jpg  

Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-a1.jpg  

Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-b1.jpg  

Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-b3.jpg  

Old 24th June 2010, 02:31   #92

Originally Posted by ashutoshb View Post
The Autocar spyshot suggests that there isn't any quarter glass. Some photoshop impressions on how the mini xylo could look like:

Pic 1 - The spyshot from Autocar.
Pic 2 - If Mahindra decides to retain the current hood and grille.
Pic 3 - If Mahindra goes in for a new hood and grille.
The compact soft-roader looks good. Thanks for putting in the effort to do this.
Old 24th June 2010, 03:06   #93

Thanks man!

Here's one more:
Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-c1.jpg  

Old 24th June 2010, 07:55   #94

4x4 xylo

Originally Posted by fx45 View Post
spotted a regular wheel base xylo today on the expressway with a modified bumper and MH 15 TC plates. seems ther is another xylo model on the way.. and that guy was really flooring it.. i was in another stock xylo m eagle at about 140 and this prototype seemd to be going easily above 160

I have also seen this xylo on the expressway it was a 4x4 xylo. I have photos will try to upload today.
Old 24th June 2010, 10:31   #95

oh! suddenly the mini xylo looks so good.

@ ashutosh: can you join mahindra?!
Old 24th June 2010, 11:08   #96

Originally Posted by kiren View Post
I have also seen this xylo on the expressway it was a 4x4 xylo. I have photos will try to upload today.
You lucky man. where are the pics. You have to upload the pics. It is a joy to look at a really good looking mahindra, hopefully that will stop being an oxymoron

@ashutosh. You are a wizard with photoshop. Great job with those impressions. The xylo looks good in your hands, as raj_5004 said, you should be very eligible to join mahindra's design team..I love drawing cars too but only with paper and pencil.But this is great stuff.

Last edited by rpmx1000 : 24th June 2010 at 11:13.
Old 24th June 2010, 11:27   #97

Originally Posted by ashutoshb View Post
This pic looks really nice. Good work by ashutoshb.
Sure, Mahindra can take some tips from you.
Old 24th June 2010, 11:33   #98

A minor Change to What AshutoshB has worked on

Xylo indeed has shaping well in its 5 seater attire. Looks promising. If launched for 5 lacs , it could really capture the market big time.
Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-mahindra-xylo-5-seater.jpg  

Old 24th June 2010, 11:47   #99

This might turn out to be a good product. I have always wanted a vehicle with go anywhere attitude and reasonable comfort. But unfortunately, everything starts at 9L + which is too much for me. If Mahindra can price a 4*4 version at a lower price, I would be a faithful customer forever. Looks are not important for me, but creature comfort is.
Old 24th June 2010, 12:51   #100

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post1951500.

Photos of the 4x4 Xylo has been uploaded here.
Old 24th June 2010, 13:41   #101

the way it is starting to look, this one will cater to a niche audience: SUV hatchback kind. I feel this product will be accepeted well in the market as there is an obvious gap. of course the pricing will decide where it will be placed. 5-6.5 L seems to be a good zone to be in
Old 5th July 2010, 20:09   #102

THE SUV HATCHBACK segment. (rightly said by mafia)

On first instance i liked Primier RIO when I saw it at the expo. It looked the ideal car that can be driven on potholed roads of city and can handle highway with ease, had decent height to get a good view of road and ideal for 5 people and there luggage for a weekend. But the thought of service issues were of primary concern and a price was bit at a premium.

However this mini xylo would address all of these issues and I dont mind paying a bit of premium on mini xylo if launched at the price of diesel hatchback cars (5.5L to 7L segment) starting right from Swift Diesel to i20 CRDi.
Old 16th July 2010, 09:36   #103

Its a sub-5 lakh mini SUV

Well, the Rio could have sparked in M&M a thought in this under-represented category (Gypsy is the only sub 5 lakh SUV I can think of) and lo and behold we have the mini Xylo! 2 exciting Indian launches of this year - Thar and mini Xylo, both from M&M.

Mini Xylo to take on compact cars-Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
MUMBAI: Mahindra & Mahindra (M&M) is looking to do a Nano by rolling out the country’s first sub Rs 5-lakh sports-utility vehicle — a compact version of the Xylo — this year, two people familiar with the development said.

The country’s largest utility vehicle maker is quietly working on introducing a mini version of the Xylo in the Rs 4.5-5 lakh range, or 35-40% cheaper than the existing base model, by 2011, they said on condition of anonymity.

The company hopes to achieve this by shortening the length of the vehicle to within four metres so it attracts a lower excise duty of 10% compared to 22% for bigger cars and utility vehicles, they said.

Mahindra & Mahindra officials declined to comment.

If it manages to bring down the Xylo’s price to less than Rs 5 lakh, the SUV will enter a price band that accounts for 60% of the country’s car sales and directly compete with compact cars such as the Maruti Suzuki WagonR, A-Star, Hyundai Santro, i10, GM Beat, Ford Figo, Fiat Punto and Tata Indica.

When it launched the Xylo in January 2009, M&M wanted the vehicle to challenge mid-level sedans, or three-box cars. Now it wants the mini Xylo to take on mid-level hatchbacks, or compact cars.

The compact Xylo will sport a much smaller engine than the 2.5-litre diesel engine that powers the vehicle now and Mahindra is yet to decide on the number of seats in the new vehicle, said one person close to the development.

Compact SUV market is an untapped segment in India where the only available vehicle is the recently launched Rio, a 5-seater SUV marketed by Premier. It uses body parts from a Chinese auto company Zotye and is priced in a range of Rs 5.6-6 lakh. Premier has sold around 200 Rios since January 2010.

Compact Xylo will mark the entry of a big player into this segment.

Meanwhile, M&M is also planning to launch a micro-hybrid version of the Xylo before the year-end. The Mumbai-based automaker will also be introducing the Xylo in several overseas markets in the next few months.

The Xylo, which is the most ambitious project of M&M after the Scorpio, is currently priced in the range of Rs 7.57 lakh to Rs 9.69 lakh (ex-showroom Mumbai). It is produced on the same assembly line as the Scorpio.

While the company does not release product-wise sales, M&M’s sales of utility vehicles, including Scorpio, Xylo, Bolero and pick-ups, slipped 3.6% year-on-year in June 2010 at 17,010. The company blamed constraints in supply of critical components for this. Cumulative utility vehicle sales during January-June stood at 53,948 units, up 11% year-on-year.

Last edited by wanderlust : 16th July 2010 at 09:39. Reason: added info
Old 16th July 2010, 12:23   #104

Originally Posted by wanderlust View Post
Well, the Rio could have sparked in M&M a thought in this under-represented category (Gypsy is the only sub 5 lakh SUV I can think of) and lo and behold we have the mini Xylo! 2 exciting Indian launches of this year - Thar and mini Xylo, both from M&M.

Mini Xylo to take on compact cars-Automobiles-Auto-News By Industry-News-The Economic Times
OT: I read that Premier has sold 200 units. Didn't they have 2,000 bookings?
Old 16th July 2010, 12:35   #105

Looks more like a bloated WagonR.

M&M desperately need to hire some designers. Going by the current stable it is either "inspired designing" or pathetic attempts at design from scratch.

But this definately will open up a new segment altogether.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com