Old 11th May 2011, 16:44   #241

re: Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38

Saw the Mahindra Genio in person few days back and it looked significantly smaller than the Xylo in terms of height. Infact, it had a very planted stance to it, unlike the tall xylo. Hopefully, the smaller version will also have a reduced height to go with the reduced length!
Are you sure about this? I saw Genio too, but didn't look any smaller than xylo. Even their specs say that Genio has 1870mm height and Xylo has 1890mm, hardly 2cm difference, that too I think because of the roof rails.

EDIT: as can be confirmed here: http://www.vicky.in/compare/cars/dzi...de/xylo/e8abs/

Last edited by ani_meher : 11th May 2011 at 16:45.
Old 12th May 2011, 03:47   #242

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
Are you sure about this? I saw Genio too, but didn't look any smaller than xylo. Even their specs say that Genio has 1870mm height and Xylo has 1890mm, hardly 2cm difference, that too I think because of the roof rails.
Width is also few cms more! But thanks for pointing that out. More than the actual specs, i think its the design that fooled my eyes. With the black bumpers below hiding the visual bulk.
Old 12th May 2011, 12:23   #243

Is there any news for lunch of XYLO CS.

if i am not wrong, then following be the XYLO CS specs.

-- 1.4 ltr 75 Bhp (Strip down version of XYLO D2 engine).
-- 5+2 Seater (Or strictly 2+3 seater).
-- ABS + Air Bag on option.
-- Price should be 4 -> 6 lac Ex-Showroom.
-- Lunch on 14-05-2011.
All the above are purely my assumptions. If the above are not correct then please correct the list.

Last edited by KALINGA : 12th May 2011 at 12:24.
Old 12th May 2011, 13:02   #244

Assumptions? Or the information that you have got?
Specs look good,but can't believe that the launch is n this saturday. No teasers,media,new scoop pics and all. Makes me wonder...
Old 12th May 2011, 18:09   #245

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Assumptions? Or the information that you have got?
Specs look good,but can't believe that the launch is n this saturday. No teasers,media,new scoop pics and all. Makes me wonder...
Looks like Kalinga was kidding, he said lunch, I am sure he will have lunch on 14-05-2011 .. . Kalinga - no offense/sarcasm meant, just having a few harmless laughs, thanks for the entertainment! Or maybe he was talking about M&M eating competition for lunch

Spike, are we to expect the small Xylo by July at least?Is this too confidential to tell? I for one keep watching this thread, even there are not too many sightings these days.

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
. Even their specs say that Genio has 1870mm height and Xylo has 1890mm, hardly 2cm difference, that too I think because of the roof rails.
I'm willing to wager that it's because of the smaller wheels! Have you ever observed the difference between the D2 and E* models of Xylo ?

Last edited by rpmx1000 : 12th May 2011 at 18:11. Reason: Clubbing two posts together!
Old 13th May 2011, 12:04   #246

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

this sub 4 metre cs (cut short) xylo might end up being similar (at least in part) to the versa.
but it is a welcome move by M&M - to tap into the segment that requires space and reliability and a van like vehicle.
the optional ABS + Airbags are a good move if they are offering this across all variants.
Old 13th May 2011, 13:30   #247

I feel if they should launch (& not lunch) this vehicle with a Genio front it will do well, somehow every time you look at a Genio from the front it looks as if it is a Van and not a pickup. if M & M is listening or scanning through these forums may be they should do a survey and see what will do well.
Old 13th May 2011, 13:56   #248

Its a "LAUNCH" Not "lunch".
Kindly Ignore the typo.

Regarding the Xylo CS.
I got that spec from a showroom SE. It may be wrong.
Also inquired with local showroom, they don't have any news of Xylo CS launch.

We should stop this discussion here. :(
Old 13th May 2011, 14:17   #249

this sub 4 metre cs (cut short) xylo might end up being similar (at least in part) to the versa.
but it is a welcome move by M&M - to tap into the segment that requires space and reliability and a van like vehicle.
the optional ABS + Airbags are a good move if they are offering this across all variants.
Versa is no match to Xylo. Neither in space, nor handling/features/economy, etc. Xylo is much wider (1850mm to EECO's 1475mm) while not being much taller (1895mm to EECO's 1800mm). Rear seat itself can seat 4. It is more like a small SUV, like a shrunken Safari/Scorpio.
Old 13th May 2011, 14:26   #250

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

sure in terms of space etc I totally agree.
however, the mini xylo will probably be after the same segment that the versa is after - also the premier Rio recently vacated this similar segment.
this mini xylo with its M&M genes, VFM, reliability and service network can easily become a great success for those seeking a spacious van like vehicle.

Originally Posted by ajay0612 View Post
Versa is no match to Xylo. Neither in space, nor handling/features/economy, etc. Xylo is much wider (1850mm to EECO's 1475mm) while not being much taller (1895mm to EECO's 1800mm). Rear seat itself can seat 4. It is more like a small SUV, like a shrunken Safari/Scorpio.
Old 13th May 2011, 14:28   #251

THe other day i saw a Premier Rio parked on the road, and i must admit the overall "Small SUV" thing really did it for me (well i know its not a Real SUV). if the xylo cs/mini will be along the same dimensions with a better road presence then i dont see any reason why it should not be an instant hit.

well at least i would hop for it, been following this thread closely since it began.
Old 13th May 2011, 16:05   #252

It is not. It is being planned as a lifestyle vehicle, an alternative to entry level sedan in the range 5.5-7 lakh. In fact they don't want it to be in the Taxi segment, and plan to do so by offering value added variants only so that any Taxi operator considering it, might suddenly see more value (Seats/lakh) in Bolero
sure in terms of space etc I totally agree.
however, the mini xylo will probably be after the same segment that the versa is after - also the premier Rio recently vacated this similar segment.
this mini xylo with its M&M genes, VFM, reliability and service network can easily become a great success for those seeking a spacious van like vehicle.

Last edited by ajay0612 : 13th May 2011 at 16:07.
Old 13th May 2011, 22:54   #253

Such an informative thread, something that I am hooked to and checking updates every now and then. Shame this doesn't have any rating. I request all regulars to rate the thread!
Old 14th May 2011, 21:16   #254

Originally Posted by pgsagar View Post
How about a mini Sumo Grande? Only, this time around, Tata should name the car more imaginatively.

Originally Posted by teamveevee View Post
I also wish for the same, but Defenitely not going to happen in the near future. Facelifted safari is the next launch. Then the World LCV/ICV. These are the only current products committed by Tata. Anything other than these will be mere speculation at this point.
A Grande CMUV?

Not a bad idea at all! I found the Grande very very comfortable! A Grande CMUV with rear captain seats will be the ideal city + highway vehicle for me.

Don't know if the following illustration fits under 4 metres, but IMHO, if shortened, it will look good for sure!
Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38-sumo-grande-cmuv.jpg  

Old 15th May 2011, 02:49   #255

C'mon @ashutoshb.
Don't kill us with your illustration!!!
This thing is a dream for many of us,who doesn't want one.???
But Tata doesn't seem to be minding this segment at all.
Maybe at the fag end of the X2 platform life.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com