Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Old 19th January 2009, 10:24   #211
DKG

What a gorgeous weekend. An absolute riot and delight to see so many wonderful bikes and cars.

As expected the wow factor of the exotic machinery never fails to bowl one over but for me the real treasure was the homespun bikes and tweaked indian cars. Its the spirit of all those racers that really bowled me over.

The Bangalore gang are absolute petrol heads. So passionate and so into tweaking their machines. What a delight it was to see the way they had done up their machines.

To me its the army of racers all tweaked up and rearing to go which won my heart. To take a stock bike and make it go way beyond its known potential by reworking it is what these drag meets is all about.

On the way to the event when I saw a truck full of these bikes with their owners standing in the truck bed it really spoke volumes about the passion and spirit of these diehard racers. Fantastic

I have no doubt that the real champions are those guys who spend their life tweaking their machines to get the extra bit out. What a delight to see how they shave off all the weight to get an edge.

A big round of applause to all the homespun racers. You guys are the real champions.

The Supra was insane. It almost bolted across the drag strip like a superbike. The way it sputtered and popped as it devoured the 1/4 mile was a delight to watch.

The Ferrari was dazzling. She oozes the pedigree that comes with the marque. An outright star.

The two Caymans were such a pleasure to watch. I am a huge fan of Porsches and the shape of this car is something to swoon over.

Having driven the Imprezza I expected it to do what it did, simply devour the strip effortlessly. There was a very enthusiastic and vocal lady just behind where my pals and I stood and as the Imprezza took a big lead I couldn't help laughing when she commented " Arre yeh kya cheez hai? "

A lot of time was being wasted in between the runs and hopefully the next time the organisers will be able to run a more tightly spaced race.

The real credit however goes to the overwhelming response of the participants whose enthusiasm was electric and simply made it all a huge success. The crowd was amazing and we all had a grand laugh every time a Reliance petrol truck darted across the strip or a auto scooted across and everyone started to cheer.

It was a fun day with spectacular cars to ogle at, amazing homesun bikes and cars all souped up for the job on hand and an outstanding crowd determined to have a ball over the weekend.

The Deccan Quarter Mile Drag rocked - BIG TIME !!! cheers:cheers:
Old 19th January 2009, 10:46   #212

Originally Posted by f450 View Post
Those are awesome awesome pics.

My personal favourite is the Swift, love how everything else is blurry. The first pic of the Cayman is a close second. Also, what effects/software did u use for the first four?

I noticed you like the Cayman a lot.
I missed to address the 2nd Q These images are called HDR/Tone mapping I use PhotoMatix to create these images. These can be done on PS too but it gets tedious.

Here is the link to other HDRs that I have created.

HDR - a set on Flickr
Old 19th January 2009, 11:03   #213

Originally Posted by Jay View Post
Wolf = Did the run but was not counted as he did a jump start ( A very good run though, That car is QUICK )
Shrey = Disqualified because he did a Burnout before the start ( in the Practice run, he was faster than an RS, guess with stage 1 petes modifications )

Physco ( i guess you meant Psycho ) = Engine went off at the start line, He tried to get it started but the car did not start until the time alloted for that class was over, so couldnt run.
Wow, that is a triple whammy!

So no burnouts was a published rule?

Any this time Psyco does not have to blame his driving/grip etc. The engine is much more easier. Sorry Keshav, could not resist.
Old 19th January 2009, 11:09   #214

HEY thanks for the heads up Akshay.

Name:  Picture 1.png
Views: 2324
Size:  315.6 KB

That swift looks beautiful and the graphics are extremely original. Well done there.
Old 19th January 2009, 11:20   #215

that swift is crap imitation. the plastics are some recycled plastic buckets. venyis are peeling off, fog lamps don't fit and just hang around. all in a waste. doesn't move fast.
Old 19th January 2009, 11:26   #216

Really great for a first time event in Hyderabad! Couldn't take many pictures since we did not want to risk losing our seats.

Here is one Jaguar we saw at the visitor's parking.

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-deccandragjaguar.jpg

Somebody asked for the Supra burn out video. Here it is.

Old 19th January 2009, 11:32   #217

The swift is from some team called OverBoost. Never heard of them before. A glaring example of all show but no go...Poorly done on the show dept as well. Possibly some aftermarket parts dealer vehicle. Also saw a civic screwed up by the same team.

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 19th January 2009 at 11:35.
Old 19th January 2009, 11:58   #218

there were some good cars on the show. hyderabad modified cars were small in number. the show was poorly organised since visitors were able to view from far away. the drag strip was downhill and then uphill so not so ideal test conditions.
stock cars were not allowed to have alloy wheels. but no one checked the engine internals. so some one with stock wheels but having a remap or a different engine internals can easily win stock category. i don't know what happened to modified category.
poor classification and evaluation of cars i guess, drag strip not proper. i think one can even chill the intercooler before the launch then why not burn outs before drag.
Old 19th January 2009, 12:03   #219

Great Event yesterday and the crowd that gathered was surprisingly quite strong. Some of the best drags were between :

Supra and Ferrari : Supra won easily because it was tuned to 900bhp against 500bhp of F430

Audi TT and Subaru WRX Sti : Subaru left Audi TT behind as if it was standstill. I loved this drag

Porsche Cayman S : Superb racing by this guy. Dont remember which car it was pitted against.

R1 vs Ninja ZZR1400 : Initally it was R1 and after a few seconds, Ninja showed why its the fastest bike in the world

And lot of other races between superbikes and Supercars and there were lot of peted Skoda VRS's and modified OHCs and Zen's and Esteem's apart from lot of BMW's, Mercs, Audi's including a couple of Q7's ( visitors)

Suprisingly didnt see a single Baleno or Ford Ikon 1.6. However, there was a Mondeo driven by a Girl.

Winners was Shabbir from Bangalore all the way in most of the category. Bikes, Open Foreign Category, etc

Shabbir's Supra and modifed Zen with a honda vtech engine needs a special mention. Supra's exhaust note easily wins the best sound of the 2-day event contest, hands down.

And, a big congratulations to Prabhu ( Non-TBHP Member from Hyderabad) who won the 1st prize for the stock 800cc-1100cc in a Zen. First time racer, and he wont 1st prize, amazing stuff.

Unfortunately, as far as i can recall, none of the tbhp folks from Bangalore won.

Physco had a bad run, his esteem won't crank for the race. His friends Zen lost the brake drum or something like that during qualifying and i dont think it won in the main event.
Old 19th January 2009, 12:11   #220

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Great Event yesterday and the crowd that gathered was surprisingly quite strong. Some of the best drags were between :

Supra and Ferrari : Supra won easily because it was tuned to 900bhp against 500bhp of F430

Audi TT and Subaru WRX Sti : Subaru left Audi TT behind as if it was standstill. I loved this drag

Porsche Cayman S : Superb racing by this guy. Dont remember which car it was pitted against.

R1 vs Ninja ZZR1400 : Initally it was R1 and after a few seconds, Ninja showed why its the fastest bike in the world

And lot of other races between superbikes and Supercars and there were lot of peted Skoda VRS's and modified OHCs and Zen's and Esteem's apart from lot of BMW's, Mercs, Audi's including a couple of Q7's ( visitors)

Suprisingly didnt see a single Baleno or Ford Ikon 1.6. However, there was a Mondeo driven by a Girl.

Winners was Shabbir from Bangalore all the way in most of the category. Bikes, Open Foreign Category, etc

Shabbir's Supra and modifed Zen with a honda vtech engine needs a special mention. Supra's exhaust note easily wins the best sound of the 2-day event contest, hands down.

And, a big congratulations to Prabhu ( Non-TBHP Member from Hyderabad) who won the 1st prize for the stock 800cc-1100cc in a Zen. First time racer, and he wont 1st prize, amazing stuff.

Unfortunately, as far as i can recall, none of the tbhp folks from Bangalore won.

Physco had a bad run, his esteem won't crank for the race. His friends Zen lost the brake drum or something like that during qualifying and i dont think it won in the main event.
No Palios either :( was expecting atleast one. Or is it that I missed to spot them on track?
Old 19th January 2009, 12:20   #221

Lots of cars were missing. Did anyone see any Lancers or Cedias? There were just too many swifts.
Old 19th January 2009, 12:24   #222

None. I did not spot any either. Not that I was looking too hard. Was there for only a couple of hours, and it was a nice experience. Did not expect such a crowd; a pleasant surprise. Met Raj, Suren and some other TBHPians which was nice. Hiya guys!!! Missed Avi, though. The F430 and the GTR were mind blowingly cool. So were the Supra and the TT. Missed there Drags, unfortunately. Add to that the open ORR, and an afternoon well spent is the result. Here's to more such events!!!

Anurag
Old 19th January 2009, 12:29   #223

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
amazing driver. liked his launch. but question of stock/no stock is a bit different though. hyd drag is not upto the mark now.!!
Old 19th January 2009, 12:29   #224

Few pictures from my side
Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-1.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-2.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-3.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-4.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-5.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-6.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-7.jpg  

Deccan Quartermile Drag - January 17 & 18th 2009-picture-8.jpg