![]() | #586 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
I can't emphasis the convenience of paddle shifters enough. I'm so used to them from the civic and sorely miss them on the GT. Tiptronic is just not the same as being able to control without moving hands from steering. (I am too used to holding the steering with both hands). On a related note, on a recent highway drive (which of late have been numerous) I do tend to switch between D and S mode. I once accidentally dropped the car into neutral thinking I was in S mode and doing a downshift. A bit dangerous to say the least because sometimes you can forget whether you are in S or D mode. Again made me miss my paddle shifters. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #587 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2009 Location: Delhi NCR
| ![]()
I also use the paddle shifters (320i Luxury line) mostly, except in bumper to bumper traffic. I have a doubt. What is the difference between driving in sports mode by pressing the button in the center console; and shifting the gear lever to the left (M/S) plus simultaneously use the button to change to sports mode? Does this make a difference in the drive? |
![]() |
![]() | #588 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2013 Location: Udumalpet
| ![]() During the recent tyre change for my 530d msport it was noted that all the four alloy wheels are bent in one or two places. I could feel the wheel wobble before at higher speeds and I assumed it to be because of the worn out tyres. Now to change all the four msport alloy wheels at the BMW dealership I might have to spend close to two lakh rupees. A friend of mine suggested to get after market alloys from reputed brands like BBS ,vozen, lenso and HRE at prices way lesser than the BMW dealers quote. Do you guys recommend these wheels or should I stick to the OE alloys from the BMW dealer. |
![]() |
![]() | #589 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2014 Location: KL 11
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #590 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() Join Date: Mar 2011 Location: Gurgaon
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #591 | ||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
Very possibly wrong offset as mentioned above. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #592 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
I reiterate, these big wheels just aren't suitable for India. Give me 17" rims with taller sidewalls, more durability & a cushier ride any day, anytime ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #593 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2013 Location: BLR-PY-ORD-NYC
| ![]() Quote:
The car doesnt inspire confidence when taking a corner due to higher centre of gravity. One more reason to lower the car is for the Vorsteiner Front Carbon Splitter I'm planning on getting, will make it look killer ![]() Last edited by #enzowho : 21st November 2016 at 15:00. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #594 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() GTO, just wanted to check with you at what intervals is your iDrive recommending oil change? My X3 30d is currently at 15,000 kms. 1st Oil change was at 9,000 kms. Next change as per iDrive is at 18,000 kms. It seems to be a fixed interval and not really variable as the oil change recommendation hasn't really changed ever since the last oil change. I mean to say its been showing oil change to be done at 18,000 kms since the last change. I was under the impression that synthetic oil can easily last 12 to 15K kms these days. Since both our cars run the same engine, wanted to check with you. My running is virtually 95% highway and 5% city. And no I don't always rip the engine. Like to ride the torque and keep the revs in the medium range. With this kind of usage the oil should last at least 12k kms. Oil change every 9k kms is kind of expensive!! |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #595 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2013 Location: Udumalpet
| ![]() Thanks a ton ajaypjayaraj, Turbanator, Akshay1234 and GTO for your valuable suggestions. GTO sir the tyre mechanic had suggested me not to repair the bent rims as they might get weak and more prone for developing cracks. But I value your advice more. Kindly enlighten me on this. Thanks Last edited by GTO : 24th November 2016 at 10:13. Reason: Strictly no SMS language please |
![]() |
![]() | #596 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() Join Date: Mar 2011 Location: Gurgaon
| ![]() Quote:
Last edited by GTO : 24th November 2016 at 10:14. Reason: Typo | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #597 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2011 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #598 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Last edited by Santoshbhat : 23rd November 2016 at 16:32. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #599 | |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2008 Location: New Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
What it basically aims at is reducing engine sludge formation wherever fuel sulphur content is higher than a threshold. The standard interval is 25000 kms. SA 0988 sets it to 12000 and stop go traffic further reduces it to 9000 kms. It's expensive but a price is to be paid to keep the engine healthy in poor fuel, low speed environment. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #600 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
I am OK with oil every 9k kms if that's what's required to keep the engine happy. But my problem is that every time I go for this oil change they take a reading from the key and change AC filter and air filter. I resisted last time, but the guy said that it may cause problems with warranty if I opt out of system recommended changes. I asked them to just clean the air filter and fit it back as it had run only 9k kms, but the guy categorically told me " NO, at BMW we don't clean filters, we only replace" ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() |