Old 10th July 2011, 19:29   #31

7th B'day of my car

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Yes, will definitely try to get some good snaps on that day & 10th July being a Sunday makes it all the more easy.
Today being the 7th b'day of my car (& fortunately fallen on a Sunday) gave a good wash in the morning & made her spic & span. Asked Dad & my better half to do the customary pooja (with haldi-kumkum), offered a rose flower & lighted an incense stick (agarbatti). Have taken a few snaps. Actually wanted to take her out for a spin & take some good snaps, but could not manage due to the usual week end chores. Bought some sweets & cutting the cake in the evening

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-dscn0087.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-dscn0091.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-dscn0092.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-dscn0093.jpg

Just a snap shot below of the running & maintenance expenses below:

Overall FE (kmpl) 18.36
Maintenance exp (Rs/km) 0.69
Fuel expense (Rs/km) 2.00
Overall expense (Rs/km) 2.70
Average running per day (km) 37.31
Average running per month (km) 1119.27
Total Running (km) 95462
Total Maintenance expenses (Rs) 65728.02
Total Running expenses (Rs) 189862.77

Other than regular maintenance, some major maintenance repairs are as follows:

09-Dec-07 Alternator servicing at @ 40,450km 2057.00
03-Oct-08 Battery Replacement at @ 43,200 kms 4,679.63
02-Sep-09 Priming Pump replacement at @ 57,441 km 923.00
21-Dec-09 New Tyres at @ 62,320 km 13800.00
18-Sep-10 Glow plugs & relay replacement @ 79,778 km 1680.00
31-Jan-11 Fuel Tank replacement @ 87,374km 5474.75
02-Apr-11 Starter motor overhauling @ 90,245km 3275.75

Overall very satisfied with the car. Hope to keep it for one more year at least & when I would part ways with it, it won't go to any third person, but expected to stay within the extended family
AutoIndian is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th July 2011, 19:39   #32

re: Tata Indica DLX - One Lakh kms & beyond

Rs 2.70 Per Km is simply brillent, and for a car that is 7 yrs old, your car looks fantastic, just goes to show that an Indica kept well goes a long way and all those horror stories of Indica being a really bad car as far as maintanence is concerned are incorrect.
musicmanaman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th July 2011, 19:50   #33

Originally Posted by musicmanaman View Post
Rs 2.70 Per Km is simply brillent, and for a car that is 7 yrs old, your car looks fantastic, just goes to show that an Indica kept well goes a long way and all those horror stories of Indica being a really bad car as far as maintanence is concerned are incorrect.
Thanks musicmanaman for your compliments. Yes , to each & every word that you have said. Why just Indica, any car that is regularly maintained should serve well in the long run. Indica mostly used by cabs & fleet owners is widely abused & that has got it some bad reputation as far as maintenance is concerned. However if you have gone through my spreadsheet on page one, you can easily make out that Indica is one such car which keeps your pocket happy by being low both on maintenance & running costs.
Old 10th July 2011, 23:34   #34

Thanks for your wishes Amit. How is your Vista QJD doing. Can you pl share the link of your ownership thread for your Vista?
Sorry for the delayed reply. Missed your post. Vista Qjd is doing great. Completed 2 years in May 2011 and have already done 46K Kms I have not done any long trips. I am clocking 50 Kms everyday to-fro to office. Add to that atleast 2 trips to Mumbai every month.

I do not have an owneship thread for it. And on second thoughts i think it would have been embarassing for me to share my log. The amount of data that you have captured is simply amazing. I am sure i would not have been able to do that. I think i have mentioned this earlier but doing it again. Appreciate your perseverance and commmitment.
Old 11th July 2011, 09:27   #35

Originally Posted by amitwlele View Post
Sorry for the delayed reply. Missed your post.
No problems at all. At least you are replying to my post, that itself is enough.

Vista Qjd is doing great. Completed 2 years in May 2011 and have already done 46K Kms I have not done any long trips. I am clocking 50 Kms everyday to-fro to office. Add to that atleast 2 trips to Mumbai every month.
Belated congrats to you on completing 2 years with your car. You are munching good miles. Can you share your city & highway FE figures if your calculate these?

I do not have an owneship thread for it. And on second thoughts i think it would have been embarassing for me to share my log. The amount of data that you have captured is simply amazing.
Come on, we are not here to compare, but just share information, which can prove useful to others. I am sure whatever small information you can share would be useful to other Vista owners or potential Vista owners. You can share major events, milestones (eg completing 2 years, reaching 50K mark) or for that matter, you can give an update after every service. I don't think you need any reason to write @ your car. If you don't want to start your own thread, you can use this thread to share that info.
Old 11th July 2011, 13:14   #36

Belated congrats to you on completing 2 years with your car. You are munching good miles. Can you share your city & highway FE figures if your calculate these?
I have not calculated the FE for the last 6 months now. But i used to get around 20 KM/L on the highway and about 16-17 KM/L on the city drive to office (thanks to Hinjewadi traffic).
Old 11th July 2011, 14:11   #37

@ AutoIndian - great to see a well documented of indica. In fact I started one too early on but laziness got the better of me. Excellent work

Hope I end up getting beyond 70k if not 80k. Have done 36k so far. You are right regarding VFM proposition from Tata but atleast in my case bad experiences with TASS and rusting body is enough to stay clear of Tata (personal choice). Thanks anyway for sharing the log file. Plan to use it for my new car. All the best. Hope you cross 100k mark soon.
arup.misra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2011, 17:29   #38

Originally Posted by arup.misra View Post
@ AutoIndian - great to see a well documented of indica. In fact I started one too early on but laziness got the better of me. Excellent work
Thanks Arup. It is my hobby to maintain my car log & I can always find out one way or the other to update that log. You too can start filling it for your car, its never too late.

Hope I end up getting beyond 70k if not 80k. Have done 36k so far.
You definitely can, just get the regular servicing done without fail & keep a keen watch on how your car is running daily.

You are right regarding VFM proposition from Tata but atleast in my case bad experiences with TASS and rusting body is enough to stay clear of Tata (personal choice). Thanks anyway for sharing the log file. Plan to use it for my new car. All the best. Hope you cross 100k mark soon.
Yes I am eagerly waiting to cross the 100K mark. You have to be very careful while dealing with TASS & never allow them to take you for a ride.
Old 11th July 2011, 17:53   #39

hi AutoIndian,
Your car looks to be great shape at 80 to 90k on the ODO. Great going.

I am also using the same XL sheet that you are (inherited from the yahoo groups 5 yrs back). I have all the statistics since 0kms, and its really helpful to see your data also.

Believe it or not, i also had a alternator serviced at exactly 40k. So, your major servicings are going to help me a lot to time my own services!
deep_bang is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2011, 18:15   #40

Originally Posted by deep_bang View Post
hi AutoIndian, Your car looks to be great shape at 80 to 90k on the ODO. Great going.
Thank you for your compliments deep_bang.

I am also using the same XL sheet that you are (inherited from the yahoo groups 5 yrs back). I have all the statistics since 0kms, and its really helpful to see your data also.
Good to know that. Can you please share the link to your sheet or to your thread so that even I can have a look at it. It would definitely make a good read.

Believe it or not, i also had a alternator serviced at exactly 40k. So, your major servicings are going to help me a lot to time my own services!
Same pinch . I hope you got it serviced from Lucas TVS. They do a good job. After my alternator servicing in Dec'07 from them, this problem has never resurfaced (touchwood). Also recently at the 90K service I got the starter motor overhauled from them (due to the hot cranking problem ie battery not taking the starter load when the engine temperature is very high). Now the engine fires up without any issue, even when it is extremely hot
Old 12th July 2011, 01:21   #41

Congrats AUTOINDIAN on the 7th birthday of your car. Your car is in immaculate condition. I am also very proud of our Indica which has also completed 100k kms recently. Most people think that indica being a diesel car is very heavy on maintainace but if you take good care then its maintainanace is similar to any other petrol hatchback and I can say that because we have an Indica , a santro, a zen, and an 800 in our family.

Another thing that i want to mention is that I am still running on the original clutch Plates even after 104400 kms.
BLACK1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2011, 10:05   #42

Originally Posted by BLACK1 View Post
Congrats AUTOINDIAN on the 7th birthday of your car. Your car is in immaculate condition.
Thank you for your wishes & compliments BLACK1. I believe you've recently joined TBHP & this is your first post on this forum. So a warm welcome to you here on TBHP & wishing you a very fruitful & long lasting relationship over here.

Originally Posted by BLACK1 View Post
I am also very proud of our Indica which has also completed 100k kms recently. Another thing that i want to mention is that I am still running on the original clutch Plates even after 104400 kms.
Congratulations to you too on crossing the 100K km milestone, you would have been immensely satisfied to see those five zeroes preceeded by one on your odo. Request you to start your separate long term ownership thread & start contributing there so that other members can benefit from your experience. Good to know that you are still on OEM clutch. However from one of the experts on TIUG (Tata Indica Users Group), named Achin I have learnt that the clutch cable is good for 90K kms, & you should replace it after that. I am planning to get it changed at 100K, though my clutch also seems to be doing fine.
Old 12th July 2011, 10:07   #43

Re: 7th B'day of my car

Today being the 7th b'day of my car (& fortunately fallen on a Sunday) gave a good wash in the morning & made her spic & span.

Just a snap shot below of the running & maintenance expenses below:

Overall FE (kmpl) 18.36
Maintenance exp (Rs/km) 0.69
Fuel expense (Rs/km) 2.00
Overall expense (Rs/km) 2.70
Average running per day (km) 37.31
Average running per month (km) 1119.27
Total Running (km) 95462
Total Maintenance expenses (Rs) 65728.02
Total Running expenses (Rs) 189862.77

Other than regular maintenance, some major maintenance repairs are as follows:

09-Dec-07 Alternator servicing at @ 40,450km 2057.00
03-Oct-08 Battery Replacement at @ 43,200 kms 4,679.63
02-Sep-09 Priming Pump replacement at @ 57,441 km 923.00
21-Dec-09 New Tyres at @ 62,320 km 13800.00
18-Sep-10 Glow plugs & relay replacement @ 79,778 km 1680.00
31-Jan-11 Fuel Tank replacement @ 87,374km 5474.75
02-Apr-11 Starter motor overhauling @ 90,245km 3275.75

Overall very satisfied with the car. Hope to keep it for one more year at least & when I would part ways with it, it won't go to any third person, but expected to stay within the extended family
Congrats! Your Indica looks in a very good condition despite being 7 year old. Sign of a BHPian I say. We maintain our cars with passion, whatever car it may be.

Man...that is some data you've got. Excellent record keeping. It clearly shows the attachment towards the car.

Wishing you all the best and also let us know which car you are going to book. I see your posts regularly on the New Verna and New Fiesta threads.
ajay_satpute is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2011, 10:17   #44

Originally Posted by ajay_satpute View Post
Congrats! Your Indica looks in a very good condition despite being 7 year old. Sign of a BHPian I say. We maintain our cars with passion, whatever car it may be.
Thank you Ajay for your compliments.Maintaining our car in a good condition is the sign of a true BHPian.

Man...that is some data you've got. Excellent record keeping. It clearly shows the attachment towards the car.
Thanks mate. This is one spreadsheet that I can't live without. (Though a bit of exaggeration) I can forget to eat or drink, but never to update the record

Wishing you all the best and also let us know which car you are going to book. I see your posts regularly on the New Verna and New Fiesta threads.
True, currently I am at the crossroads of upgrading. Definitely Verna, Vento & Fiesta are at the top of my list. However I am in no hurry & want to bid adieu to my beauty only after celebrating her 8th b'day. If fiat launches the Linea or Bravo with 1.6L multijet by then, then I won't be looking at anything else.
Old 12th July 2011, 11:35   #45

True, currently I am at the crossroads of upgrading. Definitely Verna, Vento & Fiesta are at the top of my list. However I am in no hurry & want to bid adieu to my beauty only after celebrating her 8th b'day. If fiat launches the Linea or Bravo with 1.6L multijet by then, then I won't be looking at anything else.
No car from the TATA stable? That is strange coming from a long term Indica owner Or maybe that is the reason for TATA not being in the list

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com