Old 12th May 2011, 10:30   #166

re: FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion

Hemanth, I would really appreciate if you share the pics after having done the modifications.

Originally Posted by shk 8896 View Post
Also have you planned to smoke head lamps also?
errr...wouldn't smoking the headlights impair the visibility?
Old 12th May 2011, 11:56   #167

I don't want to post random pictures. I feel I doesn't do justice to my italian beauty.
Over the weekend and the next Monday, I'm driving to Manipal and that will give me a very good oppurtunity to click some nice ones.
Sorry guys, you'll have to wait till tuesday or wednesday of next week for some pictures.
I understand that waiting is tough but I'll try to make it worthwhile.
I'm also holding my excitement with a lot of effort.

Meanwhile, let me give a list of cosmetic mods done on my car.

The red Abarth stripes, The red mirror caps, alloy wheels and tyres were done around a month ago.

Mods done last Saturday:
1. Black grilles - I purchased active grilles and replaced my present grey ones with them
2. Front abarth logo
3. Rear abarth logo - it is smaller than the fiat logo so there is some gap around this (they had embossed the hatch to fit the bigger fiat logo) It doesn't look awkward though
4. Red paints for the front brake calipers an rear brake drums
5. Abarth wheel caps for the alloys
6. Blackened the fog lamp covers
7. Black spoiler - Purchased the unpainted OE fiat spoiler and put vinyl black stickers
8. Philips diamond vision head lamps - White light

Mods planned:
1. Scorpion logo on the dash - I'll do it this weekend
2. Abarth logos on the side - Yet to decide whether to go for this or not (I'm slightly worried of this being stolen ).
3. Armrest like in linea - need 4 parts in total for this. I have already purchased two and waiting for the other two
hemanth.anand is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th May 2011, 12:26   #168

Is your Punto something like this now?I am eagerly waiting for the pics.Any plans for engine mods?Why don't you get the headlamps blackened as in this picture?Also heard that amrest of the swift can also suit that of punto with slight cutting of base.Reference from soccerfan's punto review.
FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-2541.jpg  

Old 12th May 2011, 12:31   #169

@Hemanth.anand:
Yaar, atleast give us a slight preview of the car with the mods, and as always you can upload the rest of snaps later once you come back from the trip.
Btw, I feel instead of buying grill, you could have also got the same painted.

Last edited by manson : 12th May 2011 at 14:37.
Old 12th May 2011, 12:36   #170

I wanted to have those blackened headlamps but smoking the glass alone will reduce the amount of light.
So I will try to source a new headlamp unit with black inside.
Swift have many such aftermarket accessories available. but for Punto it will take time before anything is available locally.
I will have to find somebody preferably in London for this purpose. London is the best place IMO for punto accesories.

I have put light sunfilms on the taillamps. Tried doing the same on the headlamps but sunfilms are difficult to stick on curved surfaces like the headlamp.

Any place where I can get this or is there someone who might get it for me??

Is your Punto something like this now?I am eagerly waiting for the pics.Any plans for engine mods?Why don't you get the headlamps blackened as in this picture?Also heard that amrest of the swift can also suit that of punto with slight cutting of base.Reference from soccerfan's punto review.
Its not exactly looking like the picture you've put - My car's bonnet is still white.
Engine mods planned only after the warranty expires.
The armrest of linea fits perfectly...so didn't want to do any cut-paste jobs

Originally Posted by Schoudhury View Post
Yaar
At-least give us a slight preview of the car with the mods, and as always you can upload the rest of snaps later once you come back from the trip.
Bdw, i just fell instead of buying grill ,you could have got the same painted also , right.

I didn't want to post all these either...but one post from shk8896 made me to post all these.
You see I'm also eagerly waiting show my car to you guys Hope you understand.
Till now, I've done all the modifications such that switching back to the original look will also be easy.
Thats the reason why i bought black grilles instead of getting it painted. And also the paint quality issues is taken care of.
I still have kept the original white mirror caps, grey grilles and fiat logos.
And for the same reason I have got the spoilers and fog lamp covers stickered but not painted.

Last edited by manson : 12th May 2011 at 14:36. Reason: Kindly use Edit button to merge posts whilst posting within twenty minutes from the first post.
Old 18th May 2011, 14:39   #171

Sorry guys,
Here comes the pictures of my beauty from the drive to Manipal last weekend...
comments and suggestions please...
FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8382.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8387.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8390.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8423.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8574.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8638.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8640.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8645.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8808.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8352.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8357.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-dsc_8395.jpg  

hemanth.anand is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th May 2011, 16:49   #172

Hemanth I have to admit bro, you have quite honestly turned a Beauty into a Beast!!!

Guess the snap don't do justice to the stunner it is in person. You probably would not do justice if you don't meet up in person for me to have a look. LOL

How is the "Engine performance" post these mods? Is there any lag when the AC is turned on or with 4 adults on board??
Old 20th May 2011, 20:14   #173

Killer looking Punto.Nice and neat, Hemanth.But those "HANGING" twin tail pipes look a bit cheap and throw away those cheap mudflaps.Also the car cries for a black roof.Then it would be mind blowing.
Old 22nd May 2011, 10:08   #174

Killer looking Punto.Nice and neat, Hemanth.But those "HANGING" twin tail pipes look a bit cheap and throw away those cheap mudflaps.Also the car cries for a black roof.Then it would be mind blowing.
Thankyou very much krishna for your compliments.

The twin tail pipes are a tad longer I felt and because The OE tail pipe is a bent towards the ground and this pipe exaggerates that angle.
It has reduced the ground clearance and actually hit many potholes and humps during my last weekend and today's trip.

Black roof will come up soon
Old 22nd May 2011, 23:24   #175

Hemanth.
All i can say is "Awesome Mate" .
I think your punto is the best looking punto i have seen till now .
Also let us know if you are getting the roof painted or again vinyled .

Old 23rd May 2011, 12:17   #176

Hemanth.
All i can say is "Awesome Mate" .
I think your punto is the best looking punto i have seen till now .
Also let us know if you are getting the roof painted or again vinyled .

Thanks Schoudhury
Paint or Vinyl...I've not yet decided...My inclination at present is towards vinyl.
I will also look at the carbon fibre sticker possibility.

Out of the three, whichever impresses me will go on my punto...oops...abarth

My car's ODO now stands at 14905kms after another trip last weekend.

Getting ready for the 2nd service...I'm preparing a list of small problems for the service.
Old 23rd May 2011, 12:38   #177

Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
Thanks Schoudhury
Paint or Vinyl...I've not yet decided...My inclination at present is towards vinyl.
I will also look at the carbon fibre sticker possibility.

Out of the three, whichever impresses me will go on my punto...oops...abarth

My car's ODO now stands at 14905kms after another trip last weekend.

Getting ready for the 2nd service...I'm preparing a list of small problems for the service.
Ya carbon fibre, will be a good .
Keep us posted, im also planning to do the same for my Ritz also .

Old 24th May 2011, 14:02   #178

Ya carbon fibre, will be a good .
Keep us posted, im also planning to do the same for my Ritz also .

Whatever are the mods done on my car, it will come up first on TBHP

Ok I have to report an Incident with my car.
This happened on 10-May-2011.
My sister and brother-in-law had taken my car out to book their Polo.
On the way back they wanted to purchase some electronic goods.
They had stopped in front of the Devi showroom in Jayanagar 1st block.
The car was parked just below the "P" board.

After their shopping, they came back to see that the mirror and the red mirror caps on my car were gone.
There was a Mango vendor on his cycle near by. They asked him if he knew anything about that.

Luckily for me, he had the mirror caps, My mirror glass broken and another vehicle's mirror glass.

After they came back home, They showed me all the parts.
I saw the other car's mirror and it was a Honda. Then I saw the shape-it was a civic.

The Civic must have hit his left mirror to my car's right mirror.
due to the force, my mirror glass was broken into two pieces and the mirror caps must have come off.
His mirror glass also fell down after turning my mirror backwards.

Luckily Fiat gives just the mirror glass as a spare. I got the mirror glass fitted for Rs. 260/-

Below are the photos...
FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-110520111029.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-110520111030.jpg  

FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-110520111031.jpg  

Old 24th May 2011, 16:22   #179

Thats the best part about the mirror. Its just 250 odd bucks. Else One needs to end up paying a lot more to replace the OVRMs.

These small but significant facts are always ignored by the Car buying public.
Old 24th May 2011, 16:37   #180

Yes I have now explained these things to almost all my relatives and many of my friends. But very few understand

My colleague once broke the mirror caps of his swift and he was instructed by the MS service guys that he needs to replace the whole mirror assembly which was costing around 1.5k(I don't remember the exact price).

He later went to a scrap dealer and got the mirror assembly of some swift for some Rs.500.

Ok by the way...my car reached a new landmark...see the photo below
FIAT-Ferrari in affordable trim - My Grande Punto 1.2 Emotion-190520111051.jpg

232 days and 14000kms...average of 65kms per day