Team-BHP - Honda CBR 250R : Answers to some commonly asked questions
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Motorbikes (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorbikes/)
-   -   Honda CBR 250R : Answers to some commonly asked questions (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorbikes/118403-honda-cbr-250r-answers-some-commonly-asked-questions-11.html)

Quote:

Originally Posted by sanjaybabu (Post 3017824)
Firstly, I have been driving for the past 6 years

RIDING, I suppose

Quote:

and every time...during emergency braking conditions. Is this right?

Not sure, if I've understood things right, but there're lot & lot to post, it's not one simple scenario as the clutch can be engaged in 100 different occasion.

Quote:

Doesn't use of excessive engine braking damage the gearbox?

Define excess? 5K RPM downshift? 6K RPM downshift? 7K RPM downshift? 8K RPM downshift?

Quote:

I did try using engine braking as a normal method of braking but it sounds too harsh on the engine and gearbox. Can engine braking used at all times?

Like I said, quantify them because, 5K isn't excessive + excessive is an abstract term & to each his own.

Quote:

I also plan to change the engine oil. I have been using Honda's engine oil till now, planning on switching to Shell Ultra 10w-40, is this advisable?

10W-40 is THICKER grade of engine oil than HMSI supplied 10W30; From my EXPERIENCE of using 10W30, 300V 10W40 Factoryline & Shell Ultra 10W40 (again, there're two variants, pls be specific about the MRP, cover of the can etc to distinguish them). Have found Shell Ultra to be slightly superior than Motul 10W40 which is way ahead superior than HMSI 10W30 engine oil.

But again, if I were you, I wouldn't recommend switching the engine oil until the warranty expires; not that Shell Ultra, Mobil, Motul or any god damn thing might harm, but, something goes wrong, putting things back to place becomes mighty expensive.

Quote: