Old 7th October 2009, 20:56   #451

Although this price may be above the reach of a huge percentage of prospective buyers, there will be a fair demand from the folks who want to have a high performance bike. Agreed, ~ Rs 3L isn't in everyone's budget for a set of 2 wheels. (but gotta agree, 2 pretty good wheels these are! )
Old 8th October 2009, 02:26   #452

If you all want high-resolution Ninja 250 photos, let me know. I have access to Kawasaki's Media website, so I can get all their high-res images.
Old 8th October 2009, 03:05   #453

Originally Posted by Proxima
The P220 should have the best figures here, right?
Ah yes, my bad. The new 220 does have the most bang for buck...!

Originally Posted by Technocrat
The Discover/TVS flame has better speedo than the ZMA, does that make them better than ZMA?
You're missing the point, dear friend. When you're paying through your nose, you ought to get what you're paying for. If the Discover/Flame has better clocks (actually, I think otherwise; only the R15's clocks look expensive enough), that emphasizes the fact that HH could have done much better; which I think they have, with the ZMR. If Kawasaki had preferred function over form, I could have understood. But this....

I think you are quoting the price of US spec bike, this one is Euro spec which is roughly 2.5L INR
Actually, machines are far more expensive in Europe than elsewhere (barring India, of course). Also, European prices aren't indicative of the world-wide MSRP (max. suggested retail price).

Its CKD (Completely Knocked Down)
Ah. Sorry. I was under the impression that it's an SKD, as was the news given to me (engine & frame, panels, wiring/suspension imported as whole assemblies, and then assembled). If it's a CKD, that's great...! This means Bajaj's margins are pretty decent on the Ninja, and they can afford to bring in the biggies at significantly cheaper prices than the CBUs; which seems very likely considering the commitment they are showing...!

Wait & watch
Errr.....is that good or bad? I hope you meant that positively (although that sounded ominous..)

P.S - Vert1go, kindly post 'em, if you can. Else provide links, which'd be great. Better yet, provide some of the ZX linkies too. the new 6R &10R are scrumptious.

Last edited by veyron1 : 8th October 2009 at 03:07.
Old 8th October 2009, 03:18   #454

Veyron1, I have the full specs and gallery of the 2010 ZX-6R right here: Kawasaki News: 2010 Ninja ZX-6R

Also, here are some US-spec Ninja 250 pics. If there are any other Kawasaki models you want photos of, just let me know
2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jaf_40093_a_rgb.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jafa_40090_r_rgb.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jafa_40091_r_rgb.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jafa_40092_a_rgb.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jafa_40092_d1_rgb.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jafa_40090_d1_rgb.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-ex250jaf_40093_d1_rgb.jpg  

Old 8th October 2009, 06:24   #455

Isn't Rs 3 lakhs for a 250 twin way too expensive relative to the pricing of other bikes in India? At that price, it needs to be a 500/550 at least. For its size and specs, given what is available in India in the 150-225 cc displacement, albeit single cylinder, a total of Rs 2 lakhs is the most that I would be willing to pay. Actually, not even that, personally, it does not do enough over the current high performance Indian bikes to justify even Rs 2 lakhs. I imagine that a Yamaha, Bajaj or TVS could put out a 250 twin for Rs 1.5 lakhs, tops, as soon as they thought there was a decent volume available for the bike.
What we need in India is a touring/sports touring bike and that means displacement of close to 500cc, twin, refined and reliable, and with enough grunt to carry two people/luggage while keeping up with the speeds on Indian roads.
I have a feeling that a 250 twin falls between two stools, unless priced at Rs 1.4/1.5 lakhs.
Old 8th October 2009, 06:51   #456

Here are the original pics...

Guys here are the original pics of Baby Ninja from Pune..!!!!!
2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0130.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0131.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0132.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0133.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0134.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0135.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0136.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0137.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0138.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0139.jpg  

Old 8th October 2009, 06:56   #457

Some More....

Guys price is tooooo High.... If it would have been max 2.2 on road would have made a big hit....
2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0140.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0141.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0142.jpg  

2010 Kawasaki Ninja 250R. EDIT - Launched at Rs. 2.7L Ex Showroom-img_0143.jpg  

Old 8th October 2009, 07:35   #458

Really cool pics. Why is the floor covered with what looks like bolts?
Old 8th October 2009, 07:45   #459

Heres the link to the Ninja 250 Launch event and a few Hi-res Ninja pics from after the launch.

Kawasaki Ninja 250R Presentation and Unveiling - a set on Flickr

Kawasaki Ninja 250R Up Close - a set on Flickr
Old 8th October 2009, 07:46   #460

Originally Posted by Sawyer View Post
What we need in India is a touring/sports touring bike and that means displacement of close to 500cc, twin, refined and reliable, and with enough grunt to carry two people/luggage while keeping up with the speeds on Indian roads.
I have a feeling that a 250 twin falls between two stools, unless priced at Rs 1.4/1.5 lakhs.
@Saywer, the big bad bike game has just started in India with the advent of the Yaam R-15 and the Ninja. You will get 500-ers very soon IMHO.

Originally Posted by Vert1go View Post
Also, here are some US-spec Ninja 250 pics. If there are any other Kawasaki models you want photos of, just let me know
Nice pics. Thanks for sharing, I like the green and the blue shade the most, the red is more Govindaish, and you will not get what I mean by Govindaish.
Originally Posted by vinjaram View Post
Some More....

Guys price is tooooo High.... If it would have been max 2.2 on road would have made a big hit....
Thanks for the probiking showroom photos the last one was the best and it has to be the best to attract the customers to the showroom.
What I am thinking is if HH makes the HH ZMA more sportier looking and throws in a 250cc screemer, boy, the Ninja is out. Ninja will have more like an 'H' badge image shared by Honda cars.

Originally Posted by Vert1go View Post
Why is the floor covered with what looks like bolts?
Initial niggles, parts falling off on already ???

Last edited by prince_pervez : 8th October 2009 at 07:48.
Old 8th October 2009, 08:03   #461

Hmm, that price just pushes it inches away from what I could reach. Anyway good at least that Bajaj has taken the dive and I get a feeling they have decent profits in mind for this launch.
Also reminds me what the Bajaj service center owner I know predicted about this Ninja's fate, "Like the F650", err.. have to wait and see.
Old 8th October 2009, 08:05   #462

Well however I calculate the price will not let me buy this anytime soon ( sigh ) I had made up my mind to get it nearer to the 2L price point and had lined up the financing too but now.
Life goes on, and maybe the newer models from the TVS ( if it comes ) or Yamaha or Honda will be priced lesser than this. then it will be fun.
Old 8th October 2009, 08:33   #463

Originally Posted by zaks View Post
Bajaj service center owner I know predicted about this Ninja's fate, "Like the F650", err.. have to wait and see.
Given the fact that the last few F650s were sold at 2 lakhs, will "wait and see" policy help here too?

Honestly, I feel it should not be the case with Ninja. Success of this bike will definitely spur other industry biggies to launch comparable or better products.
Old 8th October 2009, 09:39   #464

no, this price may increase. why? where's that ultimate Indian innovation safety feature 'The saree guard'
Old 8th October 2009, 10:21   #465

Aspirational Bajaj!

Who would've thought that someday a Bajaj would be out of reach for most! Look how far this humble maker of scooters has come! Bravo!

But seriously, 3L on-road would be too much for many, and for this very reason maybe the R15's sales could rocket! I mean people who crave for the Ninja, but couldnt afford it, would decide to pay a lakh and settle for the R15. I know i might. Moreover, the R15 would surely have a lighter and more nimble feel in traffic, where these bikes would spend most of their days.
The Ninja would rock on the highways tho