Old 3rd September 2018, 13:09   #106

Re: Is it worth buying a Yamaha RD350 now?

Call what ever you want to call it, but I would prefer a bike which is a proper crotch rocket without biting it, has reliable parts and engineering, isn't plagued by hoarders, doesn't send me to history classes on "how things were in past", and doesn't make me selectively biased just because I own one, or just because it can't be bought any more off the shelf.I own quite a few motorcycle my self and hardly use my car, and I know what a great pleasure it is to know that, no matter what may happen to your beloved or what part is getting worn, you can alway repair it your self at a fraction of cost that you are going to spend on that proverbial third world classic of yours.
No offence to none, but the parts cost of D390 isn't really that pricy, the rear brake pads come for 250 INR from a non ASC store, and a chain sprocket set from the ASC will cost you around 3000 INR, "off the shelf" you don't have to depend upon so called "Facebook visionaries" who have hoarded it.
I agree that the bike set race tracks across the country on fire, and I know about Mr. Gurminder Singh( associated with him through another biking community), who has been competing on such machines post Yezdi era, but these things happened before MSD and JA, the credit for popularising it goes to these people, if people wanted Dhoni' hair style and John's muscle then why not their bikes. Again the history regarding the richness of India and our "national abstinance" from the luxury item isn't really true, even if we trust wikipedia, the number of power hungry enthusiasts can't really be just 7000, add to that all the PR that company did and the institutional sales.
I am saying all this as it not always about " angoor khatte hain" but many a times its about " apne dahi ko bhala kon khatta kehta hai".
Hope I made my point clear, how ever here is one last thing on that legendary status of RD350 abroad, comeon they have had way better machine which were way more legendry in every sense, be it Vincents, broughs, or the benchmark of reliability and performance Honda CB series.

Last edited by silvr : 3rd September 2018 at 13:23. Reason: Typo errors
Old 3rd September 2018, 14:22   #107

Originally Posted by silvr View Post
Call what ever you want to call it, but I would prefer a bike which is a proper crotch rocket without biting it, has reliable parts and engineering, isn't plagued by hoarders, doesn't send me to history classes on "how things were in past", and doesn't make me selectively biased just because I own one, or just because it can't be bought any more off the shelf.I own quite a few motorcycle my self and hardly use my car, and I know what a great pleasure it is to know that, no matter what may happen to your beloved or what part is getting worn, you can alway repair it your self at a fraction of cost that you are going to spend on that proverbial third world classic of yours.
No offence to none, but the parts cost of D390 isn't really that pricy, the rear brake pads come for 250 INR from a non ASC store, and a chain sprocket set from the ASC will cost you around 3000 INR, "off the shelf" you don't have to depend upon so called "Facebook visionaries" who have hoarded it.
I agree that the bike set race tracks across the country on fire, and I know about Mr. Gurminder Singh( associated with him through another biking community), who has been competing on such machines post Yezdi era, but these things happened before MSD and JA, the credit for popularising it goes to these people, if people wanted Dhoni' hair style and John's muscle then why not their bikes. Again the history regarding the richness of India and our "national abstinance" from the luxury item isn't really true, even if we trust wikipedia, the number of power hungry enthusiasts can't really be just 7000, add to that all the PR that company did and the institutional sales.
I am saying all this as it not always about " angoor khatte hain" but many a times its about " apne dahi ko bhala kon khatta kehta hai".
Hope I made my point clear, how ever here is one last thing on that legendary status of RD350 abroad, comeon they have had way better machine which were way more legendry in every sense, be it Vincents, broughs, or the benchmark of reliability and performance Honda CB series.

You are definitely in the wrong thread man, looks like you have been taken for a ride by hoarders. Nevermind, your one post is not going to change anything. You are free to believe what you wanted to believe, about MSD and John Abraham included

This bike holds a special place in people's heart, Those who wish to own one will lurk in this thread and will find something useful. Trust me I meet people who think like you everyday They are my colleagues, my friends and also some from my family, I have been having this discussion with each one of them, ultimately there are new people buying these and ex owners regretting their sale.

The world is a mixed bag, people with your views don't make a difference to those who own one or would like to own one.

Pramod
pramodkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2018, 16:06   #108

Originally Posted by pramodkumar View Post
You are definitely in the wrong thread man, looks like you have been taken for a ride by hoarders. Nevermind, your one post is not going to change anything. You are free to believe what you wanted to believe, about MSD and John Abraham included

This bike holds a special place in people's heart, Those who wish to own one will lurk in this thread and will find something useful. Trust me I meet people who think like you everyday They are my colleagues, my friends and also some from my family, I have been having this discussion with each one of them, ultimately there are new people buying these and ex owners regretting their sale.

The world is a mixed bag, people with your views don't make a difference to those who own one or would like to own one.

Pramod
Not really, I am in the correct thread,I guess you need to re-read the title of the thread, it doesn't read "is there any RD for sale" so putting up my point in consonance with the title as to why not it is worth buying one , I sure am in the correct thread.AIso I am not here to create a revolution either, I am putting up the things which are substantial reality of the classic RD market. I trust you, and trust me on this when I say I meet enthusiasts like you too, who at the initial stage seem all genuine and DIY champion, but some how they want to hand it over to the worthy enthusiasts..
As of making difference, it certainly does, none my friends got an RD post my experience sharing with them, and let me tell you, once they too were hell bent on getting one, and soon resorted to current crop of performers (and that simply doesn't mean D390)
Yes the world is mixed bag of people, and there is always a good amount of rich new enthusiasts to make fool of, atleast through this forum they could also learn about the lemony part of owning one.
"No one can stop an idea, the time for which has arrived. ",and no matter how hard you try, the number of actual buyers and not just "price please" requests, is dropping.

Silvr
silvr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2018, 16:52   #109

Not really, I am in the correct thread,I guess you need to re-read the title of the thread, it doesn't read "is there any RD for sale" so putting up my point in consonance with the title as to why not it is worth buying one , I sure am in the correct thread.AIso I am not here to create a revolution either, I am putting up the things which are substantial reality of the classic RD market.
Maybe you are, maybe you are not. The "classic RD" is not a market place where all the trades happen, There are segments in this market, one where clean bikes change hands at good price, one where mediocre bikes demand sky high price etc. You at least don't seem very well versed with the market where these bikes were appreciated, South India. In Kerala you will see at least 500 bikes mostly mint, so I am sure so many people cant be wrong or are they missing something?

I trust you, and trust me on this when I say I meet enthusiasts like you too, who at the initial stage seem all genuine and DIY champion, but some how they want to hand it over to the worthy enthusiasts..
Thank you for judging me, This is now getting way too personal. I don't have to prove my credentials to you.

As of making difference, it certainly does, none my friends got an RD post my experience sharing with them, and let me tell you, once they too were hell bent on getting one, and soon resorted to current crop of performers (and that simply doesn't mean D390)
Yes the world is mixed bag of people, and there is always a good amount of rich new enthusiasts to make fool of, atleast through this forum they could also learn about the lemony part of owning one.
"No one can stop an idea, the time for which has arrived. ",and no matter how hard you try, the number of actual buyers and not just "price please" requests, is dropping.

Silvr

Thanks, because of your advise the world is a better place for all your friends who have listened to your advise and have followed them to the T.

Pramod

Last edited by pramodkumar : 3rd September 2018 at 16:55.
Old 3rd September 2018, 17:51   #110

Mod Note: A reminder of our forum rules. STRICTLY no personal attacks please.
Old 5th September 2018, 00:07   #111

Chanced up on this thread today.

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Still makes me smile. Of course it’s a lot different (better, more manic) from what it was back then - mechanically- but is cosmetically in the same condition.
Knowing what you have done to her mechanically "manic" would be a mild word !

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Originally Posted by sureshkishore
The rare ones that run well are not for sale.
y.
Amen!
Have to add here another emphatic Amen !

Originally Posted by navin_v8 View Post
Good that there are a few ones like us or else the world would becoming a big boring place with everyone being "practical".

It's like most of the RD enthusiasts say, "There are many bikes one can buy and then there is The Yamaha RD350."
Happy that we are able to make this world a slightly more interesting place!

This bike holds a special place in people's heart
Very true Parmod. It tends to become an addiction. Whatever other bikes one might own and use the "grin" that comes to ones face when one gets on to his RD350 is something special.

Here's my reason for the "grin" for the past 33 years since the day I took delivery of her from the Trivandrum showroom of Escorts on 22 March 1985 - one of the few "single owner" bikes in existence today in India

Is it worth buying a Yamaha RD350 now?-img_2506aa.jpg

All are entitled to there own opinion and no one can correct them.

One of the other "single owner" bikes (was in Pune) recently changed hands for more than 20 times original purchase price the owner paid in 1984 (owner was forced to pass her off due to certain health conditions, that made ridding rather impossible for him).

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
r_nairtvm is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th September 2018, 09:14   #112

Originally Posted by r_nairtvm View Post
Here's my reason for the "grin" for the past 33 years since the day I took delivery of her from the Trivandrum showroom of Escorts on 22 March 1985 - one of the few "single owner" bikes in existence today in India

Attachment 1796193

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
Time for some elbow grease, this will shine like a diamond.

example below(already posted in the previous page, but what the heck?)

Pramod

Last edited by pramodkumar : 5th September 2018 at 09:15.
pramodkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2018, 13:14   #113

RD350s are becoming rarer and harder to find. it was always a cult bike and in another decade will reach vintage status.
yes it is definitely worth buying and preserving it for the future.

i have been looking for one over a year and nothing is cheap 2.5-4 lakhs. just for resale value alone it is worth it.

all i need is a frame or junk to build it to my specifications and i cant find it. though this thread is 10 years old i can say peoples perception of this bike has changed. its a keeper
gt_mustang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2018, 23:53   #114

Originally Posted by r_nairtvm View Post

Saw this parked outside a garage in Kaimanam. I am not sure if this is an RD 350 even. Looked good cosmetically. This was the only pic I could manage while waiting at a signal on the opp lane.

Is it worth buying a Yamaha RD350 now?-20180917_111613.jpg
Jaguar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st September 2018, 07:23   #115

Originally Posted by Jaguar View Post
Saw this parked outside a garage in Kaimanam. I am not sure if this is an RD 350 even. Looked good cosmetically. This was the only pic I could manage while waiting at a signal on the opp lane.
I believe I've seen this before, the owner is part of the Trivandrum Yezdi/Jawa group, have spotted the Twin at Manaveeyam Veedhi at times.
Old 21st September 2018, 18:03   #116

Attachment 1800582
That is Jawa 350 Ramesh - rarer than RD 350.
somspaple is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2018, 18:10   #117

I am not sure if this is an RD 350 even. Looked good cosmetically.
Well, it says 'Jawa'.
(Incidentally, many years back of course, saw quite a few of these in Egypt. Wonder if there was local manufacturing there or not.

@R Nair: You as old as me!?

Sutripta
Sutripta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2018, 22:55   #118

Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post
Well, it says 'Jawa'.

I have never seen a Jawa before and assumed it was a stickering job especially since the paint and stickers looked new

A quick google search for Jawa Motorcycle doesn't bring anything that looks like this though. Which model is this?

Last edited by Jaguar : 21st September 2018 at 23:00.
Old 21st September 2018, 23:44   #119

I have never seen a Jawa before and assumed it was a stickering job especially since the paint and stickers looked new

A quick google search for Jawa Motorcycle doesn't bring anything that looks like this though. Which model is this?
It is the Yezdi 350, stickered as JAWA.

Image courtesy: Google search
Is it worth buying a Yamaha RD350 now?-images-15.jpeg  

KA18 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2018, 10:25   #120

Is it worth buying a Yamaha RD350 now?-20161226_190904.jpg

I think we should ask the owner of this RD is it worth???