Old 27th January 2015, 00:51   #91

Re: Suzuki Fiero - Passion Reignited

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
That's what running in my mind. As you mentioned they were 2014 packed we could only get the clutch springs for the price that you mentioned earlier. BTW what brand are they?
They are TVS brand. I did enquire with a known person at a SS in Pune and he said that TVS has not compromised on quality and all parts are at par with what Suzuki offered in the initial days.
Old 29th January 2015, 20:56   #92

Originally Posted by Intrepidspy View Post
They are TVS brand. I did enquire with a known person at a SS in Pune and he said that TVS has not compromised on quality and all parts are at par with what Suzuki offered in the initial days.
No compromise on quality by TVS - Mostly yes

But, ask any Fiero nut or specialist and they always have three inferior spare parts to name on the TVS Fiero.
1. Clutch plates
2. Engine block (cylinder build)
3. Exhaust pipe (Does not sound as crisp as the Suzuki)
Old 5th June 2015, 16:49   #93

I just got the bike serviced. I had to change the accelerator cable, clutch cable and tail lamp bulb. Went for shell advance engine oil. The bike feels as good as new.

The battery is weak, have to get it changed. The bike has run close to 45,500 kms.
Old 5th June 2015, 16:51   #94

Pictures of my newly painted Fiero (2000):
The front dome looks great. Which one is that?
Old 8th June 2015, 19:11   #95

Originally Posted by PatienceWins View Post
The front dome looks great. Which one is that?
The dome is from Fiero FX. Went through a lot of running around for that.
The beam spread is superb for a 35/35 Watt due to the larger diameter.
Intrepidspy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 13:05   #96

Can someone let me know where can I source a fiero FX headlight assembly in bangalore? I know that J C Road is the place to go to for such items but knowing which store to go to would be nice. Also, has anyone tried replacing the stock wheels with alloys? If yes, then, could you kindly share your experience?
Old 22nd September 2015, 21:10   #97

Re-igniting the passion, I have recently done the paint-job (black) on my 2000 model Fiero.
Hi Intrepidspy, where did you finally get the gold color Suzuki stickers? I have a Fiero with similar decals and the tank has lot of scratches, I guess, I do need these, if I have to go for complete paint.

@ Friends, can someone please suggest a good place to get my Fiero re-painted (black)?

In addition I have following immediate things to get it fixed:
- Rear shocks. Will explore the suggestion by @mashmash for gas based shock absorbers. What was the total cost, BTW?
- Oil leak from engine block. Like @fieroid/Joel mentioned, it could be the gasket issue. Need to look for a good mechanic (Service at authorized TVS showrooms so far - around HSR/Koramangala/Marathahalli and including Castrol bike zone on ORR - did not help)
- Broken plastic parts (side covers, etc.), If I can get them fixed to ensure original decals, will be great.

Once these essentials are done, I'd like to see, if I can replace stock head-lamp with a projector one.

Any details/help around this in Bangalore and a suggestion for a mechanic would be great.

I did ~70K on my 2001 model fiero and except the above minor issues, it still runs very well. Pick-up is good and I still clock 50-55 Kmpl. I service it every 2K KM with an oil-change.

Glad to know, there are still good number of Fiero owners!

Kishor
kishoryk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2015, 16:54   #98

Hi Kishor,

I did search for the original Fiero decals before the paint job but the Golden color decals are no longer available. I settled for a closest match (without the glitter) procured from one of the number plate artists here in Pune.
You can replace the stock headlight with a round one from Fiero FX (difficult to find) or Suzuki Samurai. Stick to a 35/35 H4 setup if you don't plan to upgrade the coil.
Intrepidspy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2016, 18:35   #99

Mine is all Stock Fiero.
Can someone suggest an appropriate replacement for the rear shocks without changing the swing-arm? What are the available options and prices involved.

Also where can i source FCC-rico clutch plates? Do the plates of any of the current Suzuki bikes (Zeus, Heat, Gixxer, GS 150R or Hayate) can be fitted??

Please give your inputs.
Old 31st May 2016, 14:50   #100

Any Passionate fiero guy who can help!
Old 28th August 2016, 20:35   #101

I tried starting the bike after a gap of six months as I was out of station. It was not firing and I started it after a lot of effort. It was jerking a lot and I took it to a nearby mechanic. He said that the petrol is spoiled as the bike was unused for long and drained the petrol - still there is some mild jerking.

The air screw on the carburetor is jammed and he says the only option is to replace the carburetor. Which is the carburetor I can get for Fiero?

My old mechanic has become an enfield mechanic. Any competent mechanic or place near Marathahlli that is good with Fiero?

The seat lock is jammed and is not turning. If it does not work after lubricating, I need to break it and fit another lock.

Planning to go with gas shocks in the next service. Another modification in mind is to get a swing arm.
PatienceWins is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2016, 20:20   #102

I have a 2000 model Suzuki Fiero (the first set of bikes with Suzuki insignia). I have been getting it serviced at regular TVS showrooms but I am not satisfied. The bike has lost it's sheen around plastics and metal parts of the body. Also I need to change the shock absorbers too.

I go to Enfield showroom once in a while but every time come back satisfied with what I have in Fiero - as such it runs very well from pick-up, mileage, comfort - no issues at all. But it needs a little sprucing up. It got bruises at some places!

In Bangalore, can someone please suggest a mechanic who can take the bike in and return it in a completely revamped one? Getting denting, painting work done, replace parts, fix any minor issues, covert the electricals into DC, add any useful accessories (like better head lights w/o changing the original shell), etc...

I'll be grateful any recommendation for a Fiero expert mechanic please.

Thank you!
kishoryk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th September 2016, 07:14   #103

Originally Posted by kishoryk View Post
I have a 2000 model Suzuki Fiero (the first set of bikes with Suzuki insignia). I have been getting it serviced at regular TVS showrooms but I am not satisfied. The bike has lost it's sheen around plastics and metal parts of the body. Also I need to change the shock absorbers too.

I go to Enfield showroom once in a while but every time come back satisfied with what I have in Fiero - as such it runs very well from pick-up, mileage, comfort - no issues at all. But it needs a little sprucing up. It got bruises at some places!

In Bangalore, can someone please suggest a mechanic who can take the bike in and return it in a completely revamped one? Getting denting, painting work done, replace parts, fix any minor issues, covert the electricals into DC, add any useful accessories (like better head lights w/o changing the original shell), etc...

I'll be grateful any recommendation for a Fiero expert mechanic please.

Thank you!
The Fiero shares some of the basic mechanicals with the RTR. Once the current bore wears out, you can replace it with the parts that of the RTR series. In this way you can get better performance with stock parts. Since you want to have better lights, you can convert the electricals to DC and mount LED aux lights. There is a shop called ruby electricals, dont know if it is still functional.
rakesh_r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th March 2017, 18:43   #104

Changed the stock carburetor to Pulsar as there was missing and the bike is running as good as new. I plan to change the shock absorber to the gas shocks from RTR soon.
PatienceWins is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th August 2017, 16:21   #105

I got the bike serviced. The service cost came to R.1600, with clutch overhaul and the usual service.

Fixed gas shock absorber from Apache 160 and the ride/ handling has improved a lot. The bike is more composed on bad roads. The cost of Shock absorber is 3800.

It is reliable, as good as new after 17 years, and hope it will stay so.

The odo reading now is around 45000. It should be easily around 55000 as the odometer did not work for a long time.

Last edited by PatienceWins : 12th August 2017 at 16:23.