Old 25th June 2013, 20:54   #436

Re: Tata Nano : Test Drive & Review

Originally Posted by avingodb View Post
Replaced the wiper as the last one was leaving some swipe marks right across my eye-level. However, even the new one is doing the same.
Next time around will look for Bosch one. Has anyone used Bosch (or other) blades for Nano?
Try using the full rubber wiper blades like provided in Punto/Linea.
These wipers are best and have a relatively good lifespan than the regular ones. I think Bosch is manufacturing these blades for Nano too.
Old 26th June 2013, 12:01   #437

Nano car drives into Guinness World Records for driving the longest journey

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/tata-nano.../401808-3.html
Old 26th June 2013, 12:09   #438

Replaced the wiper as the last one was leaving some swipe marks right across my eye-level. However, even the new one is doing the same.
Next time around will look for Bosch one. Has anyone used Bosch (or other) blades for Nano?
Not used the Bosch ones but I am using Hella for my Nano (26"). Gives a clean swipe and lasts longer than the standard Syndicate ones.
Old 26th June 2013, 12:11   #439

Originally Posted by sujay bhandare View Post
I think Bosch is manufacturing these blades for Nano too.
Yes
I saw it online. I did not go for it in the first place because I was under the impression that it would be more expensive and a replacement from workshop would work better than the old one. However, online search revealed that the Bosch-Nano wiper is for Rs. 240 whereas for Tata wiper I paid Rs. 175.

Originally Posted by amtak View Post
Hella gives a clean swipe and lasts longer than the standard Syndicate ones.
thanks a lot, will check.

Last edited by avingodb : 26th June 2013 at 12:13. Reason: added second quote
Old 26th June 2013, 13:04   #440

Yes
However, online search revealed that the Bosch-Nano wiper is for Rs. 240 whereas for Tata wiper I paid Rs. 175.
Yeah the later one is costlier than the regular wiper blade. But this one gives a significant and clean wipe as compared to the original wiper design.

My suggestion would be you should go for his one. You will really be delighted by its wiping performance.
Old 26th June 2013, 17:36   #441

Yeah the later one is costlier than the regular wiper blade. But this one gives a significant and clean wipe as compared to the original wiper design.

My suggestion would be you should go for his one. You will really be delighted by its wiping performance.
Go for bosch or hella anytime. They last really long and has a significantly better wiping performance. On a funny side my dealer told me to tie 'cotton waste' on to the wiper arm rather than going for Syndicate ones
Old 27th June 2013, 12:22   #442

Originally Posted by shineshine View Post
On a funny side my dealer told me to tie 'cotton waste' on to the wiper arm rather than going for Syndicate ones
I did not understand you correctly. How will the cotton waste help.
Old 28th June 2013, 00:27   #443

Originally Posted by nijelj View Post
Did they make an entry,or raise a request for the speedo enclosure?
Not sure. I finally got around to calling Concorde's service dept today. The person who took the call (Latha, I think) said she would escalate the issue to the service manager and that he would respond soon.
Old 29th June 2013, 09:25   #444

I did not understand you correctly. How will the cotton waste help.
It was probably a sarcastic remark aimed at the stock wipers.

I too faced a problem where recently the stock wiper developed abnormalities right in the middle and started leaving a streak of water/mud/some other sticky substance over the windscreen, right at the eye level.

Finally I got the wiper blade replaced with an aftermarket one for Rs. 150, and for a day or two the new wiper was very effective. Then even the new wiper started leaving streaks, right along the same track as that of the old wiper. Very recently the new wiper is again behaving normal. I don't know if it's really the wiper blade that's at fault or the windshield design.
Old 30th June 2013, 00:46   #445

Originally Posted by kumards View Post
Not sure. I finally got around to calling Concorde's service dept today. The person who took the call (Latha, I think) said she would escalate the issue to the service manager and that he would respond soon.
The service rep who handled my last service called yesterday... and asked if I could bring the car to the service center. I went there today and the problem was fixed -- in about 30 minutes. Unfortunately, I wasn't near the car when they did the fixing, and so am not sure what they did. The service rep said that the discolored glass enclosure of the speedo was removed and a new one was installed, but I suspect they may have done something to remove the discoloration... because the "new" glass doesn't look new; it has a few faint scratch marks. When I asked to see the old (removed) glass, all I got was a sheepish look and a vague anwer that they chucked it somewhere. In any case, I was glad the problem was resolved (free of charge, of course) and so didn't push the matter further.
Old 2nd July 2013, 12:02   #446

Ever since it was launched, I have thought about getting a Nano for puttering around in Pune. The more I look at it, the more I like it, and maybe when the 2013 version hits the showrooms would be a good time to take the leap. It checks all the boxes for me now, and since my other car is a Gypsy, no power steering isn't a big issue for me.

One reason to wait a while is for the CNG dual fuel version. I have to find out about CNG availability in Pune of course, and the reason for getting it would be to extend the range between refuelling, the 15 litres tank is a small issue because I am fussy about which pump I use.
Old 3rd July 2013, 01:00   #447

I don't know if this has been shared before.
Old 3rd July 2013, 01:52   #448

Just noticed that my status has changed from "Newbie" to "BHPian". Yippee!

I own a Papaya Orange Tata Nano for the last 10 months and have completed just over 10,000 km in it, including two longish road trips, one from Gurgaon to Lucknow and back, and the other from Gurgaon to Dalhousie to Amritsar, and back.

The thing about this car is that it is one of the simplest machines to own and operate, and is able to hold its own on the road, when pitted against its more expensive competitors. It is also exceedingly easy to drive in Gurgaon, even in areas like Sadar Bazar. The primary use I put this car to is when I travel to some very crowded malls in Gurgaon and Noida, that have cramped parking lots, where this car fits in like a dream. No more parking worries.

And the best part of all- while driving on Sheetla Mata Mandir Road (and those of you who've been on this road know how crowded it gets from morning to evening), I just drive behind the share autos and evade entire traffic jams.

One thing I've become certain of is that a car like the Nano is a real boon for city dwellers. And I'll always own a Nano just for that ease of use factor.

Last edited by HighwayofLife : 3rd July 2013 at 01:53.
Old 3rd July 2013, 01:58   #449

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Nano car drives into Guinness World Records for driving the longest journey

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/tata-nano.../401808-3.html
"I have seen a new breed of traveller emerge, one who has a streak of adventure and passion for motoring" says the article.

This is good news and will help what appears to be a great minimalistic car start to sell in bigger volumes.

Following in the footsteps of Europe's once great Citroën, whose cars were so great they motivated people into some amazing trips - in the mid 1930s a French postman covered 400,000km in a year in a Traction Avant, in the 1950s a couple of firemen made an epic trip through America and Africa, achieving a vehicle altitude record in the Andes which was only relatively recently beaten.
Tata Nano : Test Drive & Review-2cv-travel2.jpg  

Tata Nano : Test Drive & Review-2cv-travel.jpg  

Tata Nano : Test Drive & Review-capturelec.jpg  

FlatOut is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th July 2013, 13:32   #450

Tata Nano Test Drive

I took a Nano out for a test drive, and once I got the hang of the clutch take off and the brakes, it was quite impressive. The car is a hoot to drive, and I did not miss the power steering at all, I think we have gotten too used to the feature not realising that a small, rear engine, rear wheel drive car doesn't really need it. I suspect that the rather cool idea of Tata of increasing the dia of the steering wheel to reduce steering effort is the way to go. On the other hand, it could use rear parking sensors, I found backing it up to a wall a little tricky considering how small the car is.

Decent pick up, decent performance on bad roads too. Quite chuckable. AC works well too, and not noisy either.

In many ways the car reminds me of my Gypsy in that it has so little in it, that there aren't too many things that can go wrong.

The other thing that Tata could still address, other than the little niggles, is engine noise inside the car - I don't really care about how it sounds outside. I hate to think of a diesel in it. Braking too is decent, once one gets a feel for the brakes.

OTR price in Pune, all included, including the current special edition accessories is Rs 2.49 lakhs, LX version. Does that sound right?

I will decide about a purchase once the 2013 cars are released towards the end of this month. I will have to see if the chrome strips front and rear can be removed without other harm, I don't much care for chrome garnish.

Last edited by Sawyer : 5th July 2013 at 13:35.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com