Old 4th September 2021, 21:38   #2191

re: BMW 320d & 328i (F30) : Official Review

Originally Posted by Yakuza View Post
The early F30's had an oil change interval of 2 years/24000 kms which is why if you run less, the car will ask for a service only once in 24 months.
If I'm not mistaken MY2014 onwards it was changed to 1 year/12000 kms.
Explains a lot. My F30 328i has a 24 month interval between oil changes.

BMW 320d & 328i (F30) : Official Review-20210904_175642.jpg

Ideally BMW should have updated the software to make the older models in line with the 12 month service guidelines if they felt 24 months wouldn't be efficient for our conditions. Either ways I make it a point to get it done around 12 months as Rs. 10k for an annual oil change isn't going to pinch the pocket as much as any damage that could be caused by it.
lamborghini is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 9th September 2021, 14:23   #2192

My F30 (2015) headlights flicker while starting the car and I got it scanned and there was no problem. The patient sorted its behaviour in front of the doctor. But I am noticing it quite regularly. Is it just the Xenon bulb dying or something else. The batteries are okay keeping their charge at ~12+ volts. What could be wrong?
Old 9th September 2021, 14:58   #2193

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
Explains a lot. My F30 328i has a 24 month interval between oil changes.

Ideally BMW should have updated the software to make the older models in line with the 12 month service guidelines if they felt 24 months wouldn't be efficient for our conditions. Either ways I make it a point to get it done around 12 months as Rs. 10k for an annual oil change isn't going to pinch the pocket as much as any damage that could be caused by it.
When I changed Oil, it was a year or 13000kms in my MY11 E90.
akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2021, 15:17   #2194

Can some one point out the difference between 320D Edition sport and Sportline MY 2018.

Also, apart from changes in center display, red accent and underthigh support, what were the differences between Luxury line and Sportline( edition sport ?) between 2016-2018.

Any reference brochure of that time period would also help.

i’m thinking to buy a 320D and the options are 2016 registered 320D luxury line and 2018 registered 320d Sportline both with odo under 25k. Price range also similiarly placed between 25-30L.

test drove both cars and found no difference in terms of driving though 2018 felt almost new. Pointers to observe while testing are appreciated
Old 22nd September 2021, 19:54   #2195

I have put up my 320D on sale, the upgrade bug hit too hard and it was impossible to resist once i had a test drive of the turbo petrol bmw. My search started from pre owned 5's to X4's but in the end the ultimate driving feel of the G20 and the lovely 30i engine won over every thing, am not cut out for pre owned cars i think. If any one is interested, please feel free to message me as the car is listed on classifieds now.

Pondered a lot over the 5 series but i am 29 years as of now, no marriage, no kids and the 5 felt a bit too bulky for my needs. I knew this would be one of the last fossil powered purchase before the switch to EV's so thought of making the most of it. Special thanks to iwasntme, Turbanator, xavierk and fellow bmw owners for reverting back to my PM's.

I had a lovely and reliable 6 years with my 3 and i hope it stays that way with the new baby coming in, have booked a 330i M sport in alpine white, would take delivery soon. Thanks to all the lovely owners of F30 for your tremendous support and help all these years.
https://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy...3-Series.html/

Last edited by coolboy007 : 22nd September 2021 at 19:57.
coolboy007 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2021, 21:40   #2196

Originally Posted by coolboy007 View Post
Pondered a lot over the 5 series but i am 29 years as of now, no marriage, no kids and the 5 felt a bit too bulky for my needs.
Special thanks to iwasntme, Turbanator, xavierk and fellow bmw owners for reverting back to my PM's.
Ironically, it was passionate posts (like your excellent periodic updates) on this very F30 thread that spurred us on to bite the bullet for the G20 330i Sport in June 2020, i.e. at the height of Unlock 1.0. Everyone thought my wife and I were stark raving mad, but we now feel it was the best decision we ever made. Nothing like a BMW turbo-petrol to blow away the COVID blues.

Hope your pre-worshipped F30 320D quickly finds a new home, and looking forward of course to seeing pictures of your G20 M Sport .

At 29, no marriage & no kids (noted your sequencing) is perfect to enjoy this car for many years to come.
itwasntme is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 17:37   #2197
bhp

After 6 years and 79000 km of driving the Steinbauer tuned stage 1 F30 320D through various highways of the country, i have decided to part with it making space for a petrol car.

Have had trouble free ownership experience with this vehicle, driven trouble free to west, north and south India on multiple occasions. Has the right balance between power comfort and fuel economy.

Posted a Ad on the classifieds, If anyone here is looking for one.

https://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy...or-sale/66693/
bhp is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th October 2021, 17:57   #2198

is anyone of the F30 320D owners facing timing chain issues with their cars ?
Old 16th November 2021, 14:09   #2199

Having key detection issues with my F30 320d. The car won't unlock from a distance. Even when i manage to get inside the car, it wont start everytime.

Have to touch the sensor on steering column for 3 to 4 tries for the car to start.

Issue is observed with both keyfobs. Changed the batteries of both remotes also. Did not help.

BMW quoting over 1.4 lacs for a fix... this is over phone with my service advisor.

(my car is almost 8 years old)

Any experience / fixes / tips i can try?

BMW 320d & 328i (F30) : Official Review-whatsapp-image-20211116-13.57.31.jpeg
Old 18th November 2021, 00:35   #2200

Expecting a help. I am looking for a 320d in preowned. How much I can expect a price of a Aug'20 manufactured, Feb'21 registered G20 320d luxury line single owned which has done 9.5K kms? Anything to check and take care before taking delivery particularly to this model? Thanks in advance.
Old 18th November 2021, 11:19   #2201

Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
BMW quoting over 1.4 lacs for a fix... this is over phone with my service advisor.
Did Service advisor tell what exactly is broken which requires 1.4 lakh to fix?
Old 18th November 2021, 13:31   #2202

Originally Posted by el lobo 6061 View Post
Did Service advisor tell what exactly is broken which requires 1.4 lakh to fix?
I ll be getting an official quote soon, but both the keys + antenna/transmitter in the car if I remember correctly.
Old 16th December 2021, 20:11   #2203

Perhaps this issue might have been discussed before but I couldn't find it in the search:

What could the reason be if a 3-series' turn signals have, out of the blue, gone crazy and started blinking twice as frequently (~2 full cycles per second), and is there a fix for this in the settings?

Haven't exactly tried looking through the settings menu yet but I'd like to know whether it is some sort of a customisable option or a software issue.

The vehicle in question would be a 2013 F30 diesel.
Old 16th December 2021, 20:46   #2204

Originally Posted by ron178 View Post
What could the reason be if a 3-series' turn signals have, out of the blue, gone crazy and started blinking twice as frequently (~2 full cycles per second), and is there a fix for this in the settings?
Is this fast flashing of 2 cycles per second on the indicator on the instrument cluster or on the indicator inside the headlight assembly? Does it happen for both left and right indicators?

Check if both the front and back indicator bulbs are functioning. Usually a fast flashing of the indicator indicates one (or both) of the bulbs is faulty.
graaja is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th December 2021, 22:03   #2205

Originally Posted by graaja View Post
Is this fast flashing of 2 cycles per second on the indicator on the instrument cluster or on the indicator inside the headlight assembly? Does it happen for both left and right indicators?
The lamp in the instrument cluster, the ticking sound, and the little visible portion of the turn indicator in the wing mirror. Haven't checked the front and rear indicators yet. When I noticed it it was for the right turn signal on both occasions, I haven't paid attention to the left. Will check that out.

Originally Posted by graaja View Post
Check if both the front and back indicator bulbs are functioning. Usually a fast flashing of the indicator indicates one (or both) of the bulbs is faulty.
Thanks, I never considered this and thought it must have been a software issue. Will check this ASAP since it could be a serious hazard.

Last edited by ron178 : 16th December 2021 at 22:04.
ron178 is offline   (2) Thanks