Old 3rd July 2013, 23:54   #31

Re: Nissan Micra Facelift / Xtronic CVT : Official Review

The CVT version is loaded to gills. Well done Nissan on providing a good all round package on an automatic car. The only sore point of Micra is the terribly low ground clearance, only 154mm!
Old 4th July 2013, 09:50   #32

Nice review Deralte! 5* for the content which is just the way i like it. Going by the looks of it, it seems to be a little subdued as you mentioned. I guess the manufacturing and costs regarding automatic transmission needs to go down so that we get affordable city machines with decent economy. Anyways, for the fans of the micra, this car will definitely not disappoint. However, the central console seems to be an eyesore (anything glossy inside the cabin is a big no-no for me). Hope nissan does decide on the 1.5L+CVT in a future iteration because then, we would have something to look forward to since most manufacturers don't seem interested in bringing an automatic oil burner.
Old 4th July 2013, 10:00   #33

Originally Posted by pvgeorge View Post
Nissan Micra at 3,56 in kerala and Alto K10 vxi at 3,53?
what do I miss if I go for Micra Active than a K10? tacho (can be managed using Scangauge) and fog lamps?... and I get a bigger engine and better space..
There is some discount on K10 (nearly 40K), but I think Micra is one step higher than Alto

Confused now....
Aha! another one!

Micra sure is a step up. Alto still has sad interiors but engine is a gem ( very low NVH and peppy if revved). I am yet to drive the new one but Micra is a far better city car. Low end of K10 is sad ( irritates me)

I just read on FB that i10 Era's price too has been cut by 50k ?

Last edited by jkdas : 4th July 2013 at 10:06.
Old 4th July 2013, 10:05   #34

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
I just read on FB that i10 Era's price too has been cut by 50k ?
Given a choice I would go with Micra CVT. We have an i10 AT (bought where there was no choice). Awesome city car. And that FE of 15+ and the convenience of an AT is just too good.
Old 4th July 2013, 11:31   #35

I booked an astar AT last week. Was wondering if micra would be a better bet.

City Bangalore:
OTR for astar (inclusive of road tax + insurance + extended warranty + transportation charges + basic accessories) is 5,60,720/-

OTR for nissan micra CVT (inclusive of road tax + insurance) is 7,31,279
It should land up easily around the 7.5 figure mark after adding the accessories and miscellaneous charges.

Now the difference between OTR of micra and astar is 1.9 lakhs.

Few important features I get in micra for additional 1.9 lakhs:
1.) Better gearbox?? arguable
2.) 2 airbags
3.) Alloys
4.) 15 inch tyres

Why not the i10?
1.) Fuel efficiency is low
2.) i10 is more pricey
3.) astar has got better gearbox

I feel astar is a VFM for its price.
Old 4th July 2013, 11:40   #36

Originally Posted by Mr_Bean View Post

City Bangalore:
OTR for astar (inclusive of road tax + insurance + extended warranty + transportation charges + basic accessories) is 5,60,720/-

OTR for nissan micra CVT (inclusive of road tax + insurance) is 7,31,279
It should land up easily around the 7.5 figure mark after adding the accessories and miscellaneous charges.

Now the difference between OTR of micra and astar is 1.9 lakhs.

Few important features I get in micra for additional 1.9 lakhs:
1.) Better gearbox?? arguable
2.) 2 airbags
3.) Alloys
4.) 15 inch tyres

Why not the i10?
1.) Fuel efficiency is low
2.) i10 is more pricey
3.) astar has got better gearbox

If you are OK spending in the 7.5L ball park, I would strongly suggest that you also consider the Amaze S(AT). It lands up at 7.64 L on road in Delhi and for that money, what you are getting is a Boot, a relatively more refined car and a wonderful 5 Speed AT gearbox as compared to a CVT. The fuel efficiency figures for this 5 Speed AT box from Honda are better than those of the A-Star or i10, and the shifts are pretty quick. Overall it is a very satisfying drive. That said, the Micra CVT would perhaps return an even better fuel efficiency.
roy_libran is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2013, 11:44   #37

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Given a choice I would go with Micra CVT. We have an i10 AT (bought where there was no choice). Awesome city car. And that FE of 15+ and the convenience of an AT is just too good.
Price. Auto is good but a nice hatch auto is 7lac up. For that money I would get a Figo Titanium and remap

I am just looking for a small hatch with 4-4.5lac.

Originally Posted by Mr_Bean View Post

For 5ish, there is only AStar. Anything better/bigger is 7ish. I also would suggest Ritz & Brio to the list of big hatches with Auto.

Since there is rumour of i10 and other cutting down price, the game within 5lac should change.
Old 4th July 2013, 11:46   #38

This one looks a lot better than the older Micra. However, the ICE looks like an after market fitment. Priced well too. Good features. I hope they increase the service centres and do some sustained marketing. Hope they have also settled their problems with the dealers.

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The Micra CVT feels like a timid kitten on the expressway. When you want "sudden-go", the rubber band effect becomes extremely prominent. You'll see the engine rpm rising, without any real increase in speed. The Micra CVT does take its own sweet time to gather momentum.
Is the rubber band effect generic to ATs? Are there any B, C, D segment AT cars without this effect? I have an i10 AT and it is irritating, specially on overtaking.

Originally Posted by S@ndy View Post

Nissan Micra Active Prices (Ex-Showroom Delhi)

Micra Active XE – Rs. 3.50 lakhs
Micra Active XL – Rs. 4.02 lakhs
Micra Active XV – Rs. 4.40 lakhs
Micra Active XV Safety – 4.71 lakhs

It will be interesting to see how Nissan positions Datsun without overlapping with Micra Active.
Datsun pricing would be very interesting now. Alto, Eon, Nano will have to watch out.

Last edited by Deep Blue : 4th July 2013 at 11:55.
Old 4th July 2013, 11:56   #39

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Price. Auto is good but a nice hatch auto is 7lac up. For that money I would get a Figo Titanium and remap
Even some version of Ecosport!

I am just looking for a small hatch with 4-4.5lac.
For 5ish, there is only AStar. Anything better/bigger is 7ish. I also would suggest Ritz & Brio to the list of big hatches with Auto.
Agreed its 7+ but the FE and longevity adds to its positive. Somehow was
not very convinced with Brio due to the rear glass. Ritz is a good option but some how I would rate Micra higher. I am not in a immediate need, but just weighing out thoughts. A-Star is too small.
Old 4th July 2013, 12:18   #40

I was thinking of what I am going to loose as Nissan introduced micra Active as look alike of old micra.

May be resale value as the active XL version is around a lac cheaper than old micra XL.
Old 4th July 2013, 12:56   #41

After reading Der's review, I thought the Micra CVT has potential as a good city car.

Then, Nissan goes ahead and botches up the pricing. Take a look at the price comparo on the opening page. The Micra is more expensive than ALL of its competitors, including the 4-cylinder ATs.

I can't figure out why anyone would pick a Micra CVT over a Brio AT or the top variant i10 AT. They are faster, smoother, have better engines, quality after-sales and don't suffer from that annoying rubber-band effect on the open road.

GTO is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th July 2013, 13:15   #42

The micra active has been priced aggressively on road in Kerala.It has all the possiblities to eat into the wagon r market.
Old 4th July 2013, 13:46   #43

Originally Posted by ram_hyundai View Post
The micra active has been priced aggressively on road in Kerala.It has all the possiblities to eat into the wagon r market.
ram, can you post the prices (OTR ones) if possible.
I also could get XE specs from website so that too if you can

And site isnt updated with latest pix!

Last edited by jkdas : 4th July 2013 at 13:47.
Old 4th July 2013, 13:56   #44

I can't figure out why anyone would pick a Micra CVT over a Brio AT or the top variant i10 AT. They are faster, smoother, have better engines, quality after-sales and don't suffer from that annoying rubber-band effect on the open road.
Apart from FE the few reasons which I can think off:

- Why pick over the Brio : Maybe because of space?
- Ritz : Yes. This is a good option. In spite of its price, this now seems a VFM. But for ladies I think the dash height might be a problem.
- i10 : This is current ruler. I own one too. The only thing against it, that I have is the bumpy ride and low FE. Otherwise no issues. Very good space, legroom, boot and comfortable for the city.
- A-star seems quite small if one gets used to the others. (More psychological I would say). And also almost a non-existent boot is a downer. I agree boot is not a big deal for a city, but once in a while it does come handy. Again ferrying 3 (once in a while) is difficult.

I have not experienced the rubber band effect, so do know about it.

Last edited by ampere : 4th July 2013 at 14:16.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2013, 15:18   #45

Micra Active Prices in Bangalore
XE 430000/-
XL 492000/-
XV 538000/-
XVS 575000/-

Alto K10 vxi after a 25k discount is 405000 on road bangalore.
Food for thought ehhh