Old 1st March 2024, 17:21   #3421

Re: VW polo to Mahindra Scorpio N

Originally Posted by Akshat_46 View Post
Thank you , yes i will ask the leadership again gor estimate. Problem is mahindra is selling so many cars that they dont even care to revert. Its been 3-4 days i have asked them to give me an estimate but to no avail.
I can see that your location is Haridwar. I can arrange a contact from Haldwani to help you in your purchase.
Amrit@wheels is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st March 2024, 17:58   #3422

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

Originally Posted by ask99 View Post
Had a wonderful trip through some unpaved forest trails in North Bengal a few weeks back. [/ATTACH]
Lovely travelogue! Wish you many more adventurous trips.
Did you face fog/rain? Want to know the stock headlights throw.
yadavsid21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2024, 00:43   #3423

Originally Posted by Amrit@wheels View Post
I can see that your location is Haridwar. I can arrange a contact from Haldwani to help you in your purchase.
That will be really nice . I can take an estimate as well. Thank you
Old 2nd March 2024, 11:23   #3424

Originally Posted by Akshat_46 View Post
Hello everyone
1. As i have booked Z8 manual diesel , what would be the cost of replacing/upgrading my 17 inch alloys and 245/65 section tyres to Z8 L
Which comes with 255/60 r18 tyres and alloys.
Does mahindra give this option at their showroom itself ?
I would first suggest that you think through why you are interested in upsizing your alloys. I feel the 245s on 17” wheels is adequate for the size and power of the Scorpio N, by upsizing both alloys and wheels you'll end up spending a good chunk of money to go slower and burn more fuel. You might "feel" some added stability, but I'm not sure if it's going to be much of a difference unless pushing through curves at unsafe speeds. You will gain slightly better braking, if you upgrade sizes but remain with HT tires. Any upgrade to AT tires will be even more punishing towards handling, braking, fuel economy and performance.

If you're looking for an upgrade for visual purposes, then be prepared to get poor buy back for your 17” alloys while also paying more for 18" tires. Best case scenario would be to find a private buyer looking to upgrade to 17" alloys and sell your alloys to them after you upgrade your wheels.

Also, please do your due diligence regarding what tires you would like to go with before you upgrade and make sure you're aware of the availability in your required size along with the cost differential. One path to go down could be to switch to 255/65R17 tires while keeping your wheel size stock.

2.As mahindra has just launched Z8 select which is 1.1 lakh cheaper to my diesel manual model, although it lacks certain features which i am getting in z8 but is it worth?
Only you can answer this question. Make a list of the features differential between the models and work out if there are any features you could not live without. Also note the 1.1L ex-showroom difference will grow once you consider the difference in road tax and insurance.
In my case something like Dual Zone AC was a must have, so the Z8S doesn't make sense to me. You might have different requirements. Don't look for consensus. Think about your situation and what features you can compromise on.

Last edited by ask99 : 2nd March 2024 at 11:27.
Old 2nd March 2024, 19:09   #3425

I would first suggest that you think through why you are interested in upsizing your alloys. I feel the 245s on 17” wheels is adequate for the size and power of the Scorpio N, by upsizing both alloys and wheels you'll end up spending a good chunk of money to go slower and burn more fuel. You might "feel" some added stability, but I'm not sure if it's going to be much of a difference unless pushing through curves at unsafe speeds. You will gain slightly better braking, if you upgrade sizes but remain with HT tires. Any upgrade to AT tires will be even more punishing towards handling, braking, fuel economy and performance.
Thank you for your detailed feedback.

The main differences between Z8 and Z8S are push start stop button, foldable rear view mirrors, auto headlamps and wipers, although I can live without them. But the main problem is Z8S doesn't come with auto fold mirrors and I think its really necessary for a car of this size. Also, yes, as you said, dual zone a/c is added advantage.

For foldable mirrors, there is always a possibility to get it done aftermarket, but I would not want to do that because they'd open up the door for the electronic work & it might create rattles in the future.

Coming back to your point on upsizing alloys and tires. I somehow feel 17 inchers look a bit small and 245 section tires look a little bit sleek for a car of this size. Upgrading them to 265 section and 18 inchers might give a feeling of adequate size and proper grip and handling. Yes, I would be going with HT tires. I am planning to get upsizing done soon after taking delivery. Just need to know what would be the cost.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 2nd March 2024 at 19:46. Reason: Post formatting. Also, please post about alloys on the Classifieds, not in your post. Thanks!
Akshat_46 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2024, 09:50   #3426

Scorpio N fuel economy with Cruize control

I recently drove my scorpio n z6 diesel manual from Bengaluru to Somwarpet via Bengaluru Mysore expressway and I was surprised to see that I was able to reach 15.4KM fuel economy on the way back when I drove with cruise control on and average kept increasing till I reached BLR.
On the journey from BLR to Mysore I tried to run economically with my speed between 80-100 without aggressive acceleration and with Cruise control switched off I was able to get 15Km average.
I think Cruise control on scorpio n does pretty good job when it comes to fuel economy and I will definitely recommend it when you want to do 100km/h speed on an expressway.
When the distance is even more I feel that the fuel economy can go even more till 17 if your cruising speed is less than 100km/h.
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_4482.jpeg  

d_mechanic is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2024, 10:49   #3427

Had a wonderful trip through some unpaved forest trails in North Bengal a few weeks back. It turned out to be fuss free travel due to the absolute ease with which the Scorpio N tackled the terrain.
We enjoyed a relaxing and mostly comfortable drive through some scenic forest roads. Drove through Senchal forest from Baghgora to Chatakpur (10km in around 1 hour), then from Chatakpur we took the forest track to 3rd Mile (11km in around 50 minutes) on our way to Mulkarkha via Kalimpong. Drove up a steep newly stone covered section from Aritar to Mulkarkha Lake . Followed by a drive through some more broken forest roads while driving from Mulkarkha to Lava via Kolakham. Anyone familiar with the above routes will realise a big part of the route planning was to find some difficult as well as less trodden roads to enjoy while testing myself and the Scorpio N. A test the Scorpio N passed with flying
Hey! Glad to hear from another person in Kolkata. I have done 3 trips to North Bengal and Sikkim in the past year in my S-N. Totally feel your enthusiasm on bad broken roads. Had been to Mulkharka and Reshikhola in Dec 23. Google showed me the shorter route which was complete ruts with steep incline. (This is the 1st uphill left diversion after crossing the sikkim-WB border.

I was apprehensive at first with 6 pax on board including luggage. But the S-N was phenomenal Mid way I engaged 4L and slowly pulled all the way to the top. Btw did you stay at that homestay (4 cottages together with the dining across the road)?
sand-dune96 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 12:40   #3428

in the case of Mine Z6 MT D 4*2 - The same "There was some vibration on the steering and feeling of something being loose" - which I reported during the first check-up post-1000 km but not much improvement - But I installed ROGERAB 2 months ago undulations have reduced also the feeling of something loose is reduced drastically but road undulations reach to steering column now also. I will be lodging a service complaint for the same on my first Service at 10000 km.
Old 5th March 2024, 16:35   #3429

Originally Posted by sand-dune96 View Post
Hey! Glad to hear from another person in Kolkata.
Btw did you stay at that homestay (4 cottages together with the dining across the road)?
Yes. We stayed at Corner Cottage Homestay (4 cottages). Wonderful new stay and great hospitality.

Also, not surprised to hear you found it an easy climb in 4L. I was in pretty unloaded vehicle so never felt the need for it, but still engaged 4H at times just to make life easier.
ask99 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 21:25   #3430

Amazing video showcasing the world class machines on which ScorpioN is manufactured, step by step

Last edited by mk600 : 5th March 2024 at 21:30.
mk600 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 7th March 2024, 19:17   #3431

Dear All, This is my first post which actually is a question. I own a Z8 MT 4WD that i purchased July'23. I am coming from a Maruti 800 to Wagon R to Scorpio N. My office is just 1 km away from home and hence i just go walking or use the wagon r since parking space is a luxury in that area. In short WagonR is my daily beater while ScorpioN is for out of city sojourns. Now my question is, what special care do i need to take since the vehicle is only driven once to twice a week max? i have read posts that mention that diesel cars need to be driven more frequently. I have clocked little over 5000km in the last 8 months. I have absolutely no qualms about the car per se and as a matter of fact i am glad i bought this which was purely as an impulse. So, do i have to take it out more often or is it that modern diesel engines wont face such issues anyway?

Just one niggle that i have faced is that the driver side tyre loses air pressure over time. It goes from 34 to 29 in approximately 4-5 days. Any quick fix for this or do i have to live with it since the service center showed absolutely no interest in this issue which made me embarassed raising the issue in the first place . Please Guide.
Old 7th March 2024, 19:58   #3432

Originally Posted by Templeoflou View Post
So, do i have to take it out more often or is it that modern diesel engines wont face such issues anyway?
You need not worry. Just make sure that your weekly ride involves a decent highway run and some Italian tune-up

Just one niggle that i have faced is that the driver side tyre loses air pressure over time. It goes from 34 to 29 in approximately 4-5 days. Any quick fix for this or do i have to live with it since the service center showed absolutely no interest in this issue which made me embarassed raising the issue in the first place . Please Guide.
5 PS loss in just 4-5 days is not normal in my view. You should get it checked at your nearby tyre shop. They can do a thorough check up on all wheels to find the problem.
Amrit@wheels is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th March 2024, 20:24   #3433

Originally Posted by Templeoflou View Post
It goes from 34 to 29 in approximately 4-5 days. Any quick fix for this or do i have to live with it ...
Go to your regular alignment shop and ask them to reseat the tyre on the wheel, while applying the sealant paste between rim and tyre. Also a puncture check while you are there.
condor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2024, 20:43   #3434

An unfortunate incident, went over a rock that was not seen due to debris over on top of it, I was trying to overtake a car on a narrow hilly road in Kodaikanal.

The tyre burst and I stopped without any untoward incident, family and kids were there. But got shocked to see the damage. The suspension, alloy, tyre, drive shaft, steering rack assembly shattered as per my SA seeing the pics. Now being towed to madurai ASC.

I was doing 40-50 kmph, this kind of damage seem colossal.
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240308153036.jpg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240308153027.jpg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240308153016.jpg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240308152226.jpg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240308152151.jpg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img20240308152146.jpg  

revv_maniac is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 8th March 2024, 22:10   #3435

Originally Posted by revv_maniac View Post
I was doing 40-50 kmph, this kind of damage seem colossal.
Sorry to hear about this accident, but glad to hear that all passengers are OK. How large was the culprit rock, do you have any pictures to compare to this damage?

The car frame seems to be ok, but the driver's side wheel seem to be really damaged. Hopefully the Insurance can cover all the damage.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com