Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 7th January 2009, 18:28   #106

This discussion scares me! The detailed dissection of the interiors is almost maniacal!

PS: I've seen that blue car in Panchgani! I have to check old (printed, not digital) pictures for the license plates.
Old 7th January 2009, 19:21   #107

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Could this be the Peacock Blue we are all searching for! This is a picture of RD Burman's car that appeared in Mumbai Mirror.
I am watching the correspondence about the peacock blue colour with slight amusement. You guys are spoilt, when you buy a colour today it will always be the same shade. Not in the olden days. Let me explain:
The most common paint used in the old days was ICI DUCO paint. Not sure about the spelling. These paints were never used in a paint booth and were inconsistant. There were always different shades of the same colour so that touch up was difficult. You had to buy paint from one lot. In case of touchup the entire panel was to be painted so that the difference was less noticable than when you only did touchup on a panel. When I started out like Karl & co, I did not even have a car and was looking after my dads car, an Opel Record. The original colour was similar to Imperial red and during those times I got the car freshened up twice. And both the times the car was damaged almost immediately, once before taking delivery and the second time during the third outing someone went into the rear. And red was the most difficult colour to touch up.
I remember peacock blue, it was not as dark as the 1st picture, but darker than in the pic Karl is sitting in and not like the Burman car. Actually it depended on the batch. In those days quality was poor, paint could be cheap as anyway the car would sell due to monopolistic situations.
Peacock blue was a shade lighter than Oxford blue (again depending on the batch)
Old 7th January 2009, 20:51   #108

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Could this be the Peacock Blue we are all searching for! This is a picture of RD Burman's car that appeared in Mumbai Mirror.
Steeroid's dukkar was peacock blue originally, then it was repainted red, and then black. The blue i found in his car is very close to the blue RD Burmans car. Will post a pic by the weekend if u want.
Old 7th January 2009, 21:05   #109

the mole Very happy to view BMC 1139, RDB's car picture-my favourite composer. He bought an Alfa Romeo in the early 1970's after becoming a successful maestro. What news has appeared about the car in Mumbai Mirror?
This is a repainted Fait 1100 in metallic Oxford blue.
Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-fiat-1.jpg
Old 7th January 2009, 21:18   #110

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
This discussion scares me! The detailed dissection of the interiors is almost maniacal!

PS: I've seen that blue car in Panchgani! I have to check old (printed, not digital) pictures for the license plates.
Didnt you see this?

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/1117340-post207.html

Awaiting better pics of the Panchgani car.
Old 7th January 2009, 21:20   #111

Hey what about the colour my MRX 6839 was, before she became black ? Amol, you've known 6839 since childhood. Can this be in the range of blues we're talking about ?
Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-phone-picture-146.jpg  

Old 8th January 2009, 17:59   #112

Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Hey what about the colour my MRX 6839 was, before she became black ? Amol, you've known 6839 since childhood. Can this be in the range of blues we're talking about ?
Ravi I remember your car being a medium turqoise blue, looks like the lighter paint sample you have from your car. This must have been in the early eighties when i used to live in Shivaji Park. But then again only Aditya's dad can tell you what the original colour was!
Old 8th January 2009, 21:04   #113

Preparation for the Paint job

Hi guys, time for another update I am attaching pics of prep work done for the paintjob, the body was finished with PU primer and subsequently a base coat for the colour has been applied, I must say she looks great even with the basecoat on. I will be painting the whole car in Standox, I will post the code a little later for everyones reference.

next update: finished paint job
Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0136.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0137.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0142.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0143.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0144.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0145.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0146.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0147.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0148.jpg  

Old 9th January 2009, 01:05   #114

Is that the final color? If that is the BAse Coat, And after that i presume there will be clear coat..Isnt the Color a little too light?? Also, it looks a little bit Metallic!

Last edited by Cyrus43 : 9th January 2009 at 01:11.
Old 9th January 2009, 07:51   #115

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
Is that the final color? If that is the BAse Coat, And after that i presume there will be clear coat..Isnt the Color a little too light?? Also, it looks a little bit Metallic!
No dude this is the coat over the primer to check the finished surface of the car, today the car will go to the paint booth and actually get painted, the actual colour is much much darker.It will look like the attached pic. also a pic of my ponton when it was in the same stage and now you know what it looks like.
Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-fiat130couperrh100r001.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-060406_1639.jpg  

Old 9th January 2009, 10:06   #116

Wow, amol! I like the way your car is turning out man!
'can't wait to see her once she comes out of the final paint!

Droolmaal hai bhai sab droolmaal hai!

BTW, you've got the original rims as well, right?
Old 9th January 2009, 10:47   #117

Hey Amol,

Your car is turning out to be a stunner .

Congrats.
Vijay
Old 9th January 2009, 10:54   #118

Amolbhai,

Your car look's to be great man.

Congrats.

I am waiting to see the fitting's of the car when it is 100% ready.

Good job.
Old 9th January 2009, 20:28   #119

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
BTW, you've got the original rims as well, right?
I have Three I need one more atleast, its going to be a photo finish some of the other things I am still missing are the Aluminum Switch plate on the dashboard where the switches are mounted, and ofcourse the big daddy of them all two Aluminum Hubcaps.

Originally Posted by prabhuav View Post
Your car is turning out to be a stunner.
Originally Posted by rjvora_2000 View Post
Your car look's to be great man.

I am waiting to see the fitting's of the car when it is 100% ready.

Good job.
Thank you guys your encouragement helps I am more excited about this fiat then I ever was with my Mercedes or Rover.
Old 10th January 2009, 02:03   #120

Awesome, Amol. Totally awesome. You car's going to be a rock star among us.