Old 18th March 2013, 17:58   #541

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
I would prefer the looks of the Rapid compared to Vento.

Though the interiors of the Vento are far better than the Rapid, however I feel the Rapid scores over the Vento in the following areas :-
a. NHV insulation in the Rapid is better than Vento.
b. Rapid has much better superior suspension setup than the Vento and this makes a lot of difference as far as handling and ride comfort is concerned in the actual Indian highway driving.
c. The brakes of the Rapid gives more confidence than the Vento. Maybe this is purely my personal feeling.

Vento has more brand value but as far as service is concerned, there is not much difference between the two.
I've test driven the Vento. Found it nice except for the rather hard horn button and the "humm" of the engine. But I heard that the NVH issue has been addressed in the latest Vento though I'm not sure. I personally prefer the looks of the Vento. I don't think the suspension setup of the Rapid is THAT different from the Vento IMHO. If I'm not mistaken, the diesel Rapid has a slightly stiffer setup than the Vento which makes it a better handler. That said, the Vento is not a boat either. I felt it was more than capable of handling normal driving conditions decently. Yes it is priced higher than the Rapid but it has better materials and kit and a bit of brand value to justify that price IMO.
Old 18th March 2013, 19:42   #542

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Great post. Really puts into perspective what a lot of people must be contemplating in their mind.
I was in a similar situation -which diesel in ~INR 10 L to purchase for my every day run ?
Criteria
- Keep car for 10 years+ (I rarely sell my cars, luxury of large parking area !)
- Diesel
- Contemporary looks
- Easy to maintain
- Everyday run of ~ 80 KMS

Well its a Verna CRDI SX(O) !
Old 19th March 2013, 11:33   #543

Originally Posted by Vivek Jayan View Post
I've test driven the Vento. Found it nice except for the rather hard horn button and the "humm" of the engine. But I heard that the NVH issue has been addressed in the latest Vento though I'm not sure. I personally prefer the looks of the Vento. I don't think the suspension setup of the Rapid is THAT different from the Vento IMHO. If I'm not mistaken, the diesel Rapid has a slightly stiffer setup than the Vento which makes it a better handler. That said, the Vento is not a boat either. I felt it was more than capable of handling normal driving conditions decently. Yes it is priced higher than the Rapid but it has better materials and kit and a bit of brand value to justify that price IMO.
My dear, I never said those words (in bold).

I know how the Vento handles and I've specifically mentioned "actual Indian Highway driving conditions" and for sure I'm not talking about normal driving conditions or smooth highways.

Yes the suspension of the Rapid is bit stiffer but that not only gives better handling it also gives a smooth ride in moderate speeds over rough roads and humps.
Old 19th March 2013, 12:58   #544

My dear, I never said those words (in bold).

Yes the suspension of the Rapid is bit stiffer but that not only gives better handling it also gives a smooth ride in moderate speeds over rough roads and humps.
I was just voicing my opinion good sir. Yes a stiffer setup is more suited to rough highway roads. I know this only too well as we had to transition from a brilliant Ikon to a wobbly i20 recently . The test drive of the Vento was done on Kerala, famous for its patchy and poorly maintained roads. The car handled it well with reasonale comfort. It was more comfortable than our Ikon though the handling was not as sharp. How I miss the Ikon's planted feel and razor sharp response to steering inputs. You just think and that car steers!!

Last edited by Vivek Jayan : 19th March 2013 at 12:59.
Old 19th March 2013, 15:25   #545

Originally Posted by Vivek Jayan View Post
I was just voicing my opinion good sir. Yes a stiffer setup is more suited to rough highway roads. I know this only too well as we had to transition from a brilliant Ikon to a wobbly i20 recently . The test drive of the Vento was done on Kerala, famous for its patchy and poorly maintained roads. The car handled it well with reasonale comfort. It was more comfortable than our Ikon though the handling was not as sharp. How I miss the Ikon's planted feel and razor sharp response to steering inputs. You just think and that car steers!!
I have never used the word "under steer / over steer" in relation to the Vento, just like I've never said that the Vento was a "boat". Please note that I've never used any adverse words against the Vento.

Perhaps the following extract from the official review of the Rapid would explain the things in a better way :
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
What makes the diesel that much more fun to drive is the suspension setup. ...On the other hand, on regular Indian roads (including mild potholes), you won't even need to slow down. The Rapid simply absorbs these bad roads without breaking into a sweat. It’s much better than the Vento which tends to crash over such roads if you don’t slow down enough. As the speeds pick up, the Rapid shows its true potential. High speed stability is simply brilliant. Body roll is well-controlled and the Rapid flattens any irregularities of the highway. Sudden undulations which would usually throw off any car are taken with aplomb.

Compared to the Vento, the suspension appears to be more compliant. The Vento is probably better on straight roads, though on typically Indian highways which are nowhere near perfect, the Rapid inches ahead. The Rapid’s suspension setup is like an improved version of the Vento’s.
Sommos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th March 2013, 21:21   #546

I have never used the word "under steer / over steer" in relation to the Vento, just like I've never said that the Vento was a "boat". Please note that I've never used any adverse words against the Vento.

Perhaps the following extract from the official review of the Rapid would explain the things in a better way :
I've been through the review before and I do see your point. I was merely agreeing to your opinions but I think you misinterpreted my words.
The Rapid does ride better than the Vento. But according to MY experience the Vento was not that bad. I've not driven the Rapid yet so I'm not commenting on it.
Old 24th March 2013, 11:31   #547

Originally Posted by ayushagarwal26 View Post
Hi!
Finally narrowed down on the European sisters. I love the ride, handling, mature setup, and Torque on both these diesels, but need help with the offers I'm getting on both. Budget is 9-10 lacs.
did you finally decide on what you are getting. What kind of offer are you getting on them. We are also on the verge of picking either one of them
Old 18th April 2013, 08:09   #548

which vaariant of the vento / rapid / verna exactly fits on the 10L bracket . i have been using a sx4 petrol for 3.5 yrs and just booked a sx4 diesel zdi . even with all prevalent discounts it still comes to 10.22 ( inclusive of exchange) which is above 10 L and i was under the assumption that its one of the more vfm cars around.
Old 18th April 2013, 09:20   #549

Try to source an Optra Magnum diesel LS variant which has a 2 ltr engine @ 120 ps and 315 nm torque. Should be around 8.6 lacs ex- showroom. That's a cracking motor.
Old 18th April 2013, 11:26   #550

IIRC the Magnums were driven away long long ago unless the company has relaunched them.

Originally Posted by Hondaism View Post
Try to source an Optra Magnum diesel LS variant which has a 2 ltr engine @ 120 ps and 315 nm torque. Should be around 8.6 lacs ex- showroom. That's a cracking motor.
Old 18th April 2013, 11:46   #551

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
IIRC the Magnums were driven away long long ago unless the company has relaunched them.
I got mine last year, although the company stopped production few are still available at some dealers, just need to search properly and be driven !!
Old 18th April 2013, 12:09   #552

Originally Posted by abhijit 2284 View Post
which vaariant of the vento / rapid / verna exactly fits on the 10L bracket . i have been using a sx4 petrol for 3.5 yrs and just booked a sx4 diesel zdi . even with all prevalent discounts it still comes to 10.22 ( inclusive of exchange) which is above 10 L and i was under the assumption that its one of the more vfm cars around.
I have booked the Vento TDI Highline variant which will cost approx. 10.51L on-road for the top end model. Details here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...ml#post3092696 This is superior quality package to the SX4 IMHO.
Old 19th April 2013, 01:13   #553

Care to share the dealer's contact details
Originally Posted by Hondaism View Post
I got mine last year, although the company stopped production few are still available at some dealers, just need to search properly and be driven !!
Old 21st April 2013, 14:49   #554

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
I have booked the Vento TDI Highline variant which will cost approx. 10.51L on-road for the top end model. Details here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...ml#post3092696 This is superior quality package to the SX4 IMHO.
That is a very good deal I must say. The discounts are raining. I bought a skoda rapid tdi 3 months ago for 10.07 on road price. At that time Vento highline TDI was close to 11 lacs.

Last edited by travelex : 21st April 2013 at 14:51.
Old 4th May 2013, 11:48   #555

I was mainly looking for a hatch, but i'm getting very good discounts on the Fiesta Classic (around 9.2L OTR for the Titanium). Should i consider it or is it too dated? I like the vehicle dynamics. At that price point i'll also test the Amaze but i doubt it's handling will match Fiesta's. Any thoughts?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com