View Poll Results: Just to keep track
Yes, thank you kindly, I've got the woofers 6 13.33%
I don't know why I'm voting here, total time pass 36 80.00%
I am interested in getting suitable tweeters (pairs) as well (post 161) at under 3K per pair 3 6.67%
Voters: 45. You may not vote on this poll

Old 28th February 2007, 12:31   #1

For DIYers (Do-it-yourselfers) only

Hello people,

I have a large quantity of Peerless 6.5" woofers (4 ohms). They are beautiful, export grade and brand new. Don't ask me why I have them, I cannot give you this information.

You can create an enclosures for them and make them accurate woofers, or use them as excellent mid basses in your car. You can also create a nice pair of home speakers with them. There are many more things that you can do.

The price? - They are free, but i would like some things from you in return.

1) I would like you to tell me what you intend to do with them, on this thread. Solely based on that they are yours.

2) You post on this thread, with pictures, showing us all what you did, after you get them.

Remember, Navin (The reigning champion of DIY), I and many others will be here to offer advice, in the spirit of DIY.

I hope this thread will turn out to be an intelligent discussion on DIY audio, worth 5 stars .

Disclaimer: My company and I do not represent Peerless or any of it's subsidiaries, in any part of the world. There is no commercial gain from this

Fine print:
1) I am doing this out of the goodness of my heart.
2) Buy me a beer when you meet me next, in your city.
3) Please pick them up, I will not courier them to you. I'm not that nice, lol.

Last edited by navin : 28th February 2007 at 14:31.
Old 28th February 2007, 12:40   #2

can we have the specs of the driver....so we can decide what it can do.....
Old 28th February 2007, 12:41   #3

8 inch woofer.....hmmmm first thing that comes to my mind is make small boxes for them and keep them under the driver and passanger seats or as you suggested use them as midbass...but bieng 8 inch wont they be a little difficult to mount on the doors ?

secondly if you want to make home speakers wont they require a step up considering they are meant to run on 12 V ? also how would you power them at home.

Rev
ps: im not asking for them.

Last edited by revtech : 28th February 2007 at 12:42. Reason: spelling mistake
Old 28th February 2007, 12:42   #4

Reasons why I should get them :

- I am the first one to ask for them. PLEASE PLEASE.
- I need Woofers for my OHC and am out of dough (thanks to my Mom's Ride ) . http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...tml#post381474

What will I do with them ? - Use them as Woofers in my Car - am not an ICEman so dunno what else I can do !! All the ICE guru's probably ALREADY have their Rides/Homes pimped up !!

But it will be DIG (Do-it-Gunbir) and not DIY. Does that qualify ??

p.s.
I'm OK with your Terms & Conditions. You can have yours as well as my share of the Beer. I'll through in some Galouti Kebabs if that helps

Last edited by manveet : 28th February 2007 at 12:50.
Old 28th February 2007, 12:45   #5

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
- I am the first one to ask for them. PLEASE
Ouch !! Got beaten to it ALREADY !!

But SAM bhai, don't give your speakers to ICE people who ask too many questions

EDIT: Seems like LBM and revtech haven't asked for them. So I win. Yippeee !!

Last edited by manveet : 28th February 2007 at 12:48.
Old 28th February 2007, 12:48   #6

Originally Posted by revtech View Post
secondly if you want to make home speakers wont they require a step up considering they are meant to run on 12 V ? also how would you power them at home.
rev, you would power them using your home stereo.

Speakers don't run on 12V, Car HU's and Amplifiers do.

@manveet, how would you pick them up from Mumbai?
Old 28th February 2007, 12:49   #7

i dont think speakers & 12v/6v thing have any sort of connection whatsoever.
Old 28th February 2007, 12:49   #8

Reasons why I should get them :

- I am the first one to ask for them. PLEASE PLEASE.
- I need Woofers for my OHC and am out of dough (thanks to my Mom's Ride )

What will I do with them ? - Use them as Woofers in my Car - am not an ICEman so dunno what else I can do !! All the ICE guru's probably ALREADY have their Rides/Homes pimped up !!

But it will be DIG (Do-it-Gunbir) and not DIY. Does that qualify ??

p.s.
I'm OK with your Terms & Conditions. You can have yours as well as my share of the Beer. I'll through in some Galouti Kebabs if that helps

considering the fact they are 8 inch sub im guessing you would place them in IB in your parcel shelf.

with the correct amount of amplification 6 X 9 Inch speakers (ovals) would produce almost the same amount of bass considering their cone are is almost similar.so dont expect your car to thump like crazy with these... instead its better if you amplify your ovals if you havent already.
Old 28th February 2007, 12:51   #9

Could one use 3 or 4 of them on the rear plank & combine it with a pair of tweeters ? how would that sound ?
Old 28th February 2007, 12:51   #10

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
rev, you would power them using your home stereo.

Speakers don't run on 12V, Car HU's and Amplifiers do.
hmmm i always thought that way.ok so say i want to make boxes for these and connect it to my computer how can u go about that.....?
Old 28th February 2007, 12:52   #11

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
@manveet, how would you pick them up from Mumbai?
That I'll manage - but I can't share the info as its my competitive advantage against other Dilli walla's .. hehe
Old 28th February 2007, 12:56   #12

hmmm i always thought that way.ok so say i want to make boxes for these and connect it to my computer how can u go about that.....?
Using an amplifier. Make an enclosure -Don't forget, you will need tweeters.
Old 28th February 2007, 12:59   #13

That I'll manage - but I can't share the info as its my competitive advantage against other Dilli walla's .. hehe
Just for that funny and clearly honest answer, one pair is yours. Email me with how you will pick them up. They must go in the next 48 hours.
Old 28th February 2007, 13:00   #14

considering the fact they are 8 inch sub im guessing you would place them in IB in your parcel shelf.
Maybe. Or if I have more of them (say like 4) I could make a sexy enclosure and put them in the Boot with some nice ambient neon lighting.

Originally Posted by revtech
with the correct amount of amplification 6 X 9 Inch speakers (ovals) would produce almost the same amount of bass considering their cone are is almost similar.
As of now I only have a Sony444 - the money saved could go into better Amps or something like that.

Anyways I was planning to get a set of Infinity Reference and skip the Amp+Woofer for later, maybe now I won't have to.

Originally Posted by revtech
so dont expect your car to thump like crazy with these... instead its better if you amplify your ovals if you havent already.
Naah. Am more of a SQ guy. Too much of thumping in the car is not for me. I mean it is .. but of another kind
Old 28th February 2007, 13:03   #15

Sam, can I use them in the rear of my car & replace the Velocity 5.25" driver with these while driving them off the same crossover & using the same tweeter?

Since I'm upgrading the ICE somewhat this weekend I wouldn't mind trying this out to increase the bass in my car. But it's a low priority thing, if you have any sets remaining after all guys in need are done then please keep one for me.

Thanks for the offer to all of us though, you really are a nice guy!! Quite unlike from what your appearance suggests

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com