51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th January 2008, 23:38   #121

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Oye Busa - I meant is it a good investment ? For a company with low visibilty and 12 crore loss for the last 6 months - 765 Rs seems a stiff price......thats why I am in 2 minds.
No problems NC. Buy the shares and exit when you make around 20% of the value. Well, this is what I'am doing. I have already applied to both FC and Rel pwr. Never plan for long term with these companies. But how much will be alloted is a big big question.

BTW, you guys have got any idea when will the small & mid caps will bounce back. I'am sick of the current volatility in the market every day. Well, I see my portifolio going down and down every day.
Old 15th January 2008, 23:46   #122

Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
BTW, you guys have got any idea when will the small & mid caps will bounce back.
not before the reliance power frenzy dies down
Old 16th January 2008, 03:07   #123

I saw 2 categories. Retail investor and non institutional investor. Can I apply in both categories and increase my chances of alotment?
Old 16th January 2008, 06:25   #124

In the retail category, one can invest up to 1 Lakh, and in the non institutional investor category, all high net worth folks apply. But the point is that your allotment is done on the basis of you PAN number. So in case, if you make multiple applications, your chances of having them all rejected is better than having brighter chances of better allotment.

I saw 2 categories. Retail investor and non institutional investor. Can I apply in both categories and increase my chances of alotment?
Old 16th January 2008, 10:52   #125

Originally Posted by given2fly View Post
In the retail category, one can invest up to 1 Lakh, and in the non institutional investor category, all high net worth folks apply. But the point is that your allotment is done on the basis of you PAN number. So in case, if you make multiple applications, your chances of having them all rejected is better than having brighter chances of better allotment.
works like magic..was about to ask the same question. so I guess will be a retail invester with purchasing power upto 1lakhs. If only I had the money to invest in the RelPower IPO
Old 16th January 2008, 15:21   #126

What a ride today !!
Old 16th January 2008, 16:17   #127

I bought stocks today, when the sensex was reeling at 700 points down.
wish I had bought more.
Darn Kotak Mahindra website slowed down.
Since yesterday its acting up.
All this Reliance IPO plus choppy markets are slowing down their systems.
I will shift my demat account to somebody else if these buffoons do not upgrade their servers soon.

BTW how is reliance money?
I want the following features
1. Post market order placing(your order is placed at market or your chosen price when market opens, for both NSE BSE
2. Some kind of Live portfolio tracker, which keeps track of profit loss. Kotak's is 2 days out of sync
3. Mutual fund trading
4. Very fast access, and clean clear ledger. Kotak is a bid dodgy
Old 16th January 2008, 21:40   #128

BTW how is reliance money?
Pretty Darn Slow. They have been offering a few schemes of late and have got so many subscribers, that it takes lots of time. They need to upgrade their server faaaaaaaaaaaaast!

not before the reliance power frenzy dies down
Reliance Power is getting too much man

@Tsk - Which stocks did you buy? Market is going to be down for quite some time to come.
Old 16th January 2008, 21:51   #129

Which sharebroker is better:

1) Sharekhan / Icici direct / HDFCSecurities / Kotak Mahindra / 5paise.com etc.

Today, the HDFC securiteis was too slow and what a ride the market is been having.

BTW, I have couple of thousand shares of Bellary Steel & Alloys which I had bought it at Rs.8/share. Now the current rate is Rs.10.09/share. I have been entering the market daily with the order type as limit i.e, when the market reaches to the particular value (for which I had quoted), then it will be executed. But it is not happening so. I tried to place the market order i.e., can sell the shares at that particular market price prevailing at that point of time but i'am getting a pop up that market value is ot available.

As soon as the markets open at 10.00 am, the lower circuit would be reached and the trading for this stock will be suspended for that day. This has been happening from past 1 week. Daily i'am seeing my profits dwindle down. Can any of you guys suggest me an idea how to sell these shares?

Worst come, i'am prepared to hold this for long time.
Old 16th January 2008, 22:01   #130

My friends using ICICI direct tell me that its damn slow today.
So I guess Kotak is not the only one which gets slow when the market goes crazy.

@BUSA I picked up some Small caps like Sujana metals. Apollo tires etc.,
Nothing much.
When the market goes crashing, I pick up stocks of companies which crash, but as such company book report(fundamentals are wrong).
If Kotak site had not acted up, I was going to pick up a couple of biggies.
People want cash for reliance IPO and are therefore selling like crazy.
This is a great opportunity to pick up stocks.
I hope the market does not bounce back tomorrow.
I want to pick up some more too!
Old 16th January 2008, 22:07   #131

Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
As soon as the markets open at 10.00 am, the lower circuit would be reached and the trading for this stock will be suspended for that day. This has been happening from past 1 week. Daily i'am seeing my profits dwindle down. Can any of you guys suggest me an idea how to sell these shares?

Worst come, i'am prepared to hold this for long time.
Pal - ask me about penny stocks !! Had a few great ones which were giving me some really awesome returns till the Rel Power thingy happened. now I am suck too.
This is a great opportunity to pick up stocks.
I hope the market does not bounce back tomorrow.
I want to pick up some more too!
would love a 150-200 point fall tomorrow
Old 16th January 2008, 22:14   #132

There will be still more correction in coming days, I think Sensex would come down by another 800 points in 1 week time and then starts gaining momentum and will bounce back. I think thats the time Reliance Power will debut in market by Feb 1st week.

But this time bouncing back will take time to make new high!

We don't have good global support with slowing economy everywhere!

So we can't see much growth in 2008. However it all depends on how best we manage bad economy and falling US$.

Ravi.

Last edited by ravibhat : 16th January 2008 at 22:15.
Old 16th January 2008, 22:35   #133

Originally Posted by normally_fuelefficient View Post
Pal - ask me about penny stocks !! Had a few great ones which were giving me some really awesome returns till the Rel Power thingy
NC - Which small caps did you buy?

@ Tsk - Which large caps you plan to buy tomorrow. Large Caps have not crashed much, but expect them to, sooner or later.

Lets get our own IPO - Team-bhp IPO and then market will crash further

Sharekhan / Icici direct / HDFCSecurities / Kotak Mahindra / 5paise.com etc.
HDFC/ICICI brokerage is higher comapred to sharekhan and 5paisa. 5paisa is not that good, they sell your shares without informing you about anything. However if brokerage is not a issue, then ICICI is very good, fast butttttttt doesnot deal in Z group shares.
Old 16th January 2008, 22:54   #134

What are the small and midcaps which I can target t'mrow (Buying)?

Last edited by snaronikar : 16th January 2008 at 23:00.
Old 17th January 2008, 01:23   #135

I have one question, how does one report market earnings to the IT department? Is it the number of shares/MF units sold in that particular year, and the related earnings? any tools available to track the same?

are the brokers responsible for sending a statment/deducting taxes in any case?