Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th February 2022, 02:00   #1906
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Help smoking Team-BHP members quit smoking

Giving up smoking is easy! I've done it lots of times!

(This joke needs to be on every page of this thread: I do my best )

Just as I repeat that trying or attempting to give up smoking is useless and doomed to failure. The only giving up that works is giving up, not trying to give up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivek95 View Post
I agree with you. As a Doctor, I would say that gradual withdrawal from any addiction is "recommended"...
Yes Doc. My actual (rather than joke) giving up was aided by nicotine patches, reducing dose over three months.

Different methods (including cold-turkey) suit different folk, but the reason that patches worked for me is the constant dose. There is no hit from the patches (there is from the gum) and there is no bad withdrawal symptom either, just a very slight twinge each time the dosage is reduced. The patches keep you nicotine level high enough to avoid craving, but not high enough to enjoy.

It works so well that, after about ten weeks, I just started forgetting to stick the things on!
Old 10th March 2022, 15:52   #1907
Distinguished - BHPian