Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2010, 10:21   #346
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajo View Post
I am in touch with HDFC, and they say I need to fax them the "cancellation slip" for this transaction taken from the merchant to them.
Any idea what that is ? Has anybody else every done that ? I am a noob to this (my first cancellation/reversal ever..) , hence the doubts.. :-).
When we swipe the card physically at a shop, the merchant can void the charge by swiping the card again and cancelling the transaction. For this one more slip (void slip) will be generated and the bank may request us to fax the slip to them for immediate reversal.

For an online transaction this slip is not applicable. If the transaction is with a reputable site the refund happens automatically within a few days. For instance when I book rail tickets with IRCTC sometimes the debit will go through but no ticket will come. This amount will be automatically be credited back with the next few days.
Old 15th February 2010, 14:15   #347
Senior - BHPian

Standard Charatered banks cheating techniq

I have been using "Standard chartered bank's" cr car for couple of years now, few months back i had noticed i was charged some amount on "Platinum Repayment CBANGALORE IN IN" when inquired that it emi account which i had asked them to convert one of my purchases.

I was looking into all my statements as am planning to close this card for good, thats when i found i have been charged on this account even now and on inquiring found out it was something to do with a "insurance"

the bank never had asked me about it and now am quiet sure they wont reverse these charges! been trying to talk to them and as usual am getting dum answers from them.

I plan not to make any payment to them till this is resolved but am sure they will blindly keep putting interest on the outstanding amount.

How to resolve this issue?