Old 17th October 2007, 12:58   #121

Originally Posted by ScarySkulls View Post
Was using a friend's Swift last week. 17" rims with 205 section tyres.
No change in driving style or A/C usage.
Mileage -> 10kmpl.

And my puny 796cc with 155section tyres--> 12kmpl. WOW.
Yaar tu bahut frustrated lag raha hai...it is better you sell your punny...this is not the average u expect from an Alto...

Abhi
Old 17th October 2007, 17:43   #122

Guys so should anyone planning to buy a brand new alto keep it on hold?i dont think i would want a 800 cc hatch by which i am compromising on power read as fun and still get 12 and 13kmph which is pathetic for the car and engine of its size.
Old 17th October 2007, 18:00   #123

Was using a friend's Swift last week. 17" rims with 205 section tyres.
No change in driving style or A/C usage.
Mileage -> 10kmpl.

And my puny 796cc with 155section tyres--> 12kmpl. WOW.
Arey don't sell the car or anything. Do one thing as winters are almost here run 1 or 2 full tanks without AC and check the FE. Maybe the problem is AC being fuel guzzler.
Old 17th October 2007, 19:15   #124

Guys, I checked the mileage of my car with the Technovate mileage tester. We tested with one litre and I got a mileage 14.5kms/litre with full AC in moderate to heavy traffic.

This device is pretty accurate. So the problem lies with the petrol bunks that I fill from. I need to try the shell bunk. This is how the device looks like. Its basically a fuel pump. The cars fuel pump is disconnected and manually connected to this device. Filled with required fuel and driven to get the mileage figures.
Old 17th October 2007, 19:25   #125

nice pic man. Brings back memories.
I got 18kmpl in highway with A/C with this thing attached to my engine.

And yes, The swift was filled from same fuel bunk that I fill from.

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Arey don't sell the car or anything. Do one thing as winters are almost here run 1 or 2 full tanks without AC and check the FE. Maybe the problem is AC being fuel guzzler.
Yes. My current tank has seen only 40% A/C. I think it's gonna give close to 12.5kmpl now.

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
Yaar tu bahut frustrated lag raha hai...it is better you sell your punny...this is not the average u expect from an Alto...

Abhi
i wish I could undo my stupid decision of head over heart and buying the Alto instead of the Swift.

Last edited by ScarySkulls : 17th October 2007 at 19:27.
Old 19th October 2007, 13:21   #126

I got 18kmpl in highway with A/C with this thing attached to my engine.
And yes, The swift was filled from same fuel bunk that I fill from.
That means highway FE is alright ? Does this really really shows the accurate FE ? And have you tested it within City with AC on ?

You might want to check this:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post600068
Old 19th October 2007, 13:59   #127

Originally Posted by mail4ajo View Post
Guys, I checked the mileage of my car with the Technovate mileage tester. We tested with one litre and I got a mileage 14.5kms/litre with full AC in moderate to heavy traffic.

This device is pretty accurate. So the problem lies with the petrol bunks that I fill from. I need to try the shell bunk. This is how the device looks like. Its basically a fuel pump. The cars fuel pump is disconnected and manually connected to this device. Filled with required fuel and driven to get the mileage figures.
This is basically the same way milege is tested in a carburated car.This looks and acts a little sophesticated and that is just the pipe and a bottle.
Dont u guys think 14.5 even with A/C on and in moderate to heavy traffic is less as with this device connected the main aim would be get a greater mileage figure and thus lead to a light foot automatically?
Had done the half liter fuel measuring thingy in my 800 long time back and with moderate traffic and the mileage got was 11.5 for half a liter of petrol which adds upto 23 km/liter.Never in the history of my car have i ever got a mileage more than 20 even on the highways and this was 23 because it was driven that way and mind you my car is a carburated 800 and was 8 years old when this test was done.
So for a 5 speed mpfi alto to give 14.5 and that too under test conditions is i guess pretty bad.
Old 19th October 2007, 23:47   #128

That means highway FE is alright ? Does this really really shows the accurate FE ? And have you tested it within City with AC on ?

You might want to check this:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post600068

I change gears same way as you have written. i.e. light foot driving.

Never get stuck in traffic.
Current average with 40% A/C is 12.5kmpl. Extra smooth cruising.
Old 20th October 2007, 00:36   #129

Just for reference. Not even half tank and 325 km AC on for about 40 - 50 %
Old 20th October 2007, 00:56   #130

Thanks for the salt in wounds.

Currently my car is going for 100-110kms in every Rs500 worth of fuel. This is WITHOUT any revving and super smooth driving. No wait. Cruising.

Last edited by ScarySkulls : 20th October 2007 at 00:58.
Old 20th October 2007, 01:14   #131

off topic?

Currently my car is going for 100-110kms in every Rs500 worth of fuel. This is WITHOUT any revving and super smooth driving. No wait. Cruising.
then i am the luckiest one . even though my 11/86 m800<suzuki-type1>with210000+ kms mobil 1 oil car in mintest condition, gives 12-17 on the same roads ,same trips
my 103 bhp/14.7 nm torque 1080 kg 1596cc twin cam 16 valve palio gtx 2001 82+k kms car gives me 14 good roads 10 km drive to-17 kmpl on good roads 100+km drive with 2-5people on board at 80-120 kmph mixed a/c

may be the torque wins the milage marathon!!

Last edited by TURBOSAM : 20th October 2007 at 01:17.
Old 20th October 2007, 07:59   #132

Just for reference. Not even half tank and 325 km AC on for about 40 - 50 %
I too get the same...about 16-17kmpl (with 40%AC) and bumper bangalore traffic...sometimes 18 too when there is no use of AC...

I feel sorry for ScarySkulls, he is the odd man out...You can see my FE report in my LTO, never ever I got those figures which ScarySkulls get so far...

Abhi

Last edited by akroy : 20th October 2007 at 08:01.
Old 20th October 2007, 13:44   #133

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
I feel sorry for ScarySkulls, he is the odd man out...You can see my FE report in my LTO, never ever I got those figures which ScarySkulls get so far...
I'm odd too. Used to drive with a light foot and the mileage was poor. Then started with heavy foot and the mileage dint change. SO now i get 13kmpl with AC on always.
Old 20th October 2007, 14:14   #134

hi bro

i to fill mostly 500 worth of petrol

and my alto goes around 160-170 kms in that petrol

i think we should exchange for our cars
Old 20th October 2007, 14:51   #135

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
hi bro

i to fill mostly 500 worth of petrol

and my alto goes around 160-170 kms in that petrol

i think we should exchange for our cars
my alto returns in 500rs normal petrol around 160-170kms without ac in delhi's peak hour traffic.stop n go situation.

petrol in rs in delhi : 43.52

Rs 500 = 11.48 Lt.