Old 15th December 2010, 20:53   #31

Re: VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!

The interior plastics are pretty good for 7lac car. No niggling issues. 3-Cylinder is not as refined as a 4-cylinder car. But performance is good.

I will check all plastics properly and visit the VW A.S.S this weekend or the next. Hoping for the best.
Old 15th December 2010, 20:54   #32

Here is how it is on my Figo. The color Changed from black to this whitish texture within 2 months.
Let me know what they say.
Any other Figo owner having this problem ?
VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!-img_4304.jpg  

VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!-img_4305.jpg  

VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!-img_4306.jpg  

VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!-img_4307.jpg  

Last edited by Captain Slow : 15th December 2010 at 20:55.
Old 15th December 2010, 20:55   #33

Originally Posted by GreenDay View Post
The right wiper cannot be pulled off the glass because there is simply no space to pull it out!!!
I noticed similar Wipers setup in my Laura, the wipers cannot be pulled out for cleaning. I was surprised to see this setup, then i read the manual, the wiper stalk has to be pushed up after removing the key......and Wipers move up, they can be accessed for replacement or cleaning. This kind of setup keeps wipers below the Bonnet(maybe to reduce drag & wind noise). I am sure VW Polo might have some similar setup.

These European cars are so different, so i have read the owner's manual atleast thrice to cover everything. You will be surprised to know how many hidden features i found.

Similar to the Polo pics you have posted, most of the plastics in Punto are TERRIBLE. Like the one shown below, this after the car came back from service. This one dried up within first week of purchase.
VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!-dsc02576.jpg

Last edited by .anshuman : 15th December 2010 at 21:15.
Old 15th December 2010, 21:02   #34

Ok a question. Does the service position need to be invoked

1. To Clean the windsheild

or

2. To Open the bonnet to check the fluids etc

or

3,. All of the above

Please help
Old 15th December 2010, 21:06   #35

Polo, Figo and now Punto.. Whats happening to car manufacturers or is the water on Earth contaminated cos of carbon??

All these days People were complaining of Fiat plastics. Now Fiat has improved and I see Ford and Vw next in the line. I guess after receiving owners' feedback, Ford and VW too will improve.
Old 15th December 2010, 21:08   #36

Originally Posted by sreedotk View Post

or

or

3,. All of the above

Please help
Answer 1. Why do you think the wipers have to go to the service position in order to open the hood?
Old 15th December 2010, 21:11   #37

^^ I have already informed Captain in the Figo thread, neither me nor the Figo owners that I know/see in Pune face such problem.
Old 15th December 2010, 21:20   #38

My Dad was on a lookout for a Premium Hatchback. He loved the Punto but I was not happy with "not-so-good" quality of plastics. I suggested him to keep his decision pending.
There is nothing GERMAN about this car. Just in India made German type car with all plastics of below par quality.

Now its time to visit the VW Service station. Wish me good luck.
Sorry to see the plastic condition in your car. Especially pics 6 & 7 are horrible for a few months old car.

Don't worry, I am sure these things will be taken care and replaced under warranty.

I stayed in Bangalore and I have seen my friend's car which used to get weekly wash and even after 1.5yrs of regular wash never seen the plastic color/quality deteriorating this much. This must be defective plastics rather than Bangalore water (unless Bangalore water quality changed drastically in the last few years!).

Just a suggestion - once these things gets sorted out you can use any good quality Plastic/Vinyl polish etc which really helps keep dashboard/plastics as good as day 1. I use Waxpol Vinyl and Leather polish once every 3weeks and results are excellent.

Originally Posted by sreedotk View Post

or

or

3,. All of the above

Please help
All of the above, even though I never faced any issue opening the bonnet.

Last edited by AvonA7 : 15th December 2010 at 21:22. Reason: spelling
Old 15th December 2010, 21:23   #39

The person who cleans my car with CAUVERY water neither uses Surf Excel/Aeriel/NIRMA/VIM.

He uses this 3M ORIGINAL product, every two days when the car is washed.

Is 3M so powerful to tear the rubber and convert plastics from black to white?
VW Polo - Bad plastics and rubber quality - German just by name??!-spm_a0500.jpg  

Old 15th December 2010, 21:33   #40

anilisanil
Yes I did post about his months back. Do you think ford will let me claim warranty on this?
I think GreenDay lives somewhere close to where I live? So could it be the water?

The person who cleans my car with CAUVERY water neither uses Surf Excel/Aeriel/NIRMA/VIM.

He uses this 3M ORIGINAL product, every two days when the car is washed.

Is 3M so powerful to tear the rubber and convert plastics from black to white?
Naa no way thats the problem. My car is never cleaned with such products.
The same here the car cleaning guy has never used Surf Excel/Aeriel/NIRMA/VIM.

Its only cleaned with regular water. Im not sure if it is cleaned with CAUVERY water or Borewell water. I will have to check from which tap is he getting the water from.

Last edited by Captain Slow : 15th December 2010 at 21:35.
Old 15th December 2010, 21:36   #41

Polo, Figo and now Punto.. Whats happening to car manufacturers or is the water on Earth contaminated cos of carbon??

All these days People were complaining of Fiat plastics. Now Fiat has improved and I see Ford and Vw next in the line. I guess after receiving owners' feedback, Ford and VW too will improve.

I think order should be Punto, Figo & now polo....

It's bad to see the post's blaming the water of Bengalooru
Old 15th December 2010, 21:40   #42

Folks - Rather than complaining about quality of the car built, we would need to look in to other aspects as well. (say water quality, car exposure to direct sunlight in parking, etc). Your father's Alto would have not got the same issue may be due to quality of water at those days and also due type of rubber (say mat finish, rough finish, soft rubber, etc)

VW is pretty serious about their investment in India and I am pretty sure quality issues will not crop up at least in this stage. I guess they had a good learning from Skoda and would not repeat the same again.

And regarding the wiper setup, I guess it was already pointed out by man other owners and it is not something new. May be your cleaner would have tried to life the wiper which would have eventually damaged your bonnet.

Seeing many other car which are manufactured by different companies have similar issues, we cannot say this is something peculiar to VW.

Let's not blame them unnecessarily please.
Old 15th December 2010, 21:44   #43

Originally Posted by Captain Slow View Post
anilisanil
Yes I did post about his months back. Do you think ford will let me claim warranty on this?
Captain there is no harm in trying, actually they should if they are unable to restore the panels to the original color.

When I used to be in Bangalore (HSR layout) I found similar issues with my bike where the plastic panels used to go white. Even in Pune at a particular service center which uses the borewell water the bike used to get whitish deposit. Recently when my car was taken to carnation, it developed that whitish deposit.

If it is a one time activity it is easier get rid of that, but if the deposits are over a period of time then nothing could be done. Again this is my perspective and I could be wrong.

And that rubber beads of greenday's look as if they were bitten off by termites, that is really sad state of affairs, hope A.S.S does something about it.

BTW captain, did you talk to ford on the deposit issue?

And regarding blaming the water, what is there to blame here? In fact in the Rudra sir's post about how to maintain the paint of your vehicle, it was clearly mentioned about the ill effects of Bangalore's water on your vehicle. I dont see anything unfortunate here, especially when users from other cities are not facing such problems

Last edited by anilisanil : 15th December 2010 at 21:48.
Old 15th December 2010, 21:48   #44

Originally Posted by camchennai View Post
Folks - Rather than complaining about quality of the car built, we would need to look in to other aspects as well. (say water quality, car exposure to direct sunlight in parking, etc). Your father's Alto would have not got the same issue may be due to quality of water at those days and also due type of rubber (say mat finish, rough finish, soft rubber, etc)
Dude.. I know how all my cars were maintained all these years. hence this thread. We live in the same place since three decades and drink and use water from the same source.

VW is pretty serious about their investment in India and I am pretty sure quality issues will not crop up at least in this stage. I guess they had a good learning from Skoda and would not repeat the same again.
Nobody does business for timepass. All are Serious. I'm not saying VW to shut shop and exit India. Its just a way to communicate to them about the quality issues and the thread is for me to get some suggestions of what I can do.
I don't know what they learnt from Skoda, but they have different type of issues compared to Skoda like the waiting period issue.

Seeing many other car which are manufactured by different companies have similar issues, we cannot say this is something peculiar to VW.
Who said its only with VW? Others and me are also referring to such problems with Figo and Punto too. Go through the thread properly please.

Because of Threads like these, companies like Fiat improved their plastic quality. Now its so much better. Even Skoda learnt a lot from team-Bhp. Hats off to TB Team.

Let's not blame them unnecessarily please.
Don't post unnecessarily please.

Last edited by GreenDay : 15th December 2010 at 21:53.
Old 15th December 2010, 22:11   #45

As far as I believe, it is nothing but poor quality plastics. I drive an almost 7 year old car which even today costs only about half of a Polo but still has the plastics in better shape. And this is despite having the car washed every day with any sort of water that we would get. The car has been washed with waters of Gurgaon, Chandigarh & Delhi.

I think you should escalate the issue to Volkswagen in case that hasn't been done yet & make sure you send them these pictures along with.

And I can assure you that even Surf or Nirma cannot do that to a few months old car.

Also, a car is meant to be parked outside the house, be it rain, sun or any other type of weather. And if not parked, it would anyways face these conditions while it is on the road. So, I don't think it's justified to say that a car being parked in direct sunlight or something like that damaged the finish on the plastics. It does have a deteriorating effect but it takes a hell lot of time.

Drive safe.

Last edited by blackfire_9 : 15th December 2010 at 22:15.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com