Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 17th October 2010, 00:56   #1
BHPian

Another 1.6 Polo

So here it is another 1.6 Polo. Here is a brief history about my buying decision

I am an automobile designer and i had been following up the development of the new polo while i was studying in UK. Lets just say that when i saw the final car i was quite impressed.When i heard that VW was going to launch this in India, i had made up my mind that my next car had to be this one!

Now design at best is subjective and appeals differently to different people. For me the polo was the most successful translation of the VW design philosophy across its portfolio of cars. Theres an increasing trend whereby more and more automakers are applying similar design themes across its range of cars and generally one of their vehicles end up getting THAT PERFECT DESIGN (case in point being the Fiesta Hatch for Ford, The corsa hatch for Opel and ofcourse the POLO).

VW showcased the car at the Delhi autoexpo and that was the first time I saw it in flesh. I had decided that this was going to be it and somehow my dad liked the overall appearance of the car as well! Plus the prospect of launching a 1.6 variant was too good to resist.
Polo was launched in April(I think) and i somehow resisted to go for 1.2 but i finally gave in and around July 15th, i booked the 1.2 at VW gurgaon. I did take a TD of i20, frankly that was the only other option. Ofcourse , i20 is loaded and is definatley VFM, but i didn't want any of those. I choose POLO for its no-nonsense design and the obvious German solid build. Plus the 1.6 engine was not offered in any of the hatches.
As far as the features that concerned me, it was a question of getting the right ICE in the polo and i would be good to go.