Old 3rd October 2009, 18:33   #241

Thanks Gowda. Should have expected a thread on this on the forum.
Old 3rd October 2009, 18:36   #242

So what's the total distance travelled at the end of the day folks?
Old 3rd October 2009, 18:44   #243

have you taken your MBPro sam? Are we getting to see pictures today? Or will you'll be busy with revelry at night?!
Old 3rd October 2009, 18:50   #244

Originally Posted by MARCUS_520i View Post
So what's the total distance travelled at the end of the day folks?
Upto udaipur today's score will be about 820kms. We could have done a 1000 easy if we had pushed with no breaks in between.

Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
have you taken your MBPro sam? Are we getting to see pictures today? Or will you'll be busy with revelry at night?!
Hey Frankie,

We're updating this thread using my blackberry.
We don't actually intend to enter Udaipur city and stay in a touristy hotel, rather sticking to a highway motel.

Now I dunno if I can find one with internet..

We have loads of videos, more than photos.

Last edited by Stratos : 4th October 2009 at 07:58. Reason: Back to back posts
Old 3rd October 2009, 18:57   #245

GOOD. I like!!!!! Photos can come later. Staying in a highway motel reminds me of the days when I was young and carefree and could do what I wanted without any responsibilities.

Wait a minute, these ARE those days! What am I doing in this hole?!
frankmehta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2009, 19:17   #246

Thats wonderful Sam, Frankly i didnt expect nano to drive on GQ and munch miles like what you are experiencing now.
Pls post the post whenever you can (may be from Delhi).

Abhi
Old 3rd October 2009, 19:41   #247

Sam and gautam - how has been the ride quality in the nano. Comfortable enough to sustain 12 + hr drive? Or are your behinds sore?
Old 3rd October 2009, 19:45   #248

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Arrey yeh kya likha hai?
Vintage cars likha hai. Laughing.
Chalein?
Chal.

And so. 1 and a half hour later, a very stunned Sam and NC walk out of Pranlal Bhogilal's estate.
Hehe, very stunned I'm sure you would be. Its just about only amongst the world's best collection of cars owned by one person. Hope you took lotsa photos
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:05   #249

Greetings from Udaipur.

Exactly at 7.30 - 2 hours ahead of sched - we were here. We crossed a few motels and didn't feel like staying there.
Hell, we didn't even stop.

Driving into Udaipur city centre, about 3 kms away we spot a stunning facade. It's called Paras Mahal.

Classy, yet traditional rajasthani. Truly a beautiful and nice hotel. Seems like NC and I are the only two desis staying here.and that's saying a lot for a hotel with 5 floors.

We will be comfy here. Looks like they have a nice restaurant and we're going there soon. No internet in the room, so sorry no photos.

Tomorrow we leave at 6 going towards Rajsamand.

To answer your questions: the nano is bumpy but extremely comfortable. We're a bit sleepy but not physically trained.
We kept feeding our faces and drinking lots of liquids all day. That, combined with some nice music and great conversation kept us fresh.

We could actually go much more tonight, but would rather not do any night driving.

Good night all and thanks you for your suppirt.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 3rd October 2009 at 20:10.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:13   #250

Greetings from Udaipur.

Exactly at 7.30 - 2 hours ahead of sched - we were here. We crossed a few motels and didn't feel like staying there.
Hell, we didn't even stop.

Driving into Udaipur city centre, about 3 kms away we spot a stunning facade. It's called Paras Mahal.

Classy, yet traditional rajasthani. Truly a beautiful and nice hotel. Seems like NC and I are the only two desis staying here.
Congrats on a successful first leg of the journey. All the best for tomorrow.

Wish Ratan Tata gets to read this thread. It must be a real achievement for him to see the Nano covering so much distance in nearly 38 to 40 degrees temperatures with full A/c on. I personally am not able to digest how the heat control is so well managed in such an economical vehicle !!
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:15   #251

Wonderful.
How was the reception by the people on the road when you were driving? Overtook any other vehicles with the Nano?
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:15   #252

This is great. How much more to go ?
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:16   #253

And so. 1 and a half hour later, a very stunned Sam and NC walk out of Pranlal Bhogilal's estate.
awsome sam, I love these let's go moments, let me repeat what i said in amip's thread

What's life if you can't do a little of what you like to do when you want to do it

first thing in morning when i woke up was to check the updates here, nice going.
Old 3rd October 2009, 20:55   #254

Thats Excellent progress sam & NC,as a precaution it would be good if you could check oil & coolant levels 1st thing in morning before you start your car for next journey. all the best...
Old 3rd October 2009, 21:55   #255

Reliance's boredband had banned me from the net for couple of days. When I get on to the web, I see this 9 page long thread. By the time I finish page 2, I was kicked out for another loongish 24 hours. Now, it is 17 pages long. And this is the first day of the journey, right? ;-)

To answer your questions: the nano is bumpy but extremely comfortable. We're a bit sleepy but not physically trained.
You said that N_C attributed bumpiness to high tyre pressure?

How are the headlights on the highway?

I feeling silly to ask this, but the fuel is/....? (I mean petrol or diesel?)

And i think you should post pics of the Pranlal Bhogilal collection in a separate thread, in the VIntage & classics section. Else that is going to be a Mundu like distraction.