Old 2nd June 2010, 16:25   #286

Great pics, Ashish Bhai. The photo of the farmhouse is breathtaking!

Last edited by Chevy_lover : 2nd June 2010 at 16:28.
Old 2nd June 2010, 16:27   #287

Originally Posted by issigonis View Post
>>> Ashish,
doesn't the road to Pirangut go to Lavasa? Is this the same road/route?
The road to Lavasa is terrific!
the road to lavasa forks from pirangut.

at the pirangut chowk,
left go to lavasa, straight goes to poud/mulshi/tamhini.

the lavasa route is good and scenic.
Old 2nd June 2010, 17:06   #288
MX6

This is what my plan for June looks like
June 5th or 6th Tapri meet with drive (so far only 4 members have shown interest). But I'll still have my tea and drive.
June 12th and 13th - Pune - Nasik - Omkareshwar - Pune.
June 19th and 20th - Lonavala and Khandala
June 26th and 27th - Pune - Pirangut - Diveagar - Harihareshwar - Varandha - Pune
July - chase up with the thane members for a ride to Malsejh
Sept - Kaas - thosegar - bamnoli and meet up with Raja babus.

All I need is rains.
Old 2nd June 2010, 17:15   #289

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
the road to lavasa forks from pirangut.

at the pirangut chowk,
left go to lavasa, straight goes to poud/mulshi/tamhini.

the lavasa route is good and scenic.
>>> Thank you Ashish. Will do this- your pics are the strongest recommendation that one can get

Old 3rd June 2010, 12:52   #290

@vrprabhu,@Ahsih: Can i be a part of this proposed trek to ratangad?...I have been little out of touch of this thread..but I would surely like to join...
Old 3rd June 2010, 13:01   #291

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
This is what my plan for June looks like
June 5th or 6th Tapri meet with drive (so far only 4 members have shown interest). But I'll still have my tea and drive.

June 12th and 13th - Pune - Nasik - Omkareshwar - Pune.
June 19th and 20th - Lonavala and Khandala
June 26th and 27th - Pune - Pirangut - Diveagar - Harihareshwar - Varandha - Pune
July - chase up with the thane members for a ride to Malsejh
Sept - Kaas - thosegar - bamnoli and meet up with Raja babus.

All I need is rains.

@MX6: I would like to be a part of this meet....Where you guys are deciding to meet??...PM me if required...this would be my first meet with any of the team BHPians since i joined in last year...
Old 3rd June 2010, 13:10   #292

Originally Posted by issigonis View Post
Thank you Ashish. Will do this- your pics are the strongest recommendation that one can get
One day I am not here, and see what happens....

AP saheb, lovely pictures indeed - and those who have been following this thread can wonder about the contrast in the scenery - thanks to Mother Nature. Yes - Rain + Ghat = Wonderful Combination. But summer weaves its own magic too!

MX6 has already made his intentions clear - other please follow! Miss this season - you'll repent. Make it - you'll have memories for life....

To continue, where I left - we are pretty close to Pali now - this is where the Ghat begins when you travel towards Pune -
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-assaul.jpg
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-assault.jpg
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-assault1.jpg

The state of the roads have been described by me as well as by Ashish Pallod, so no need to drag it further. But, beware or be aware, it holds many surprises for the driver..

Don't be misled by the board - haven't seen a single police vehicle on the road on all our trips. Pray that you don't have a flat in this section and proceed with caution!

Last edited by vrprabhu : 3rd June 2010 at 13:11.
Old 3rd June 2010, 13:18   #293

Soon, you'll be surrounded by the Sahyadris, offering vista like these - think it is almost similar to the spot where AP stopped for his pictures...
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-surr.jpg
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-guess.jpg
The valley is bare and dry now.

The road will get broken into patches like these very often.
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-patch.jpg
Old 3rd June 2010, 13:24   #294

Three Musketeers....

We stop for a break - to gather some ingredients for a specialty food item discussed earlier!

Any guesses what it was?

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-3.jpg

This was one of the several landslides which take place during the monsoon. Luckily this appears to be more of 'mud' slide than falling boulders... some risk may have to be faced while driving during monsoon, in case of such calamity.
Old 3rd June 2010, 13:33   #295

Peaks...

Since the road keeps climbing - thankfully it not very steep - you are now confident that you'll crest it without much strain... this road actually doesn't strain the vehicle and can be done with moderate speeds...

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-peak.jpg

Climbing gradually unfolds the various highs of this range....

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-peak2.jpg

Does anyone remember seeing this? It was all 'hara bara'... missed posting it earlier!

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-peak1.jpg
Old 3rd June 2010, 14:04   #296

Whew....

Keep a steady pace, ignore the heat (or the rain or whatever the season you are traveling), and enjoy the drive, it is over sooner than you realise.. and you will want to do it again (like it happens to me!)

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_02651.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-did.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-there.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-base.jpg
Old 3rd June 2010, 14:13   #297

Down Hill...

Once the peak has been crested, it is all the way down and the new drama unfolds...
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-746.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_0234.jpg

I have now taken the liberty of readers for granted, because I am going to intersperse a few shots of our earlier trip (which was the other way round i.e. Tamhini was done first), so as to bring out the beauty of the landscape.

Remember what I said about the paints and brushes? It is just a couple of posts ahead...
Old 3rd June 2010, 14:20   #298

A couple of shots of the backwaters of the Mulshi Dam. This is summer and the waters have receded. During monsoon, it is filled to the brim
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_0242.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_02371.jpg

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_0238.jpg

I love the second and third pictures very much.

These are natural shots - no touch up or processing using any kind of software - just compression to upload them here. Even if I had the patience to learn use of such tools, I wouldn't have used them on the third one. Feel like taking a hoarding size print and pasting it on the bedroom wall
Old 3rd June 2010, 14:31   #299

Band of Brothers!

This is called a "Family Tree"....

Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_02411.jpg

But I would like call them a "Band of Brothers"!!

These don't appear to be Banyan Trees, so it is a wonder how four of them grew in two pairs!There are some more exotic trees on the way.....
Old 3rd June 2010, 14:34   #300

Exotic Flowers...

Can any one throw light on this tree / flowers - I am seeing them for the first time....
Magnificent Maharashtra - The Mahalog!-100_02621.jpg

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com