Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 13th November 2006, 22:23   #31

Originally Posted by Old Man
binz/kpzen: Thanks for the suggestion, thought about the swift rims, heard they are pretty soft & narrow for the baleno upsize tyre.

Sure will go to JC road, but which rims do i ask for an upsize tyre may be 185/14 ??
Steel rims being soft

both swift n baleno have 5j rims only difference being one is 13" n other 14"..

Its always better to go for rims of same manufacturer.....bcos sometimes due to some design variation of brake system also rims may not fit properly n cause problems...

Hari_rama : pls dont post your baleno pic in every thread....TBHP Garage is there for posting pics...

Last edited by kpzen : 13th November 2006 at 22:25.
Old 14th November 2006, 11:19   #32

Kpzen: Thanks for the suggestion, I prefer to have steel rims as i frequently drive on bad roads and feel alloys may not be able to take the beating for a longer duration,(correct me if iam wrong) and its inexpensive to replace the steel rims each time the tyre is changed, Iam presently using esteem rims on my zen and it lasts me around 1& a half to two year per set. Can you suggest some other rim rather than the swift rims for the upsize tyre please??
Old 14th November 2006, 12:33   #33

Kpzen: Thanks for the suggestion, I prefer to have steel rims as i frequently drive on bad roads and feel alloys may not be able to take the beating for a longer duration,(correct me if iam wrong) and its inexpensive to replace the steel rims each time the tyre is changed, Iam presently using esteem rims on my zen and it lasts me around 1& a half to two year per set. Can you suggest some other rim rather than the swift rims for the upsize tyre please??

Can u pls tell me why are u against Swift rims??

Other 14" rims possible according to PCD size...
1. NHC
2.Verna

According to me MAruti rims are quite good in comparison to Hyundai n Tata..
Old 14th November 2006, 14:58   #34

Kpzen: Surely nothing against the swift rims, just that iam having problems with the esteem rims on my zen at present, i keep getting the bend removed at least once in 6 months and replace the rims after 2 years or earlier.

I guess i will take your suggestion & go for the swift rims, Iam planning on the bridgestone potenza, can you suggest the profile size please.., 185/ ?/ 14.

Old 14th November 2006, 23:11   #35

Kpzen: Surely nothing against the swift rims, just that iam having problems with the esteem rims on my zen at present, i keep getting the bend removed at least once in 6 months and replace the rims after 2 years or earlier.

I guess i will take your suggestion & go for the swift rims, Iam planning on the bridgestone potenza, can you suggest the profile size please.., 185/ ?/ 14.

Hey..!!!
I also have esteem rims on my zen but has never faced a rim bending problem....May be u are driving on really bad roads.....Whats the tyre size of your zen???

Now if u are facing such problem of rim bending on bad roads why are u upsizing and reducing your sidewall width in your Baleno???
U can have broader tyres 185mm ones on stock rims itself more sidewall lesser the chance rim getting bend....I'm having 185/70-13 Potenza GIII on my stock rims....

Think about it i dont intend confuse u....

For 14 " the size should be 185/65-14 Potenza GIII
Old 14th November 2006, 23:33   #36

My suggestion... try to con some salesman at one of the Maruti Dealerships.... lots of Swift buyers change to alloys and all the Maruti offers to them is Rs 50 or so per rim...
If he has your phone number... he can arrange a deal with the next swift buyer that is changing over to alloys(Swift come with 14" Steel rims)

Another option is to get phone number of swift Zxi owners...maruti recently replaced thousands of Swift Zxi sparewheels Rims....that were narrow (165/80R14 as opposed to 185/70R14 and steel based) to the same size and design as the rest of the car...in many of the cases..the customer did not have to give his spare wheel back too... you can call a few and get a good deal!!

Last edited by Buffetfan : 14th November 2006 at 23:35.
Old 15th November 2006, 16:42   #37

Kpzen: Thanks for all the suggestions, Iam presently running 165/60R13 G111 potenza on my zen, i guess i will take your advice and pick up 185/65-14 G111 potenza for the baleno.

Also will pick up the swift rims for the same, alternatively can you suggest some equally strong better looking rims than the swift's as i dont plan to have any wheel caps.

Thanks in advance Kpzen.
Old 24th November 2006, 17:57   #38

Hi Old Man... Can you please update on the upgrade. I am in a similiar situation and would like to know from you. I am seriously contemplating Tubeless (185/65/R14) on Steel Rims.
Old 24th November 2006, 22:54   #39

Guys...!!!!
Putting upsized tubeless tyres on steel rims of some other car isn;t a good idea....!!!

If someone has done that pls do share their views.....but i strongly dont recommend that idea....

KP
Old 24th November 2006, 23:09   #40

I have a serious budget constraint. Following are the options I am considering (upgrade of Baleno Lxi)

1. Tubeless (185/65) on Steel Rims - R14 (all 5).

Rims - Swift LXi (I am assuming the PCD, alignment etc will match).

2. Alloys on only 4 wheels - R14 (stepney will continue to be stock version).

What Tubeless should I go for ?

Dealer is willing to pay Rs.1200/ for each set of stock tyres / Rims (165/80/R13) or Rs.6000/ if surrender all 5 sets.

My total budget after adjustment is Rs.20,000 only.

Please advice what is feasible in this budget.

Nitrous has offered to help and I am on that tomorrow.
Old 25th November 2006, 03:36   #41

My suggestion... just go in for an upgrade from 165/80R13 to 185/70R13... you should be able to do that in around Rs 6k...no Rim change required....Will offer most of the virtues if not all...and the ride will be a bit better than 185/65R14!!

you can use Goodyears since you will find them good value if on a budget.. I have Goodyear Eagle in both my cars (185/65R14 NCT 5 on teh Baleno and 165/65R13 GA Plus on the Santro). Donne 23K in my Baleno and happy till now
Old 25th November 2006, 11:17   #42

Originally Posted by Subbu View Post
I have a serious budget constraint. Following are the options I am considering (upgrade of Baleno Lxi)

1. Tubeless (185/65) on Steel Rims - R14 (all 5).

Rims - Swift LXi (I am assuming the PCD, alignment etc will match).

2. Alloys on only 4 wheels - R14 (stepney will continue to be stock version).

What Tubeless should I go for ?

Dealer is willing to pay Rs.1200/ for each set of stock tyres / Rims (165/80/R13) or Rs.6000/ if surrender all 5 sets.

My total budget after adjustment is Rs.20,000 only.

Please advice what is feasible in this budget.

Nitrous has offered to help and I am on that tomorrow.
Arre bhai...!!!! Dont fall for this...!!

U should get a minimum of Rs 2400 per tyre for your stock tyre B'stone S248 in exchange..... when i exchanged my baleno's tyre i got Rs 2450 per tyre which had done 300kms...

If u get goodyear tyres in exchange u might get some money back as they are cheaper than the B'stones

Hope Nitrous will get u a better deal....!!!

Good luck

Keep us updated

KP
Old 25th November 2006, 15:36   #43

Visited Tyre Store in Greams Road with Nitrous. He took the trouble to get reference and also came with me. Many thanks to him.

We discussed 3 deals.

Aura

Alloys (4 nos)
Old 25th November 2006, 15:47   #44

Visited Tyre Store in Greams Road with Nitrous. He took the trouble to get reference and also came with me. Many thanks to him.

We discussed 3 deals.

Aura (with Guarantee)

14" Alloys (4 nos) 16,800.
Good Year NCT (185/65) 11,200.
Taxes and Fitment 1,000
Less: Discount 1,400
Less: Price for Stock Tyres and Rims 6,600 (4 sets)
Net Price 21,000

Imported Alloys (No Guarantee)

14" Alloys (4 nos) 12,500.
Taxes and Fitment 1,000
Net Price 18,100

Steel Rims (Swift - 100 PCD)

14" Rims (4 nos) 2,800 (estimate).
Taxes and Fitment 1,000
Net Price 8,400

The decision is now between Aura and Swift Rims. The highest I have got for stock tyres and rims (together) is Rs.1650 per set.

The dealer was quite nice in approach and was not kind dumping things on you. He is comfortable with running Tubeless on Steel Rims. He is quite sure Swift Rims will fit Baleno. Additionally, he is offering Nitrogen filling for the tubes.
Old 25th November 2006, 18:07   #45

How much has your stock tyres done???

I still dont get it...I exchanged my stock tyres without rims which had done 300+ kms for 2400 per piece...Did u ask the price of a new stock tyre ??? It was Rs 2550 when i got them exchanged..