News

Mahindra XUV 700 vs Scorpio-N: Which SUV to replace my 2019 Honda City?

I'm on the look out for a good, safe and a reliable SUV.

BHPian managhatke77 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I consider myself a minimalist, and I'm pretty frugal about spending on material things. I have no problem spending money on unique experiences like travel, adventure, etc.

I already have a single owner, Grand i10, 2014 model, which has ran just 30,000 Kms and is in terrific condition.

I recently sold my Honda City 2019 because I was just not comfortable with the low riding sedan.

I'm an avid traveller, and have driven across the Himalayas multiple times.

I'm on the look out for a good, safe and a reliable SUV. The car will mostly ferry my wife and I for our road trips, and will ocassionally take my parents to coorg or mangalore regions. (They have another hatchback for their daily use in the city).

The dilemma:

I have the budget for a new Scorpio N AT or XUV 700 AT the top end, but my mind is simply refusing to spend 28 L+ on a depreciating asset which will only be used minially for long trips. (My work is fully remote). I foresee a big economic recession in 2023 and want to ensure that i have enough cash on hand to spot any good investing opportunities.

I am not interested in compact SUVs.

What do you recommend?

Do I Yolo it and go for a Scorpio N or look for a Fortuner AT, Pajero AT or Hexa XTA in the pre-owned market?

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

Think of a better car also as an "experience". Every time you drive it, it will deliver a superior experience than a cheap car. It will also be safer, more comfortable & more pleasurable to drive.

You are frugal, but you are also wasting money. Selling a car within 3 years of ownership means you lost a lot of money in depreciation.

Two recommendations:

1. Buy a great car and keep it for 10 - 15 years. Believe it or not, this will work out cheaper.

This will also be cheaper than buying a 15 lakh car today, then changing it again in 5 - 7 years. I suggest going for that Scorpio-N or XUV700 you have your eyes set on.

2. Get a used crossover / SUV. Avoid the last-gen Scorpio as it was too bumpy. Hexa will be a hit or miss in terms of reliability. Either XUV500, or the popular crossovers (Creta, Seltos, Duster).

But really, just go get that Scorpio-N or XUV700. Keep it for 15 years and the frugal part of you can be happy with all the savings from long-term car ownership.

Here's what BHPian Axe77 had to say on the matter:

I’m largely with the advise which GTO has outlined above.

An alternate thought too, keeping with your minimalist preference.

If the need for the Scorpio is:

(a) exclusively for long road trips;

(b) these road trips are strictly very occasional; and

(c) your existing hatchback covers all your other day to day needs,

You could consider not buying any vehicle at all and renting a suitable vehicle for these occasional road trips. Of course you have to work out what the math is for renting for these trips (vs long term ownership and the up front capital spent) depending on the frequency with which they might be required.

For touring in the Himalayas for instance, lots of rental SUV options are available ex Chandigarh which also save you the time spent driving from Bangalore all the way to the North (in case that is relevant - some may enjoy that aspect of the trip as well).

Here's what BHPian Kosfactor had to say on the matter:

Unlike a small hatchback , cars costing ~ 30 L comes with significant expenses, recurring expenses to be exact. They need to be maintained with a spare no expense mentality if you are to keep them for long, so if the initial spend in itself is a painful thought - well, you have to change the way you think about this. Use money as a tool to bring you and your family some happiness, I'm sure it's worth it.

Looking at your ownership history, you have not made use of your existing vehicle even though it is perfectly capable of running from Kashmir to Kanyakumari non stop - imagine how much fun memories of road trips that little car could have brought to you and your family all these years

ScorpioN and XUV7OO are now going at 30 and 31.5 L respectively around here, if you ask me they are worth it - if you make good use of them.

Here's what BHPian lamborghini had to say on the matter:

Don't need to get a 7 seater SUV for that - and the XUV / Scorpio-N may not be the most reliable options in that budget either though they will be safe, feature loaded, etc. but if you don't need the tougher ladder on frame chassis of the Scorpio-N; AWD; the additional seats, etc. you could probably get an equally comfortable, safe, and fun to drive 5 seater SUV for cheaper. Something like the Kushaq / Taigun 1.0TSi.

That being said, don't go to the other extreme: as others have commented, a better car results in a better experience : better mood, fewer body pains and aches, safer body structure, etc.

Here's what BHPian Durangodude had to say on the matter:

You've already taken a huge hit by selling the 2019 City: which is probably the highest riding of all sedans with perfect H point and seating comfort, but to each his own. With the remote working and recession looming large, I suggest you hold your horses and don't spend any further on an SUV. Since the 2014 i10 has just done 30000 kms your running isn't too much. If by 'frugal' and 'minimal' you mean Maruti: suggest you wait for the 5 door Jimny.

Here's what BHPian drkalgaonkar had to say on the matter:

Frugal is the word you chose to describe yourself. You foresee a possible recession in the near future.

You are not comfortable with a sedan like Honda City.

Hmmmm.

Are you comfortable with preowned vehicles? If yes (and remember you are frugal!), my advise is to go for a well maintained Duster 110 PS, don't splurge money on Endeavour, Fortuners or Hexas, they do require deep pockets.

If not then (remember frugal!) as suggested by someone else, go for Bolero Neo. It is a good, decent vehicle with no useless gizmos.

Or, just hire a car like Innova for trips and be content with your i10. (I am using my Desire petrol from 2014 and in similar situation, daughter's 12th, possible slowdown. Though I want to own an SUV, I am not spending 20+ lac for an occasionally used car).

Lastly, if possible, lease a car and have a feel and then decide. Anyway it takes months to get these cars delivered.

Read BHPian comments for more insights and information.

A helmet will save your life