News

Super saloon dilemma: BMW M5 vs Mercedes E63S AMG

I really like the looks of M5 but have been driving the 530D for the last three and a half years.

BHPian raz0r recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I have booked a BMW M5 Competition and also like the AMG E63s. I am not able to decide which one to buy. Here is where I am stuck:

1. E63S is on air suspensions and very good ride quality while ride quality of M5 comp is not that great

2. M5 comp looks more sexy than the AMG

I really like the looks of M5 but have been driving the 530D for the last 3 and a half years.

Should I try the AMG this time or stick with what I really like that is the M5 comp.

Help appreciated.

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

I found the (non-competition) M5's suspension to be comfier than the E63S. In fact, one of the main reasons why I'd pick the M5 over the E63S is the comfortable suspension. Of course, I don't know the spec of our TD cars and what you are buying, but in our media E63S, even in 'comfort' mode, I found the E63S to be firmer than the M5.

Other than that, both are spectacular machines. Having 600 horsepower with a long open road in front of you is one of life's greatest experiences. I'm getting goosebumps just thinking of that drive.

Congrats in advance . Hope you share an ownership report with us .

For that kind of money, please do consider the Porsche 911 range, as well as the mind-blowing Taycan. One drive in the Taycan will change your perspectives. For 2 crores & some change, there is a 458 or two on sale; surprisingly reliable & one of the most iconic Ferraris ever made (the last of the NA V8s). This car would change your life man - do think about it. You'll be giggling in your sleep.

Here's what BHPian Turbanator had to say on the matter:

M5 is a very nice car and I won’t rule that out because of suspension. If you have test driven one, maybe you need to do it again but if never driven, I can safely say, it should be reasonably good. I won’t go by youtube views or hearsay from people who have never owned one. Check if you can get a real-world experience from someone in Bangalore. Here in North, I had no issues whatsoever with the road clearance or the suspension ever.

I don’t like this concept of Air suspension on a sports car . I haven’t driven the E-63 so cannot comment. But if I have to compare say, an X5 with Air suspension vs X6 without Air suspension, I found the latter better with active dampers.

M5 too gets adjustable dampers and I will mostly keep in comfort mode, switching to sports only when the road surface allowed.

Do factor that you will need to order optional 10 lac or so extra to get full leather (else you will get a lot of plastics on door trim/ dash) and most basic options are chargeable on M5. Also, the mileage in the city can be under 5 even with lightfoot. The standard warranty is 2 Years on BMW and deliveries can be 6-8 months.

Comparably, E gets better leather (recheck current builts), has a lot of standard options and gets 3 Year warranty. Local mileage will be better due to cylinder de-activation (trust me it hurts to get 4 km at Rs 160 ) MB may have also have stocks at Pune or in transit.

So, essentially, it will be a tough call to pick the outright winner. If I have to do it again, as I mentioned previously, paying full monies to BMW is difficult and this reflects in resales too.

But, if you have to keep only one car for everyday duties knowing fully that you are running a wolf in a sheep's clothing, I might be inclined towards E63 given how much it scores extra over an M5 in practicality/ daily use with very little compromise (if at all) on the sporty use.

Here's what BHPian iliketurtles had to say on the matter:

If I were to be spending that kind of money, it would have to be on something my heart desires, even lusts for. Sex appeal matters IMO. If the M5 has your heart, why look elsewhere? The E63s might be cushier, but I’m certain the M5’s ride is no dealbreaker.

Sure, some might feel it’s more of the same as the 530d (to an extent from the looks department), but a few cold starts that wake the dead should clear up those misconceptions.

My simple advice; buy whatever makes you happier. You know what you really want, so pull the trigger. And congrats in advance.

Here's what BHPian Sahil had to say on the matter:

I have been in a similar dilemma for a long time, since before the pandemic and over the past year or so I’ve had to put this on a side burner.

I’m a person who lives at the peak point of diminishing returns. Although this is all relative and the point also keeps moving higher with time but my heart and mind are aligned when the value proportion is so skewed that even if my wallet were to permit, I wouldn’t pull the trigger.

At 2cr both these cars are just not worth it. Do also bare in mind that both these cars are nearing the end of their life cycle!
The market is crazy right now due to various reasons such as chip shortage etc. The used car market is even worse as people are selling these very same cars for price equal or more than their purchase price! There is also revenge spending happening which is slowly normalising.

I don’t see this lasting for very long with the current economic scenario and improving chip situation. While car makers might continue to create a shortage to their advantage, my hunch is by next year thing will get better for customers.

But since you have sold your 530d and if you cannot wait, I would agree with Turbanator and get a Porsche. Perhaps a Taycan 4S is worth a test drive. You will not lose money on this much even when the market normalises I feel. Hence you could upgrade to something better later. The Panamera is excellent but only the turbo will get you to grin, which is now insanely priced as new or used.

Read BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars