Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 26th February 2009, 20:33   #136

one of the best JEEp modifications i have seen ever

and i liked the head rests used , where did u get them?
Old 26th February 2009, 23:14   #137

Firoz, This is a full floating axle, it has a double bearing on both ends which makes the rolling of a Jeep more smooth and in case you break an axle all you need to do is open the eight bolts and your axle comes off and can be replaced, where as in the white jeep and yours, you need to open a lot of things and then with a puller pull out the broken axle.

Originally Posted by fk7 View Post
fazal sahab,

can you please tell me what is the part on the rear wheel highlighted in green in the picture? This was not there in the white jeep of yours and nor is it there in my MM550.

Firoz
Old 26th February 2009, 23:17   #138

Ricky,
The fabrication on the roll bars etc. is clearly visible in the interior pics, I posted yesterday, save them to your computer and zoom in for more details. The dashboard is a plane Jane MM540's, nothing done on it.
Thanks for your appreciation.

Originally Posted by Ricky_3007 View Post
Wonderful!!!! Fantastic!!!Brilliant!!

Only I can Say after seen these pics.

Pls post some pics of dash board and fabrication work of roof top and roll bar.

Great Work !!!

Tarkesh
Old 27th February 2009, 02:42   #139

Fazal Bhai

You could add some pics without the top also i think that would help quite a few ppl .
Old 27th February 2009, 14:04   #140

Salman,
Instead, I will post pics of the interiors of the frame and also a close up the bracket on which the scissors frame is fixed to the body.

Originally Posted by ssarmast View Post
Fazal Bhai

You could add some pics without the top also i think that would help quite a few ppl .
Old 27th February 2009, 16:13   #141
fk7

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Firoz, This is a full floating axle, it has a double bearing on both ends which makes the rolling of a Jeep more smooth and in case you break an axle all you need to do is open the eight bolts and your axle comes off and can be replaced, where as in the white jeep and yours, you need to open a lot of things and then with a puller pull out the broken axle.
thanks for that info fazal saab,

i am learning quite a lot from this forum and its members. now i have a further question. please treat me a newbie and pardon my ignorance.

can you please tell me the process of converting a semi-floating axle to a full-floating one.

what are the things i need to buy and what is the process involved.

once again thanks for all the help.

regards

Firoz
Old 28th February 2009, 09:54   #142

Firoz,
One learns by questioning and seeking, dont be bothered by that, I too ask many members on the forum. It is a never ending process.
When I bought this Jeep it came with a fully floating axle, I could feel the difference as my previous Jeep was not, while driving I could feel the smooth rolling, especially in neutral. and then I went on questioning like you and learnt about the other advantages.
As far as I know 4wd did not come with this set up , this Jeep was 2wd which I had to convert to 4wd. Now I did not want to lose the advantages rear of a floating axle. Instead of changing the complete rear differential which needs to be done to align with the right aligned front differential and 4wd transfer case, I attached the 4wd transfer case to the existing 4 foward gearbox just to retain the rear differential and the floating axle configuration.
If your Jeep does not have a full floating, you will need to change the whole set up of rear differential and the front too irrespective of a 2wd or 4wd, pick it up from the after market, it should cost you around 8-10 thousand.
Originally Posted by fk7 View Post
thanks for that info fazal saab,

i am learning quite a lot from this forum and its members. now i have a further question. please treat me a newbie and pardon my ignorance.

can you please tell me the process of converting a semi-floating axle to a full-floating one.

what are the things i need to buy and what is the process involved.

once again thanks for all the help.

regards

Firoz
Old 2nd March 2009, 08:06   #143

Clarification.

Dear Friends,
Reg. the clanking sound which I assumed could be the helper.
It came to light upon thorough inspection that the rear right, cross member bed welding had come off the chasis, where the front end of the leaf spring fits. Heavyduty electric welding at that point followed by a bumpy ride proved that it was my ignorance and a welding that came off, due to which the bed and the chasis metal were contacting and breaking contact which resulted in the clanking sound which is now completely eliminated.
Regards.

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
Harjeev,
The difference from the original and the custom is massive, the ride quality is 40% improved (no exageration) the body roll minimised, the lower set of leaf spring is to assist the main as a helper when required, this makes a clanking sound (like Scorpio) when in operation, not loud though. Since the original design does not have this conjoined twin you dont get that sound, The sound versus the great ride quality is worth it. A boon for offroaders and guys who move in the jungles, beleive me I have tried it.
Exchange of my previous four with these ones cost me 15 thousand.
Thanks for your appreciation.

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 2nd March 2009 at 08:08.
Old 2nd March 2009, 15:46   #144

Hi FajalBhai,

Just have few questions.
1) These additional lefs are half helper plates like truck have?
2) or these are cut in the middle and customised?
3) How does this two different(full and half) lefs attached near the axle?
4) How does it help in reducing bumpy ride?
5) Does this set up increases the height of the Jeep? - Pls give some info.

Tarkesh
Old 2nd March 2009, 17:00   #145

Great stuff - the choice of the colors is also really good...
Old 20th March 2009, 00:47   #146

The white one has MRF Sandgrip on 16" wheels

Isn't that wheel wheel used by the army jeeps..can you tell me the price for them and how you sourced them? .. and also are they heavier than normal jeep wheels and also the alloy wheels?

I picked this one for 1.6 lakhs for my cousin, it has DI engine (hate it)

why do yousay so.. is it because of the slow pickup. please calrify as I am searching for one with either xd3p or DI...so just needed to know the difference

Fazal[/quote]
Old 20th March 2009, 00:58   #147

Originally Posted by 4x4 loaded View Post
The white one has MRF Sandgrip on 16" wheels

Isn't that wheel wheel used by the army jeeps..can you tell me the price for them and how you sourced them? .. and also are they heavier than normal jeep wheels and also the alloy wheels?

Fazal
[/quote]

Used army rims can be had for RS1200 each in Punjab. Harjeev has mentioned in another thread of RS1500 as a price in Mayapuri.

XD3P engine can be had for RS10,000 upwards depending on condition.

You might as well go for an army disposal MM550 with the XD3P engine.

Last edited by bigman : 20th March 2009 at 00:59.
Old 20th March 2009, 03:44   #148

what could be the basic difference that I might get if I have XD3P or a DI engine is respect to performance. And what about a DI Turbo? how much will it cost extra? can XD3P be fitted with a turbo charger?
Old 20th March 2009, 07:38   #149

Mr. Behram Dhabhar would be the right person to answer your question.
The basic knlowledge I have is, the XD3P apart from being a far superior engine is 2500cc as compared to the lesser cubic capicity of a DI.
XD3P is smoother and more refined with a torque unmatched by the DI,
DI turbo in the after market should cost you between 50-70 thousand.
I have no idea if you can fit a turbo charger.

Originally Posted by 4x4 loaded View Post
what could be the basic difference that I might get if I have XD3P or a DI engine is respect to performance. And what about a DI Turbo? how much will it cost extra? can XD3P be fitted with a turbo charger?
Old 20th March 2009, 11:36   #150

Originally Posted by Ricky_3007 View Post
Hi FajalBhai,

Just have few questions.
1) These additional lefs are half helper plates like truck have?
2) or these are cut in the middle and customised?
3) How does this two different(full and half) lefs attached near the axle?
4) How does it help in reducing bumpy ride?
5) Does this set up increases the height of the Jeep? - Pls give some info.

Tarkesh

Hi Fazal Bhai,

Could you pls give some info?

Tarkesh